We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They're back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TerraMia

TerraMia
1150 Douglas Ave Suite 1040, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-5013
407-774-8466
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
TerraMia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: TerraMia presents contemporary Italian cuisine inspired by seasonal and regional simplicity. The executive chef creates elegant and classic Italian dishes presented with an innovative and modern twist.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“They're back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Massimo and Rosario have done it. They reopened Terra Mia last night and it's fabulous. Combining fine dining with bistro fare, it's a welcome update to the old restaurant. The food was great, the service was good and the atmosphere was fresh and vibrant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    0
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Vera Cucina Italiana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Real Italian food, particularly when prepared by real Italians, is hard to find in the US. It's even harder in central Florida or anywhere south of South Philly. Luckily, there's Terra Mia.

At Terra Mia, they do it right. It's just like Nonna used to make, only in better surroundings, with a more extensive wine list (many available by the glass) and you don't have to help doing the dishes.

And at Terra Mia, they treat you right. The service was just great, not rushed, and all of our dishes, from antipasti to dessert and espresso, arrived fresh, hot and just when we expected it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This place has really great authentic Italian food. The ingredients are fresh and everything is made to order. It is a very small place and seating is limited so try and go REALLY early. There is outdoor seating but seating is a challenge. Service is good and it is a cozy relaxed atmosphere. If you sit inside you will see the chefs cooking behind the counter squawking back and forth to each other in Italian. Quantity is good. We have never left hungry and let me just say the Carbanara is to die for. The best ever, anywhere!
It's not really a place that I would take small children. Quarters are tight and just not really conducive.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy with a touch of home..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Last week was not my first time dining at this fabulous restaurant. However, it was a first for us as a family. My son was visiting from Europe and daughter here from Australia. It is very hard to please their uber refined gastronomical palates in our neck of the woods in Central Florida. We had been wanting to bring them here, but couldn't convince them. Our daughter especially who must have an Italian gene in her, was iffy, and our son, could not imagine anyone could do food better than the slow paced personalized cooking of the Belgian restaurants, where they cook each order to specification, and bring it out in three quarters of an hour.

We made a spur of the moment booking and gave the 'children' no choice. The antipasti platter arrived with little fanfare, and the bread and olive oil with a touch of great balsamic were a little slow to come, however the flavors just get you at first bite! By the time we had our mains, with the Ripassa Valpolicella (Zenato, Italy) red we had ordered, the kids were floored, and Europe and Australia were invaded over a table for four!

We ordered the Grouper, the seafood with a half Lobster from the specials and Pasta dishes from the regular menu. This time I did not take a salad, but can recommend them highly. They have a great selection of wines as well. We also sampled an Italian Pinot Noir courtesy of one of their staff, and it is a nice light, translucent red which I would probably have again. I think it may be their house wine.

The place was very busy and nearly full on the last Friday of the year. I have eaten here a few times before and have never been disappointed. On this visit, we had great servers and had a great time chatting with another staff member as well. No ordinary Joe!

Terra Mia has a bar, but I prefer the comfort of the tables to take my time and enjoy a very special meal. Highly recommended for special occasions, and for just about any day you want to make special!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Italian Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This establishment has a marvelous chef who does a great job in producing many authentic flavors of Itay...They also have a small establishment in Lake Mary that is charming, delicious and produce a great old world pizza...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TerraMia also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Been to TerraMia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TerraMia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.