We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick tour but informative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of John Gorrie State Museum

John Gorrie State Museum
Apalachicola, FL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 18 things to do in Apalachicola
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A one room museum.
Cairo, Georgia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quick tour but informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The John Gorrie museum is only one room but contains plenty of imformative exhibits. The ranger was very helpful in answering our questions and made the tour worth the $2 admission. Dr. Gorrie's grave, monument, and church he helped to found are just steps away from the museum and are worth checking out.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    7
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small but Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Charming area with an amazing history. Nice Park staff to help answer questions. Very small but worth the $5 and 30 browse.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice little state park museum to learn some history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When visiting Apalachicola, we have stopped by the John Gorrie State museum and found it to be a nice little place. If you enjoy history, you'll like it. It's cool (no pun intended) to know that a guy from my state of Florida invented air conditioning. I LOVE my A/C and every summer here in FL, I walk into my cool house and say "Thank God for John Gorrie". It's a nice little place to stop by if you're in Apalach, considering there's not a ton of things to do in town.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Small little museum, but it's always fun to learn something new. Who knew there was a place dedicated to the man who invented air conditioning and the ice machine? It's nice, but only takes about 5 minutes to go through the whole place. John Gorrie's grave and a monument are also right across the street.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific learning experience for youngsters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Airconditioning and ice machines owe everything to John Gorrie - and here's a museum dedicated to a man who literally changed history in Florida, as well as in the medical communities. A good bit to see and do - and though museum is small, it's informative.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Gorrie State Museum also viewed

Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
Apalachicola, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to John Gorrie State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage John Gorrie State Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.