We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunrise Garden Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunrise Garden Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Garden Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Anna Maria
Welcome, Maryland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“LOVED, LOVED, LOVED it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sunrise Garden in November, 2012. We LOVED it here so much! We only had one night and hated to leave. We are already planning our next trip and have shared this place with friends and family. It is PERFECT in every way. We spent 2 weeks in Florida traveling the coast and on a short cruise, this was our favorite place. Anna Maria is quiet and perfectly safe to walk the streets in the evening, several great restaurants. Spence is so helpful with any questions you may have, and great to chat with. The resort is like home away from home. Our bed was so comfortable, has a nice living area with a tv, and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. When we were sitting in our patio area we felt like we were in the Garden of Eden. Beautiful landscaping and private, so relaxing. The pool area is just so beautiful, you will want to spend your whole day there lying on a chaise. WISH we could have stayed longer. This place is a GEM!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    46
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
94
127
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

From the time I first called and talked to Spence about my husband and I staying a week at his resort, I knew we were going to have a great place to stay. He is a great and caring guy. Not only is Anna Maria Island amazing, but Sunrise Garden Resort is so quiet and peaceful. The pool was heated and was very clean with beautiful plants and palm trees surrounding it. The room was great with a nice kitchen, bath, living room and bedroom. Loved that we could cook as little or as much as we wanted on our trip. The location was fantastic and is within short walking distances to The City Pier, shops, places to eat, the beach and to several of the trolley stops if you want to go a little further exploring. Loved the free trolley and the $1.25 trolley to Longboat Key, to downtown Sarasota and to Siesta Beach.

It was unfortunate that I came down with strep throat while we were there and had to go to the urgent care. We were going to have to take 2 different trolley rides or ride our rented bikes to get to the urgent care and Spence suggested us taking his truck instead. That showed us that he trusted us and that he also wanted the best for us. Next year we will bring our children with us and show them what a great place Anna Maria Island and Sunrise Garden Resort is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronninglund, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place is really good for R&R. Spence, the owner, is a nice guy, so welcoming and eager to make sure you have the best stay possible.

The units are well equipped and decor is fine (exept for the couch that litteraly hurts your eyes, but that soon becomes part of the charm!). Our unit had a brand new matress wich was very comfortable.
The garden is cozy with little pathways, lots of plants and a bbq area, and the heated pool is really nice.

Be aware that this is the quiet end of the island, NOT much happening here! This is exacly why we came, though, so that suited us just fine. Off season the whole island is very quiet anyway.

The drawback for us was a very unstable wifi, and we usually use the internet a lot. Also, the pump for the pool makes a constant noise. You get used to it, but as the pool guy turned it off for a few minutes we realized how quiet it would've been without it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Spence went out of his way to squeeze us into an arrangement (thanks Spence!) since we had turned up without a reservation - and we were not disappointed. The apartments are well-equipped and the place is kept clean and tidy. Rooms are quiet, everything works just fine and there is a nice reclusive quality to the site - the pool area in particular is a gem, offering a chance to watch the stars at night while relaxing in warm water - not to be missed. Location is easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, bars and piers - this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very cute, private rooms, each secluded within it's own alcove of greenery. Lovely. The ocean and bay are within walking distance. The rooms are spacious and delightful. Spence is a very nice manager and he was eager to accommodate our needs. We didn't have a chance to try the heated pool, but it looked very inviting, with beautiful landscaping surrounding it. I don't think you are going to do better for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

I came across this place last year when I had to find a place to rest after a wedding. Even though I only stayed the night, I was so impressed with how incredibly accommodating Spence was, I knew I would be back. I came back this October & was greeted like an old friend. There had been remodeling and new landscaping since my last stay, which made the place even more charming. It does not feel like a hotel. More like staying in a good friend's guest house. I've stayed in 3 completely different rooms and enjoyed them all. I had such a nice time in October that I came back a month later and stayed the week of Thanksgiving. The owner is very friendly and really is true to his word when it comes to "if you need something just ask". You have your privacy, a beautiful sunrise/sunset...pretty much anything you'd need is in walking distance. The quality and price can't be beat. Truly my favorite place that I have ever stayed anywhere. My only complaint is that I had to leave. I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

I would like give more stars for this place. The owners are very professionals, very friendly, the place is very organized and clean. The location is wonderful and the price is very fair. Just one thing made I and my husband had insomnia and back pain in the morning: THE MATTRESS. Ohhh very poor quality. I always said you do not need a fancy hotel, but if it has a good mattress and can provide for you a good night of sleep you feel like in home. I can't wait to go home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jsromine, Owner at Sunrise Garden Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
It is always great to hear that a guest appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the customer service we offer at the Sunrise Garden. We will always go out of our way to make sure a guest is pleased with their stay with us. And because of this, it is painful to hear that this guest did not have a comfortable stay with us and, for that, I am truly sorry. I only wish that this particular guest had mentioned this issue with me after the two or three times I asked her how her stay was going as this would have given me the opportunity to make it right.
When my wife and I took over the Sunrise Garden in 2011, we were faced with the task of trying to figure out the quality of each mattress. Some we changed out immediately while some we kept due to them being in good shape. Since that time, we have listened to our guests as they are always the best way to gauge if any changes need to be made. Thru this review, we have heard this guest and the mattress has been changed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunrise Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Garden Resort

Address: 512 Spring St, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Anna Maria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Garden Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sunrise Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Garden Hotel Anna Maria
Sunrise Garden Resort Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunrise Garden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.