We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Apa Latin Cafe

Mi Apa Latin Cafe
15634 NW Hwy 441 Suite F, Alachua, FL 32615
(386) 418-0838
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 41 Restaurants in Alachua
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Springboro, OH
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Driving by and looking for a place to eat. Stopped for Moe's but up close it lost any appeal. Mi Apa is just across the parking lane but turned out to be the kind of place I'm looking forward to visiting again. The food was very good, the flan was excellent. Truly outstanding. The black beans were also surprisingly flavorful. And the service was both efficient and cheerful. I would prefer to eat on plates and flatware that was recycled, but I'll go back even if it means eating off per-landfill plastic.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    12
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Issue is Hygiene”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was going to Moe's & decided to give Mi Apa a try. I got three items & an Inca Cola to go. The food tasted fine once I got home.

Here's where the problem arises -- as I was given my food to go, I watched an employee pull the portafilter out of their espresso machine to clean it. She knocked a spoon on the floor & then picked the spoon back up off of the floor to clean the grounds out of the portafilter. It does not matter if both items were to be cleaned separately -- it's nothing something a customer ever like to see.

It made me wonder what may have happened in the back while my food was being prepared.& hindered my ability to truly enjoy what would be a welcome respite from most of the food options in Alachua.

One can only hope this was an isolated event, but it will keep me from visiting Mi Apa again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a healthy meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Great menu, food, and service. If you are looking for something different then definitely come here. I like the fact that this restaurant has many healthy selections.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anticipointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I ordered food to go from the Alachua store, based on the better service/food in Gainesville. Tonight, I had the No.11 Arepa with avocado that was clearly bad. So surprised to get home and see a nasty black/smelly line running throughout all of the avocado slices, which should have been super obvious to the chef.

When I called the store to let them know, all I got was a quick, "Thank You," from the hostess/server. (I wasn't asking for a refund, just wanted chef to know). Could be that she didn't know how to deal with a complaint, but I chalk that up to poor training and little interest in customer service on management's and/or her part.

Have to agree that the styrofoam is a bummer. Will think twice about eating here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undisclosed
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Go to Mi Apá for the good Latin American food. The wait staff are helpful and friendly. This is the type of restaurant where you seat yourself. You have a choice of sitting inside or outside. Good variety of items on the menu. The beef empanadas are a favorite starter of mine. Not so thrilled with the styrofoam plates and plasticware.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Apa Latin Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mi Apa Latin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Apa Latin Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.