We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amici Italian Grill

Amici Italian Grill
401 W Main St, Avon, CT 06001-3647
860-677-7089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 56 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
West Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We've been a fan of Amici's for years. The last two luncheons there were very disappointing, especially the second luncheon where I took a friend. We ordered the pasta/shrimp lunch special and it arrived lukewarm and floating in olive oil and it appeared that it had been sitting under the heat lamp for a while. I don't understand why the wait staff would even deliver a plate that looked like that. Nobody came back to ask how it was. We left most of it and since I was taking somebody to lunch I did not complain, it was embarrasing enough.

I hope this is not a sign of what is to come.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    19
    9
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BARKHAMSTED
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love the booths - comfortable place. We go there for the eggplant parm which is always good. Service is consistent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Never Dissapointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is one of our favorite Itialian restaurants in the Avon / Canton area. The price versus quality is excellent. Menu is extensive and has both classical and unusual selections. The staff is very experienced and helpful. Reservations on Friday and Saturday's are reccomended or you will often have a 30 minute wait. If you have to wait - do stop by the bar as the coctails are excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

great Food, always fresh. Service is friendly and fast.
One of my favorite places to get a quick yummy lunch, or a relaxing dinner

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sister&BIL's favorite Italian in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Our 2nd visit. First was much better. Maybe Sunday afternoon is not the time to go. Wife only ate a little of her Eggplant Parm, my Penne Bake was gooy with cheese. Not the best this time.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Italian Grill also viewed

 

Been to Amici Italian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amici Italian Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.