We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Old Farms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Old Farms Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Summer Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My niece's evening wedding was held here and it went off without a hitch. There were 100 attendees and everything, from the outdoor ceremony to the brunch the following morning was perfect. The dinner was exceptional, the service top-notch and very friendly. The Towpath room (where we mingled after the ceremony and had brunch the next morning) was set up beautifully and was very comfortable even though the evening was very humid. The public bar, where some people continued onto after the reception was over, was comfortable and classy. I agree with the other reviews about the rooms needing a bit of attention to fix some minor issues that aren't expensive to do. The small attention to some details would make a big difference in my overall impression. We chose a room with a four posted bed and it was very elegant. Some of the other furniture is a bit big for the size of the room, but it was still comfortable. Although I didn't get a chance to get to the pool, some other family members did and they really enjoyed it. The pool area and water were clean. It was set back near the woods so the surroundings with the other landscape made it look very relaxing and refreshing. We enjoyed our visit and would definitely plan another visit when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back face the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    63
    36
    15
    15
See reviews for
48
47
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last night on business. I forgive most things but when on checkout nobody asks me how my stay was I pretty much write off coming back. If someone had asked I would have reported that my room had no desk or chair of any kind, was registering about 80 degrees when I got in the room, and that the AC was so loud as to make normal sleep impossible. Don't be fooled by the quaint New England atmosphere in the lobby; this is a decidedly below average travel experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your most recent experience at our hotel. I apologize that no one at the desk inquired about your stay with us as this is our normal procedure to ask upon check-out. I would be interested in speaking with you further to discuss in more deatil your stay. Without guest feedback, it is impossible to improve. If you have a chance, please give me a call at 860-677-1651 or send over an e-mail with your contact information and I would be happy to contact you. My e-mail is GM@AvonOldFarmsHotel.com. Thanks again for brining your concerns to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Only stayed one night here but found everything to be in order and our stay was enjoyable. Nice room with canopied king bed in main hotel. Hotel prices in the Hartford area fall in 2 categories- inexpensive and dumpy or decent and pricey. The $139 for our room was a good value considering the marketplace. Outdoor pool which I didn't get a chance to use. Also had an excercise room with dry sauna which I did. Being a sauna fan, this is a nice touch that most places do not offer. Continental breakfast is served in the lobby, and although basic with coffee and pastries, was upscale in taste. Staff was professional. Facility was old school, which I do not have a problem with. Have stayed at hotels all over the planet and found this one to be more than adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a "Classic Connecticut Hotel" reminiscent of a time when class, courteousness, old world feel and comfort were king...great rooms with great overall accommodations.
I stay here once a year and am always greeted by Nan (Nancy) at the front desk.. She does everything possible to give you a positive experience..
Highly recommend this place..

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Avon Old Farms Hotel for the second time. Although the location and the outward appearance is lovely, something is missing. The public rooms are beautiful but our room was showing a lot of wear and tear. In particular, the window frame was bent and the window couldn't be closed completely. The gym was a total mess: no towels, busted machines, no sanitary wipes. The noisy party on the lawn at 1 am didn't help. On the other hand, the staff was very pleasant and gracious. It looks skimping on upkeep, which is a shame, given the location. If you're going to Hartford and you don't want to stay downtown, this is a pleasant, but not great. option.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back facing the mountain if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here for a few nights on a business trip. Rooms are decent size and clean; all staff members are very nice and helpful; dinner in the restaurant was excellent; bar is a fun place to hang out at the end of the day. I would look to stay here again on business or on a romantic getaway. .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

After the hustle and bustle of NY, coming to Avon Old Farms was like a breath of fresh air... I had not seen previous reviews or pictures of the rooms before my arrival.

The community around it is very wooded and quaint with beautiful "New England-style" homes, an old stone church. Upon arriving, you see a red brick two-story "motel-type" structure. (We were staying only one night, so I wasn't too concerned.) I was greeted warmly and given a key to our 2nd floor room. (In the age of "credit card" room keys, I was caught off guard by the key with the holes... hadn't seen those in awhile. Made me nostalgic! The young boy who was with us loved it -- wanted to keep his as a souvenir!)

While no elevator is a disadvantage, there was a lovely gentleman who kindly took my bags for me. Once you are in your second floor room, you are on the same floor as the pub, the restaurant and the beautiful grounds. (You also can check in and then drive your car up to the second floor of one section of the hotel -- avoiding the stairs altogether!)

The room (#128 -- not 228) was charming. It had a canopy bed, a TV, desk. Simple and elegant. The bathroom was also very simple, put appointed. This is not the Ritz, more like the home of your most beloved grandmother who can't wait for you to come visit and wants you to enjoy your stay. I was very comfortable here and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it for the room alone. Please note that there are no in-room movies, but there is free Wi-fi. There are also plenty of grounds to explore.

Everything was clean (even the hallway chair rail molding!).

Having no access to a car, we had our meals at the restaurant. Delicious!!! The staff was extremely personable and kind. The meals we had for dinner, breakfast and lunch were wonderful, fresh and flavorful!!! There were beautiful windows that opened up to a wooded terrace made you feel like you were deep in the woods.

The hotel is older, but it has character and old-fashioned charm -- not to mention wonderful service and food.

Stay here. I would again!

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor near the restaurant in the main building. While the main desk is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Old Farms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.