We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Donut Experiment

The Donut Experiment
210C Pine Avenue, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
+1 941-896-3172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast
Description: Welcome to The Donut Experiment, where every donut is your creation! We start with a delicious, fresh-made cake donut and then you pick from our huge selection of icings and toppings. Yours can be as simple as plain or glazed or as crazy as key lime, maple bacon or Sriracha. Stop by today and begin your own experiment.
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

good and they made them fresh but nothing crazy over the top or exciting. I liked my donut and that we could pick but I feel like there wasn't a huge selection and you could only choose one item. I feel if you are going to do a novelty business go big or don't do it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    378
    121
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Yummy donuts!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We love this place! We were here last year and loved it then too. The donuts are hot and exactly how you order them. The service is quick, not overly friendly though. I'm sure we will be back again before the week is over!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very good donuts but the process you must go through to place your order is a bit arduous. The wait isn't fun either! The bacon donut was delicious though. Kids enjoyed very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“only cake donuts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Donuts are amazing but for me I prefer the raised type and I prefer a donut with some icing---
They barely brush the surface in frosting, also you must fill out a form and check off what you want for just one donut. I asked for extra frosting the 2nd time,,but then it was drenched. If you like plain donuts these seem fresh and if you are on vacation...give it a try but probably once is enough. They are $1.35 and for me I prefer publix or krispy kreme fresh from the fryer and cheaper. I would probably not go back again! They staff brings your doughnut to you and you give them your name like at Starbucks but the man who puts on the toppings is hardly friendly and the general vibe is just...ok! I would probably pass and go somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Donuts! As promised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I'm usually not real fond of cake donuts, but these were wonderful! Maybe it's how fresh they are (MADE IN FRONT OF YOUR FACE!), or maybe its the toppings (CHOCOLATE WITH HEATH CANDYBAR!!!)... I don't know what the magic is, but this is a place you HAVE to go when you are in the area!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Experiment also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to The Donut Experiment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donut Experiment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.