We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Get-Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rod & Reel Motel

Rod & Reel Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Anna Maria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rod & Reel Motel
Save
You added Rod & Reel Motel to your Saves list
877 N. Shore Dr., P.O. Box 1939, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Anna Maria
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend Get-Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was our 3rd visit to Rod & Reel Motel on Bean Point at the north end of AMI. It's a bare-bones type place, nothing fancy and no pool but perfect location for a Beach trip, especially if you are only staying a few days as most of the house rentals are 1 week. It is close to restaurants & touristy shopping. Staff is very nice and helpful. AC wasn't running well the 1st night and the Maintenance staff replaced it while we were on the Beach the 2nd day. We stayed 2 nights in Room 9 and 1 night in the Suite. The rooms are "cozy", a good choice for 2 adults and 1 child, a bit cramped for 3 adults; but do-able. The Suite is VERY comfortable for 4 adults. Everything throughout the property has been updated recently, and is very fresh and well-maintained.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 & 11 face the water. The Suite has good wifi reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    6
    5
    0
See reviews for
6
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I am reluctant to share this small getaway; sometimes secrets are good to have.I found this place years ago and just revisited it. It's an old Florida place; just a few rooms, newly painted. Right on the water with wading birds and diving pelicans. I like the quiet nature of the place; although it's at the end of the pier of the very popular restaurant. That's an advantage too; stroll up the pier for breakfast or dinner; no need to dress fancy. Take home some great grouper and have a quiet dinner in the small kitchenette in the room.
And it's just a short drive to a great Florida beach; that isn't very busy either. My idea of paradise; away from the maddening crowds.
That's why I take vacations

Room Tip: Pay a little more and you'll be at water's edge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed at the Rod and Reel motel for just one night after landing in Tampa and needing a place to stay until we checked into our rental house. Our plane was delayed, which meant we didnt arrive to the motel until about 9:30-10 pm. We were a bit worried that we wouldn't be able to check in. When we arrived there was a note left for us and both room keys, it wasn't a problem at all! They even left nice greeting cards in each room!!
we had rooms 5 and 10. 10 has nice sliding doors that are steps to the ocean. The rooms exceeded expectations, while the building itself is a bit old, the rooms have been maintained and updated nicely. Plus, the grounds are well maintained boasting beautiful gardens with many places to sit, eat and drink.
Each room had a nice kitchenette with microwaves, fridges, plates , cups , cutlery and more!
There were 8 of us staying in the two rooms and we fit great for one night. I would definitely stay again :)

Room Tip: room 10 has doors to the ocean. two beds close together. kitchenette, table and bathroom room 5 h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Mn
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We've been to the Rod and Reel in past years while on vacation on Anna Maria and could never understand the popularity of this place, other than the location and the pier. There was a fire in the kitchen awhile ago, so the place was remodeled and updated which was greatly needed. We decided to try it again after watching an incredible sunset. After a 45 minute wait, we were seated and greeted by a wonderfully enthusiastic waitress. The food; not so wonderful. I had pecan crusted amberjack which was a huge piece of fish and was ok, although a little dry, but the sides were basically inedible. Horrible zucchini and how do you wreck a baked potato? Like I said, it's "an experience." I did hear that the fried scallops are very good. So better for fried food perhaps.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We stayed here for just one night in February, waiting our weekly rental to open up. The rooms are updated, well appointed and clean. It's a small complex, definitely not a "resort", but it is directly on the water and for the price you can't beat it.
Our room had a "double" bed, which could stand to be a queen, but there was a complete efficiency kitchen, nice countertops, and plenty of kitchen equipment to cook up fish you could catch right on the grounds.
The grounds definitely need attention, and with little effort this place would be a gold mine. Simple things like replacing broken lounge chairs, power washing and a little paint would spruce this place up in no time.
However, for the price, it's convenient, especially since you could eat all your meals at the Rod and Reel Pier, which is right there.
I'd come back here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to request at least a queen sized bed. The double is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Visited here December and we like to go fishing on the island.
Hotel was clean and comfortable - all on ground floor so would suit those with mobility problems. Nice garden/court yard where you can sit out facing the sea.
Our room had 2 double beds - very comfortable, small kitchen, TV and bathroom with shower.
Spacious and comfortable.
My only complaint is they are very very slow to answer emails.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even though we live in Sarasota (home of the world's best beaches!) we took a weekend to explore near-by Anna Maria Island. The entire island is totally laid back with 2 great piers, one the city pier and the other the Rod and Reel Pier (which I hightly recommend for their breakfasts and outstanding Mexican grouper:) Anyway, this little "resort" is fabulous - small kitchen, right on the water, with a little tiki hut outside for relaxing by the water. Rates are amazingly low. Check it out - you won't be sorry! It is a fisherman's paradise!

Room Tip: We will request rooms 9, 10 or 11 next time. We had 9 and it had a water view but 10 and 11 are rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna Maria
4.2 mi away
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
Cedar Cove Resort & Cottages
#2 of 14 in Holmes Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 741 reviews
5.1 mi away
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
Silver Surf Gulf Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
2.1 mi away
An Island Getaway at Palm Tree Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tradewinds Beach Resort
Tradewinds Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
5.1 mi away
Queen's Gate Resort
Queen's Gate Resort
#6 of 11 in Bradenton Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Garden Resort
Sunrise Garden Resort
#1 of 3 in Anna Maria
5.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rod & Reel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rod & Reel Motel

Address: 877 N. Shore Dr., P.O. Box 1939, Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island, FL 34216
Location: United States > Florida > Anna Maria Island > Anna Maria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Anna Maria
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Rod And Reel Motel
Rod & Reel Hotel Anna Maria
Rod & Reel Motel Anna Maria, Anna Maria Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rod & Reel Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.