We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and Delicious Mexican” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poppo's Taqueria

Poppo's Taqueria
212C Pine Ave, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL
941-254-7941
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stopped in for a quesadilla and chips. We were very pleased with the quality of food at this quick service restaurant. There are a few seats, but I imagine it gets very crowded during peak times. Service was friendly and the food was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    79
    23
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fresh Goodness to Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The first time I went into Poppo's I was somewhat surprised. This has a nice location and looks from outside like it is a nice traditional sit-down restaurant. What is inside are a few tables and chairs and a bar which is not used because it has boxes stored behind it. What I also found inside Poppo's was delicious organic and local food, wonderfully prepared in large portions! Now I stop by Poppo's at least once every time I am on the island. I love the grass-fed beef or the free-range chicken burritos. Add rice and beans and you have a great meal. Don't forget to get gaucamole, salsa, and fresh chips! Oh yeah, top off your meal with a cold Mexican beer or Mexican Coke.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WINTER PARK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect place for lunch during a day of shopping.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We were so pleasantly surprised by Poppo's! I asked them what their specialty is and they made me the best taco I have ever had! Pork, slaw, feta, pico and some sort of green hot sauce. They also made us some fresh chips and guacamole. Keep up the great work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious and fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

I am on the island now and have eaten here twice. The classic taco is so good and really authentic. We also tried the rice bowl and it was great!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Visited tonight, what a great find, fresh tacos, quesadilla, burritos, tortilla chips, salsas, perfect fresh made to order food and a great price. Staff really helpful and friendly, sad it's our last night as would be back for dinner tomorrow, we are a family of 4 and ate very well for $30.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppo's Taqueria also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Poppo's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poppo's Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.