We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should see some fish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rod & Reel Pier

Rod & Reel Pier
875 N Shore Dr, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
(941) 778-1885
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Norman, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Should see some fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

2nd time to the island and we missed it the first time due to a power outage (ended up at the City Pier Restaurant down the road). We were told to eat downstairs with the locals. Had fun watching everyone fish and saw dolphins come in close. I had a grouper sandwich and my husband had a burger. Also had an appetizer of stuffed jalapenos. They were very good, Husband's burger was good and my grouper sandwich was good but maybe not as good as I was expecting. I probably would have been happier trying one of the specials. I would still recommend this place for the casual atmosphere and local flavor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    359
    147
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best seafood on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was our family favorite and went twice during our vacation. The fish was so fresh. I had the fish and chips. I usually do not get fried foods but this was fabulous and not greasy at all. The wait staff is great. Very casual. Our first waiter reminded us of Tommy Chong which my daughter found quite funny. We enjoyed watching the fishing below and had a great sunset.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Loved it. Staff were friendly, food was good (considering prices in rest of florida I thought prices were reasonable). Views of sunset brilliant and we even saw sharks and dolphins in the surrounding water.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, beachy atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Our party of 8 only had to wait about 10 minutes to be seated, but I expect the wait could be much longer on busy weekends. While waiting, we spotted two dolphins playing in the bay alongside the pier. The menu had several choices and everyone was happy with their meal - crab cakes, fried fish and chips, grilled shrimp. We sat outside and had a nice preview of the sunset, but there is also indoor seating available. Stairs lead up to the dining area - no ramp or elevator.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Glad we went early! Arrived at 5 and were immediately and pleasantly seated by a window. Spectacular view (even saw a dolphin from time to time). Food was great - tasted fresh and well-seasoned. Definitely glad we went and would return on our next trip to AMI!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rod & Reel Pier also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Rod & Reel Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod & Reel Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.