We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views/great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rod & Reel Pier

Rod & Reel Pier
875 N Shore Dr, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
(941) 778-1885
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Chgo Suburb
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great views/great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Very simple surroundings - just a pier. But the grouper is first rate,portions large,and beer ice cold. Don't know what more you could ask for.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    358
    146
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waukegan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Old Florida gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have vacationed on Longboat Key, Fl for years and were looking for a new place to eat!
A friend at our timeshare suggested try the Rod and Reel! What a gem of a find and the food was delicious! You walk out to the pier to the pub/restaurant, which is small but gives you a great feeling of experiencing the restful surroundings. You can eat inside, which seats around 50 or outside. People are fishing from pier and you have good views out the window overlooking the bay, people fishing below, and dolphins swimming in the distance and pelicans and sea gulls on the pier. Our party of 3 had grouper sandwiches, very huge, and generous shrimp dinner. Service was fast. Prices were very reasonable. If you want to experience old Florida, this is your place! It is very casual! We will definitely be back when we are vacationing
in the area. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great breakfasts on the Pier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing breakfast here. The food is good and inexpensive and the service is excellent. Very laid back atmosphere. Will be returning later this week.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great view, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We always visit this restaurant for great seafood! Very busy so expect to wait on the pier for a table. Their fresh fish with mango salsa was great! Lots of big pieces of mango. Fish and chips were surprisingly good. We visited there three times on this weeks trip.We come here whenever we go to Anna Maria Island.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

You will not get Fish & Chips as tasty as they are here there is always local fish on the menu as well and there breakfast is fabulous. You can rent a fishing rod and join in with the locals while drinking a nice cold beer heaven ........

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod & Reel Pier also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Rod & Reel Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod & Reel Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.