We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant & relaxing get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombs House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coombs House Inn to your Saves list
Coombs House Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Apalachicola B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant & relaxing get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Coombs House Inn is a fantastic place to stay in Apalachicola. It's a short walk to downtown. Go for a bicycle ride around the town or enjoy one of their many veranda's. Their breakfast is always fantastic. We've stayed here over 6 times. Truly enjoyable!

Room Tip: check out the different types of rooms on their internet site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    197
    70
    36
    20
See reviews for
70
587
26
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Coombs House Inn was an excellent choice for a quick getaway. Apalachicola is a picturesque town near the Gulf worth the visit. The breakfast at the Inn was always top notch. The town center was easily reached by walking or using the inn's bikes.Make sure to see the album showing the renovation of this 1900's gem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland Center, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Coombs House Inn was a surprise: We are on a 7500 mile tour of the East Coast, South Coast and the West Coast: From Maine to Seattle; The people of Coombs House could not have been more welcoming, Breakfast was great and the rooms were clean. We would stay there again;

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a very nice, relaxing place to be for a weekend "getaway". We really enjoyed the downtown outing, which was walking distance from our room. The only thing my husband would change, would be the TV. He would put a larger TV in the room. He enjoyed watching the football game the weekend we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The house, the owner and staff, the room, and the breakfast were all outstanding. We were showered with information and great advice for our much too brief stay. Wonderful sleepy town and pitch-perfect period B&B will sweep you away. We enjoyed dining at Carolines and Up the Creek Raw Bar, both with gorgeous waterfront dining, and a visit to lovely St. George Island. Nature lovers, this is your place in the middle of an unspoiled part of Florida.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A well-restored historic home, friendly and helpful staff, conveniently located to downtown Apalahchicola, and great breakfasts! an over-all great B&B experience. I was there to attend a plein air painting workshop; the inn was convenient to downtown painting spots and eating establishments. My husband came with me, and while we were out painting during the day, he could sit on the veranda to read, walk to explore downtown, and also walk to the library and other nearby sites. Laina, the innkeeper, was very helpful and accommodating, cooked a fine breakfast, and provided a friendly, homey stay for us. I would go back.

Room Tip: The website is helpful in listing the amenities for each room and also providing photos of the furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Arrived in Apalachicola for the first time and we decided to stay at the Coombs I nn.  The building has been beautifully restored. Very warm and welcoming, with a nice calm and relaxing feel to the place. 

The inn keepers were all friendly, and  very helpful with advice on where to eat, what to do, and just taking time to chat about the area and local history - really appreciated their hospitality.

Our room was nice, and colours were bright and cheerful. Our bed was comfortable, and felt cozy (perhaps just slightly to soft, and dipping in the middle). However, there were a few small things which put me off which I felt needed some attention to justify the cost. For example the bed sheets were pilling, some areas of our room was not that clean (dirt on the skirting, dust on the bed headboard, dust on fireplace mantle, grime on bath tub plug hole), plus the TV was very small, way to small to watch from the bed, and the ceiling paint was pealing.  

I think some of these things (aside from the decoration) can easily be cleaned and updated,  without to much cost or effort. New soft bed sheets can't to be to expensive and TVs are not that expensive anymore (not sure on size but think ours was less than a 22" but you really need a 32"+ min to make a TV worth watching from the distance it was placed from the bed, my PC monitor screen is bigger).

Breakfast was ok, nothing spectacular but I sort of assumed that breakfast was going to be a bit more  memorable, creative and/or unique based on the Coombs Inn overall architectural splendour/appearance and cost we paid for room.  What was offered sort of lacked effort.

I think some of these things can easily be  rectified, and it's these small things such as cosmetics, and or cleaning, attention to detail and amenities which have been overlooked that was a little disappointing. 

As mentioned staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. But maybe a few small updates could really make it more memorable and value for money. On a plus point there were items readily available for us to borrow on our beach excursion such as towels, chairs and umbrellas - They also had bikes available to use. 

The town Apalachicola is lovely and if your planning a stop over or short break then its definitely worth a visit (only wish we could have stayed longer!).  Despite my comments (I love my food and slightly fussy about cleanliness) if you can get a good deal then I would recommend staying at the Coombs Inn (romantic break for couples, or perhaps nice and relaxing for friends).  If your room comes in a bit high for your budget then I would not say the cost would be worth the extra mile.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apalachicola
0.4 mi away
Water Street Hotel & Marina
Water Street Hotel & Marina
#1 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
BEST WESTERN Apalach Inn
#2 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gibson Inn
Gibson Inn
#3 of 5 in Apalachicola
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Port Inn
Port Inn
#2 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 159 reviews
18.3 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#1 of 7 in Port Saint Joe
4.0 of 5 stars 166 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rancho Inn
Rancho Inn
#4 of 5 in Apalachicola
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombs House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombs House Inn

Address: 80 Sixth Street, Apalachicola, FL 32320
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Apalachicola
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Apalachicola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coombs House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury boutique Inn near the beach. The Coombs House Inn is a luxurious Florida Bed and Breakfast consisting of three elegant Historic Victorian Mansions located between Pensacola and Tampa on the unspoiled Gulf Coast known as "Florida's Forgotten Coast." For 20 years our visitors have returned to our relaxing, romantic accommodations for a quiet alternative to typical Florida hotels. Less than 2 hours from Panama City Beach and Tallahassee, the historic, picturesque seaside village of Apalachicola is adjacent to the pristine white beaches of St. George Island, and near Cape San Blas, Mexico Beach and WindMark Beach in Port St. Joe. Walk or bike to nearby boutique shops, museums, art galleries, and waterfront cafe's serving fresh local seafood and famous Apalachicola oysters served 28 different ways. Tour our 4-star guest suites furnished with European antiques, original oil paintings and oriental carpets on gleaming hardwood floors. All 23 rooms have private baths (7 with romantic whirlpool massage spas), complementary hi-speed internet, in-room Starbucks coffee and flat screen cable TVs. Several 2 to 3 room suites are available, some with kitchenettes and private verandas, perfect for family vacations, bridal wedding parties, girl's getaways and pets. From complementary gourmet breakfasts to afternoon teas and evening wine tastings, view our complete list of amenities and learn more about our unique area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Coombs House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombs House Hotel Apalachicola

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombs House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.