We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Let the Outside of This Restaurant Fool You” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Pier Restaurant

City Pier Restaurant
100 S Bay Blvd, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
941-779-1667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner
Fairfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Outside of This Restaurant Fool You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It's a long walk on the pier from the street to the restaurant but definitely worth it. The dining room is not enormous but always filled and offers great views of the Sunshine Skyway Bridge to the east.. The menu offers fresh catch and most dishes can be grilled, fried or blackened depending upon your taste. There is a little bar outside so you can relax after dinner and check out the dolphins swimming by after dinner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    231
    109
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun to watch everyone fishing off the pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and the service is excellent. It's a great place to just eat and watch everyone fish. We saw some dolphins while watching people fish after lunch. Fun place to try has that local feel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful view but bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My family and I ate there. Food was just OK. Service was not good at all. The waiter seemed like he did not want to be working or dealing with anybody. We all have bad days but geeze! The view and the dolphin playing in the water at the pier made up for it! The pier is really cool and it is very pretty there! I will go back but hope if the waiter is still there that he is in a better mood! Also be prepared to show your ID if you want a beer and are under 50! I had to go back to car for mine before he would serve me one!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worst food on the island”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was so excited to eat here after watching the dolphins play in the water just off the pier. It was about 7 pm on a Sunday and I wasn't in the mood for a big fancy dinner. I ordered the fish and chips and it was the worst I have ever had. Beach cafe is far superior. Tge fish was flat, skinny, overcooked naking it tough and it had no flavor. I would have complained but a family member was treating and I didn't want to be rude. Restaurant was not busy (I can now see why) but the food still took forever. I have been visiting the island for years - this was my first visit to the pier restaurant and I will not be returning. I guess people get suckered in by the view the way we did. Diner beware... The food was terrible!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I really liked this restaurant the last time we visited the area, so we decided to go again, this time with my sister and her husband.

We sat outside in a nice, clear evening. Unfortunately, there was a guitar playing "singer" performing which greatly diminished our enjoyment in sitting outdoors.

Although we were seated immediately, it took at least 10-15 minutes to get our drinks: a couple of beers and sodas. Many minutes passed again to have our order taken. I specifically asked our waitress which fish was freshly caught and she said the grouper and mahi. However, when I received my mahi sandwich it was most definitely NOT fresh -- so disappointing, especially since I asked before ordering. My husband and brother-in-law had the grouper and enjoyed it. The crabcakes and coconut shrimp were very good too.

So a mixed review -- we will give it another try next trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Pier Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to City Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Pier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.