We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
100 Spring Ave, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
+1 941-778-0444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 22 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Sandbar, at the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals and a great place to impress out of town guests. Enjoy our inside dining room or relax before an unforgettable sunset on the Gulffront deck. Sink your toes in the sand while enjoying a signature Pina Colada and the freshest seafood the area offers. The Sandbar is an unmatched setting for any special occasion, especially weddings.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“We had a great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I took my family here from out of town. We sat with our feet in the sand outside under umbrellas. Our waiter was very friendly and easy going. We all really enjoyed our food. Only complaint, The chairs outside were a little uncomfortable on my bare legs, I was in shorts, and the whicker style pattern hurt. The view was obviously beautiful and worth the drive. I recommend this place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    665
    506
    274
    95
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not so great, but view is terrific!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Overpriced, but the view is fab. Waitress was quick to tell us they would soon be doing away with the "early bird" special. Right up front, that turned us off....

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James City, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The sunset was amazing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Food was good and fresh tasting. The waiter was pleasant. The location is an amazing place for sunset!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“atmosphere excellent food average and pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Great outdoor dining with some tables in the sand. Love being able to take off shoes and wiggle toes in the sand. Crowded with tourists but you can walk the beach while waiting. Food is average and fish surprisingly poor. Service is good but bring your gold card.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“food is good but pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I am not a "trendy-foodie", but I enjoy good food when I can. My family and some special friends visited this restaurant. The atmosphere was great - as was the view of the sea and white sand – but it was crowded and parking a challenge. The food is good but pricey - you pay for the view and atmosphere. I feel it is close to becoming an overpriced tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.