We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prices were great and so was the food....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rod & Reel Pier

Rod & Reel Pier
875 N Shore Dr, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
(941) 778-1885
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 22 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Prices were great and so was the food....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We ate here several times during our week at the beach. Recommend getting one of the specials or a sandwich. We ordered a combo dinner and the portion was very small. The next time we ordered the daily special with Mahi, one blackened and one fried...both were large portions, cooked perfectly and tasted great. Breakfast prices were reasonable with large portions. A different setting, but we enjoyed the location and activity on the pier....

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    301
    127
    46
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely fish & chips, service was slow though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Really good fish & chips. Waitress was slow to take the orders, did not check if everything was ok during the meal and did not ask if we needed more drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited for the first time - for Sunday breakfast - it was recommended by our lodging host. Scenic water views but that is where it ends. No sign of management that could be used to train and monitor staff attentiveness which was poor. Staff doesn't work together causing guests to be underserved. Breakfast meal less than what you'd fix for yourself at home. Go elsewhere for a good breakfast meal and service.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stopped for lunch and were glad we did. The food was lovely but the view was better. We had a window table and saw a dolphin swimming by.
Fried fish was fresh and plentiful an service was fast and friendly. It's more of a lunch time type of restaurant, in that it's not as polished as some other restaurants, but this fits the setting perfectly, I.e. an old wooden restaurant at the end of an old wooden pier.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Old Florida at its best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed celebrating a birthday here recently. The food, atmosphere, and view was truly outstanding. It's a true Florida experience. Cons - The parking area was limited. There were more potholes than spaces. The bathrooms were probably the nastiest I've seen in recent memory. My advice - hold your breath and make it quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod & Reel Pier also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Rod & Reel Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod & Reel Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.