We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Carrabba's Italian Grill

Carrabba's Italian Grill
931 N State Road 434, Apt N, Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-7022
407-788-4222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Longwood, Florida
1 review
“Terrible Experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Have not been for several years and we won't be going back. Very poor service. Took more than 10 minutes just to get butter on the table to go with the bread. Server was very poor and reached across the table infront of our party when access to each person was clear. 3 of the 4 main courses were not fully cooked and had to go back. My meal was delayed as they forgot not to put the butter sauce on the salmon; then it had to go back as the crabmeat was very cold on the inside.

They offered a free desert which we did not need, but did not offer to adjust the bill until asked.

A terrible and very disappointing experience. Management needs to step up with training or re-training. No excuse for the terrible service as the restaurant was less than half full - with the service we experienced it was not surprising.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Well, I was impressed by the hostess, and our server, not to mention the food. I rarely want to go to Carrabba's, as I feel that their food is rich in calories and high In price. We had a $10 off coupon, so thought since, we go out to eat, 3x a week, that we would try something different. I ordered the Trio with grilled salmon and it was perfect. I also had a skinny margarita, which I thought was I/2 price on happy hour, but when the check came, we were charged full price. I pointed it out to our server, and he took the whole drink off the bill! Certainly, not looking for a free drink but they were very gracious. The hot bread and olive oil prior to dinner is a delicious treat. I heard a server say that they manager was new, so I think that she must be there to turn things around. We will definitely be adding Carrabba's back on our list.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not Great!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hadn't been to Carrabbas for a long while, thought I would try it since I had a coupn for steak and lobster tail. Called ahead for seating and was seated promptly in the bar not that big of a problem. We ordered the coupon deal. Asked the server for pink meat which came out bloody red and . The lobster tail was awful, tasted like steak sauce-- nothng like the picture. No butter for the lobster tail. Rest ofthe meal was just mediocare. Would definitely not recommend or go back. Service was also slow...Took 15 minutes to get the bill and then longer to make it right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“SENSATIONAL food, Brilliant service, Great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Took dinner in here on a Saturday between lunch and dinner. I was expecting it to be relatively quiet, so was shocked to see so many people in the restaurant.
Jackie offered usa table or we could sit at the bar and see the food being prepared, we opted for the later as my friend I was with preferred this.
The server jackie was very friendly and efficient, she took our drinks order (it was happy hour on drinks) and gave us enough time to decide on what we wanted to eat.
We had 1 starter between the 2 of us, which was Shrimp scampi. This was a decent enough sized portion and the quality was good.
For main course, I had the Small Chicken Parmesan with penne pasta. This was very good and the portions were exceptional, probably too big if anything.
Everything about the restauarant was good. Really enjoyed the service, the atmosphere, the company and the food. Will definitely return when back in Florida.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Ok at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were at Carrabba’s last year and thought it was better. We had the bacon and caramalized onion flatbread for an appetizer which was ok. For dinner we had the special cavatappi bolgnese and also the linguine pescatre. The cavatappi bolognese was very bland and the salad wasn’t very good. Service was good as we never had to wait for our water to be refilled. Bread was warm and fresh. Manager did visit the tables and we did mention our concern of the food being bland. This time Carrabba’s wasn’t what we were expecting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrabba's Italian Grill also viewed

Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
Altamonte Springs, Central Florida
 

Been to Carrabba's Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carrabba's Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.