We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayurveda health retreat was a peaceful kind environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayurveda Health Retreat

Save Saved
You added Ayurveda Health Retreat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayurveda Health Retreat
14616 NW 140th St, Alachua, FL 32616   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Ayurveda health retreat was a peaceful kind environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I am glad I stumbled upon Ayurveda health retreat. It was exactly what I had hoped for. A chilled... kind environment. I ate healthy, slept on soft sheets, participated in a morning and evening yoga class, met kind interesting people and enjoyed stillness.
I especially enjoyed the family like dinner table. There was always an interesting story and flavorful vegetarian cuisine.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
34
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

I visited the retreat exhausted, spent, and in some real need of taking care of myself. Immediately I felt comfortable, relaxed, and so excited to start my treatments. Richard and all of the wonderful people at the retreat do a remarkable job of making you feel cared for.
The room was very comfortable, pleasant, I slept very well. The ayurvedic meals were delicious and inspired me to come home and give some of the recipes a try. Each therapist I experienced was a true healer, very knowledgeable, and gifted at what they do. Panchakarma was a wonderful experience, the stress just melted away! I also had a Thai massage, and that was beyond the beyond, amazing!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I was new to Ayurveda and decided I needed to learn more, so I traveled from Philadelphia to Alachua to learn more. My experience was truly blissful. Richard and his team are wonderful; very nice; very caring; very informative. I had five panchakarma treatments that were excellent. I also enjoyed the great food and yoga twice a day. The windchimes, birds chirping, the warm sun and the wonderful tea combined to give me the most relaxation I've probably ever had in 50 plus years! Also, I would highly recommend the Transformational Breathing technique. It did more for me than years of therapy ever have related to getting to core issues. I hope to return with my significant other soon!! Richard and Team-Thank you again!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I heard about this place and was planning a visit to Gainesville for another reason so asked if I could come by and get a tour and perhaps stay overnight. Richard who runs the place was really nice and totally hospitable. We not only were able to stay overnight for a very reasonable cost but were invited for breakfast, lunch and a yoga class. the environment was totally healing, so much so that we decided to stay an extra night. We also each did a consult with Richard, which we found very valuable.

There were some very nice people going through there and also working there, so we met some interesting people.

Would love to come back for a longer stay

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This was a blissful, enlightening, nourishing and happy experience!!! I immediately connected with the wonderfully friendly and caring staff that felt just like family along with the beautiful energy of the surroundings...I had very helpful ayurvedic constitution evaluations, flavorful and delicious vegetarian meals, one of a kind Panchacarma treatments, great yoga lessons everyday, accurate astrology readings, and wonderful teas all day long not to mention amazing books everywhere. The weather was divine and the small city has an air of lost in time that is enchanting The whole setting is design to take you away either within yourself or up in higher dimentions....
II am taking home what I learn and in time I'd to return to recharge again :)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Whether you're familiar with Ayurveda or not, visiting the Ayurveda Health Retreat was one of the most interesting, relaxing, and enlightening experiences of my life! I arrived there not really knowing what to expect, as it was to be my first introduction to Ayurveda. There is a definite atmosphere of serenity and unity from everything there, and you will no doubt become drawn in by the warmth and friendliness of everyone! I experienced Panchakarma for 3 days, and the experience was fantastic, incredibly soothing and spiritual. Vegetarian meals made 3 times daily by the lovable cooks, Ruben and Gary, were absolutely delicious as well. The discoveries I have made about my health and my energies are such a blessing, and now essential to my daily life. This is a wonderful retreat for everyone!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weeki Wachee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed for 4 days at the Ayurvedic Health Retreat and I wish I could have stayed longer. I would highly recommend the retreat to anyone that has a pre-existing condition/illness to come here to find some helpful answers. Extremely caring staff that catered to my specific physical, mental and spiritual needs. I am looking forward to my next visit and more healing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayurveda Health Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayurveda Health Retreat

Address: 14616 NW 140th St, Alachua, FL 32616
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Alachua
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Alachua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ayurveda Health Retreat (AHR) is one of the premier retreat centers in Florida that offers traditional Ayurvedic medicine and Panchakarma treatments. The AHR was established by Richard Masla, ND, in 2001 and is located in the small historic town of Alachua, in north central Florida. The Retreat initially had only one treatment room and an office space. From these humble beginnings, it now encompasses three buildings: a beautiful yoga studio, a retreat center and a yoga ashram. Annually we serve hundreds of guests who visit us from all over the world. We are a group of dedicated health professionals who have created an authentic Ayurvedic retreat offering traditional Kerala Ayurvedic therapies. We have an Ayurvedic Practitioner, a Doctor of Naturopathy, psychologist, massage therapists, Reiki healers, and yoga & meditation teachers. Richard Masla, our Ayurvedic Practitioner, studied traditional Ayurveda under Dr. Vasant Lad, Dr. Pankaj Naram and Dr. Syama. Richard has mastered the ancient art of Kerala Ayurvedic Panchakarma and has trained all of our massage therapists. We're here to accommodate you, whether you need a weekend refresher or a full 21-day retreat. We look forward to being of service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Ayurveda Health Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayurveda Health Retreat Hotel Alachua

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayurveda Health Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.