We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Dining Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandbar Restaurant

Sandbar Restaurant
100 Spring Ave, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
+1 941-778-0444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sandwiches, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Sandbar, at the north end of Anna Maria Island, has for decades been a favorite for locals and a great place to impress out of town guests. Enjoy our inside dining room or relax before an unforgettable sunset on the Gulffront deck. Sink your toes in the sand while enjoying a signature Pina Colada, the freshest seafood the area offers and farm fresh produce from our own farm. The Sandbar is an unmatched setting for any special occasion, especially weddings.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Dining Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

On a cold day or a very hot day, the Sandbar's new interior eating area is really great for comfort and views of the Gulf of Mexico. We had such a enjoyable time, we wonder why people wait to be seated outside in the cold and wind. Food was very good, if pricey, but again someone has to pay for the new dinning room one of the best views on the coast..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    666
    349
    121
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sandbar Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great restaurant right on the beach.....heaters available if it is cool. Loved the fresh fish. Grouper sandwiches for lunch and we all shared seared tuna tacos and calamari. Beautiful view and fantastic service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An Old Favorite Receives a Makeover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've been dining here at the north end of the island since 1981 and have always enjoyed the totally laid back feel, great service and consistently good food. But I was pleasantly surprised while dining there in March 2013 by the complete renovation of the interior and exterior of the Sandbar. New entry, contemporary relaxed dining room and high-end restrooms give the Sandbar a great new look while preserving the original outdoor deck. Excellent food and service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sunset hogs?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

One problem with the Sandbar is the people who get there early, eat, and sit at the tables to watch the sun set, not allowing other to be seated outside.

Inside, the restaurant is busy. Had a so, so meal, with rubbery fries.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious cocktails - and can't beat the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

We always stop here for at least one meal when we visit Anna Maria. The food is generally good and the cocktails delicious - but on a sunny, warm day, the seating on the beach patio is really the showstopper for this restaurant. We had a 45-minute wait to get a table outside, but they gave us a pager so we could wander the beach until there was a table for us. It was definitely worth the wait. I enjoyed the Cobb Salad with a pineapple martini and my husband had the fish and chips with beer. Our server was not particularly friendly, but was polite and efficient. It was a good meal, though, and we enjoyed sinking our feet into the soft warm sand while we ate. A true Anna Maria beach experience that shouldn't be missed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandbar Restaurant also viewed

Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Sandbar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandbar Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.