We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel is tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   230 West State Road 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The hotel is tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

When we checked in we were greeted by a desk clerk that had to be called from the back room. She was not happy. While normal hotels allow some leeway in checking in, she was firm that we could not move into our room until 4:00 PM.....no exception. The lobby was fairly clean but the halls had not been vacuumed that day. I have stayed at many hotels in my time and often they have apples or cookies for guests in the evening. Not even a cup of coffee or tea was visible in the lobby. The rooms ar clean but are staring to show their age. I think we will stay at Hampton Inn from now on.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    99
    111
    95
    114
See reviews for
181
90
36
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

NIGHTCLUB IS SO LOUD, YOU CAN'T SLEEP!
UNSAFE!
Will never stay again!
Keys never work.
Trashy facility.
Why have a nightclub on the property when it disturbs your guest from sleep?
What are the owners thinking?....they're thinking of themselves and the almighty dollar!
WILL NEVER STAY AGAIN!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JACKSONVILLE
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Hotel was nice and clean, we stayed in Jacuzzi Suite, and was very clean and eveything worked as expected. Yes would stay again, however the Music the 1st night from lounge was very noticeable, when went to bed. The keys to get into the main building were a pain and took a number of tries to get door open. Only other problem was a neighbor was a little noisy after they went to bed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

First off, the positive: breakfast was plentiful and the waitress was sweet. Now, the rest of the story: if this had been for a quick overnight stay, I don't think the experience would've been as negative. Unfortunately, because we reserved for 3 nights, there were more issues than expected. Our first night, we were checked into a room with a broken closet door that came completely off its hinges and bugs crawling on the bed. Front desk was luckily able to move us to a different room - especially as when I later returned to the problem room to inform my party, they informed me they had also found a cockroach in the wastebasket. Needless to say, we quickly fled the room. On the second night of staying in the new room, I found a cockroach crawling in the sink. Since my party had returned late from Universal Studios that night and were too tired to move our luggage again, we flushed the cockroach down the sink and made sure to zipper up our luggage, in case any cockroaches decided to wander in during our sleep. On our last night, a baby cockroach was located in a corner of our mildewy bathtub, but again we simply killed it and fell asleep because of the tiredness. In all, we were disappointed in both our rooms, and hope to never have to rest alongside cockroaches again. The only saving grace here, though, is that hotels.com agreed to compensate us partially for our unfortunate experience.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altamonte Springs
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Orlando - Altamonte Springs
Extended Stay America - Orlando ...
#5 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlan...
#2 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-North/Altamonte Springs
Hampton Inn & Suites - Orlando-N...
#1 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
Hilton Orlando Altamonte Springs
#7 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Altamonte Springs
Ramada Altamonte Springs
#9 of 14 in Altamonte Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North

Address: 230 West State Road 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Altamonte Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Altamonte Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off I-4 - close to Downtown Orlando and just minutes from shopping and many fast and fine dining restaurants. Our 20 foot waterfall cascades into the olympic size pool. Home to the Sterling Room steak and seafood restaurant, serving Sterling Silver meats. Home to the legendary Why Not Lounge, serving cocktails and hot food nightly. Guests receive a free full-hot breakfast buffet daily serving a selection of fresh baked breads, fresh fruit, breakfast meats and eggs prepared in our full service kitchen and served in the restaurant. Room service is available from morning to night and three large Jacuzzi Suites are available. We have 10 meeting and banquet rooms, the largest accommodating up to 356 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Altamonte Springs
Clarion Altamonte Springs
Altamonte Springs Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Plaza Altamonte Springs Orlando North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.