We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it just for the Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Old Farms Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avon Old Farms Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Avon
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth it just for the Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

My husband and I headed to this hotel for a weekend getaway. I had my doubts but they were soon put away as soon as we walked into the room and saw the delicious old four poster king sized bed. We kept the shade up and the windows open because it was snowing and we fell asleep watching the snow. The next day we just visited around the town and drove up to the ski resort. Saturday night, we visited a restaurant and bar that had a live band and then came back to the hotel. On Sunday we had reservations for the brunch in their beautiful restaurant that has giant bay windows that look up the hill.

This brunch is fantastic. It's VERY resonably priced and we were treated like royalty. The buffet was delicious and the complimentary mimosa's were flowing freely. We decided that it was worth the two hour drive from New York city just for the Brunch.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    53
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
37
41
12
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philly
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2009

Hotel was easy to get to from the airport because of the free hotel van service. We also got a ride to a restaurant for dinner. I had breakfast in the Seasons which was very good. I was working but felt like i was on a mini vacation. Hotel looked nice and i liked the flat panel tv in the room. I will stay again when I go back in February.

  • Liked — Service/Location
  • Disliked — Room Service not 24 hours
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Avon Old Farms hotel the night of a friend's wedding that was being held across the street. I was really excited to stay here since it is an independent hotel and I thought it would be romantic. The decor was extremely dated, the TV was very small and I was surprised that it even had remote control capabilities. There was a large window in the room that we could not find a shade for, there were only sheer white panels. It wasn't until the next morning that I realized the shade was a pull down but it was stored up above the window out of site. It does have a nice lobby and bar but I was disappointed in the room itself.

  • Liked — Bar
  • Disliked — Decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

I stayed here recently for a wedding that was in the area. Right off the bat from checking in, I was put off by the attitute of the staff. We were checked in by the Front Desk Supervisor. I got the impression that checking in guests was a huge inconvience for the staff.
Got to the room, which on the plus side AC was working so it was nice and cool. Everything in the room needs updating. TV was definitely older than me. Overall kind of dingy and dated. The shower was really unpleasant. A 10 minute shower resulted in standing in water over my ankles backed up in the tub. Also, the shower head was either broken or just cheap, with rogue sprays shooting in evey direction. My husband got sprayed just by standing in the bathroom doorway while I was showering.
Lastly, we had to contact the front desk to find out about the shuttle to the wedding. The "supervisor" once again. He said he asked around and knew nothing of the shuttle, odd seeing as the hotel was providing the shuttle. We did make it on the shuttle no thanks to some of the staff here. Would not stay here again.

  • Liked — AC works
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed here for a wedding and was given one of the rooms in the detached building across the parking lot from the lobby. This building is set up like a motel, i.e. you access the rooms directly from the outside. The stairs were not in good condition and while the room was OK, the A/C did not work. We stopped by the front desk on our way to the reception and let them know, and they assured us it would be fixed shortly.

When we returned to the room at 11:30pm the room was still hot and the A/C was not functioning. Only when I called the front desk again did they offer to move us to another room, and only when we voiced our displeasure did they offer to take $20 off our rate. By checkout they had taken off $40, but the damage was done by then.

If you stay here, request one of the rooms in the main building. They seem to be a little nicer, although not necessarily newer. Both the TV and the alarm clock looked to be circa 1970.

  • Liked — the bar in the restaurant is decent
  • Disliked — old rooms, appliances, fixtures, etc.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

It is a nice place, but it's a little expensive for what you get (paid around $160). We stayed in a queen standard and the room was very nice, and clean. The wifi worked well. The Season's restaurant was fantastic! Service was great and the food was far above average.
As other's have said, it is located at a busy intersection, but the surrounding area is very pretty. Plus lots of shops.

  • Liked — location, food, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — a little procey
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

I live in this town and have always wondered about this place so after a fight with the hubby I decided to give it a try. I was offered a "luxury " room at $199 and said I didn't need anything like that so I was given a room in the "economy" (their words not mine) section at $169, the "economy" section is a converted motel w/ outside entrances to the rooms. Had a sofa, queen bed and freebies like a couple bottles of water and a sewing kit but the place is kinda run down. I went to take a shower in a run down bathroom that screams for updating w/ terrible shower head and the drain was soooooooo slow the water was to my knees by the time I was done and when I told them about it they said "oh okay" no apology-nothing. You also hear traffic but I guess you'd expect that because this is a major, major intersection. I travel a lot so at $169 I expect better, in my own back yard I really wanted more but now I know to send folks to the Marriott.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs updating, bathroom condition
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Old Farms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.