We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh salad bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
474 W. State Rd. 436, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714
407-869-5550
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
X
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fresh salad bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This restaurant is not showing up in the list for Altamonte Springs under my hotel review, but it is the place you want to go if you love fresh veggies. It is off 1-4 and near a cluster of hotels in the strip mall. The variety of salad fixings are the best I have seen as a vegan. It is wonderful.i had raw beets, raw squash and raw zucchini along with the normal fixings. There were many varieties of salad dressings to choose from. Along with the cold salad bar, are soup ( which I did not care for - all too oily), baked goods, deserts, fresh fruit, herbal and other teas and hot and cold drinks and kid pleaders like mac and cheese. I don't recall the meat, as I was not looking for it. I thought the price was high at about $11 late afternoon but I was so pleased with the menu that I never mined that. The other negative is the dining area. It is very cafeteria style, noisy, and too close to others. I will definitely return.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    29
    10
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, FL
Level Contributor
142 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Healthy Choice ... and tasty too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Sweet tomatoes is an excellent choice for healty but tasty food. We recently took a trip to the Orlando area and ate at the Sweet Tomatoes in Kissimmee and Altamonte Springs. Both were very good but the Altamonte Springs location was better. It ahd a better slection of food and the food was better tasting at Altamonte Springs. It was about 10% more expensive also.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Meetup at Sweet Tomatos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lots of options for salads and soups. I had their bean soup and a salad which was very good. Their fruit bar had fresh pinnaple which was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Sweet tomatoes has something for everyone. The salad bar when you come in is amazing, love their broccoli salad. Have noticed a few less choices on salad bar. Also have fresh baked breads muffins etc or you can get hot pasta with your choice of sauces. They have monthly flavors, June was strawberry month and they do things with the specials which are wonderful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Love this chain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I'm an addict to this chain. As a frequent biz traveler, I go out of my way to go to Sweet Tomatoes (so hard to eat healthy on the road and this is THE BEST carry out healthier way to eat on the road). I wish they were in more areas, especially closer to where I live in Calhoun GA.

This is another solid ST, well located close to the freeway. I will visit again when back in the area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.