We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View and Food - awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Pier Restaurant

City Pier Restaurant
100 S Bay Blvd, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
941-779-1667
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Ocoee, Florida
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“View and Food - awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is not my first time eating at the Pier and as usual it didn't disappoint. The food is always good and the views are even better. Love watching the fisherman bring up their catches, dolphins and pelicans in the water while I have a sweet ice tea. I had the blackened fish taco's this time and they are some of the best on the west coast!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    231
    108
    31
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Swaying gently at the end of the pier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Sat inside and it felt a bit like being on a boat! Window seat gave great view of the water and the fishermen.One of them snagged a bird and we had a front row on the "rescue and recovery".A nice spot to relax away from the sun.Seafood satisfying.Salads looked good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaretville
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A novel spot and the food's not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After enjoying a lovely drive north from Lido key to Longboat and then to Anna Maria Island we capped off the afternoon with walk down the very long, rail-less city pier to dine at the City Pier Restaurant. Locals fishing and casting bait nets, European tourists snapping pictures and a small group of pilot whales in the clear water entertained us. The restaurant at the end was very casual, a bit gritty and more of a bar really but the food was surprisingly decent and not too expensive. We enjoyed fried fresh grouper, slaw and cold beers as the afternoon sun disappeared into the gulf as a slight tremble could be felt as the waters' current pushed against the pilings. In the far distance was Tampa and the beautiful skyline bridge but on Anna Maria we felt a thousand miles away and blissfully in the watery arms of "old" Florida.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I enjoyed the on the water experience but the food was the middle of the road. Our waitress was brilliant and managed to keep one of my smart [--] friends in line with humour .. well done. Wasn't impressed with the crab cakes .. sorry, and you really need to use fresh potatoes for your fries, not the frozen crap that arrived on my plate.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Maria, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Living History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Love that Anna Maria City Pier is over 100 years old and still preserved. It is so great to peer over the edge to watch the fish, shells and sea birds thriving. The salty breeze is the best thing for the soul.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Pier Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to City Pier Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Pier Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.