We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummo for your tummo!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donut Experiment

The Donut Experiment
210C Pine Avenue, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
1 941-896-3172
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Anna Maria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Bakeries, Family Fare, Donuts
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Welcome to The Donut Experiment, where every donut is your creation! We start with a delicious, fresh-made cake donut and then you pick from our huge selection of icings and toppings. Yours can be as simple as plain or glazed or as crazy as key lime, maple bacon or Sriracha. Stop by today and begin your own experiment.
Anna Maria Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummo for your tummo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

One word--DELICIOUS!! The donut is not greasy, kind of crispy and the toppings and glazes are fantastic. My favourite one was maple glaze with bacon.YUMMO! The donuts are a bit on the small size so don't just order one! My husband and I will be back! The only negative is that the store hours are not very long. We actually went there today at arouind 3:30 but the shop was already closed for the day. Bummer! The staff were very friendly and the donut girl amazed me with keeping all the different orders in her head. Terrific place. Toronto, Canada would make a killing with this unique kind of shop especially on the Boardwalk. Hmmmmm.....I may just have to change my nursing career to a donut making career! Thanks again for this very unique experience!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    90
    21
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simply perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

No bells, no whistles, no pretensions, this is a true donut shop with the added pleasure of choosing your glaze and topping from a range of exciting options. I LOVED this place! Strolling in, after a huge lunch, some wine and lots of other goodies from the Food & Wine Festival, I tried one donut, and departed after eating two more! The staff were amazing at managing an incredibly busy Festival crowd but you simply cannot beat this place. It's not a sit down kind of joint, just go in, customize some of the best donuts you'll ever have and be grateful for such simply perfect pleasures.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness...deeelish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Simple little donut shop on Pine street that you do not want to miss! Perfectly flavored vanilla cake donut that's warm, soft and doesn't leave an oily taste behind. Very simple choices, but yet plenty to choose from. Cake donut, pick your icing..maple, vanilla, etc and then your topping..sprinkles, nuts, cinnamon, etc. Simple! Owners were friendly and their service was great during the Food and Wine on Pine festival when we visited.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What a perfect treat! These cake donuts have a secret ingredient that make them one of the best donuts ever! They top each one individually as you request. The carmel and sea salt is my favorite!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family of 4 went here a few days ago and loved it!We got a dozen and chose 12 different toppings and glazes.Delicious and ingenious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Donut Experiment also viewed

Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to The Donut Experiment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Donut Experiment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.