We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Old Farms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Old Farms Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oro Valley, Arizona
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

I live in this town and have always wondered about this place so after a fight with the hubby I decided to give it a try. I was offered a "luxury " room at $199 and said I didn't need anything like that so I was given a room in the "economy" (their words not mine) section at $169, the "economy" section is a converted motel w/ outside entrances to the rooms. Had a sofa, queen bed and freebies like a couple bottles of water and a sewing kit but the place is kinda run down. I went to take a shower in a run down bathroom that screams for updating w/ terrible shower head and the drain was soooooooo slow the water was to my knees by the time I was done and when I told them about it they said "oh okay" no apology-nothing. You also hear traffic but I guess you'd expect that because this is a major, major intersection. I travel a lot so at $169 I expect better, in my own back yard I really wanted more but now I know to send folks to the Marriott.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needs updating, bathroom condition
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    68
    38
    16
    15
See reviews for
53
52
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Beautiful Hotel. Lobby is small but very tastefully done. Stayed on second floor of the hotel. Hallways are wide and well lit. Rooms are a delight. HUGE four poster bed with down mattress cover and duvet. Bottled water, crystal ice bucket and fresh flowers in th eroom were a very nice touch. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Rich, the shuttle driver was a nice welcoming committee at the airport. Very informed about his property and the surrounding area. Conference rooms are bright and airy. Catered food was very good with several choices offered at each service. Grounds were immaculate.

My only suggestion would be to enlarge to the Front Desk area. This can be done while still maintaining the look of a Inn.

Overall I would defintely return and even consider the property for a leisure visit.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveler from the mid-atlantic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

We were in town for a party acress the street at the Avon Old Farms Inn, so we stayed overnight at the Avon Old Farms Hotel. We booked online through hotels.com.

The hotel is actually a hotel and motel. Which was not clear on the hotels.com website or the actual hotels website. Our room was in the motel section and it was very worn. The steps leading to our room were cracked concrete, the bathroom was tiny and the rug was worn down. I also would never have booked the room if I knew it had a motel entrance, I don't feel safe with the outside door. Plus, we heard truck traffic noise all night.

Even with the discount pricing we paid almost $200 for a room that was not worth it.

The actual hotel seemed nice though, and the resturant was very good (although, the food at the Avon Old Farms Inn across the street is much better).

I would not stay here again. There are plenty of other hotels in the area to choose from!

  • Liked — Location, resturant
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I really enjoyed this hotel. It was comfortable and they had everything in the room for you. Not many hotels supply Qtips, cotton balls and a sewing kit and this really stood out as going the extra mile to me. Very pleasant staff as well.

  • Liked — The extras in the room.
  • Disliked — Wish they had tylenol in the vending machine or at front desk.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2007

Stayed one night in a king room. I had a small issue at check-in when
they tried to give me a room with double beds instead of the king I'd
reserved. When I stood my ground, the desk clerk swiftly and cheerfully found me a lovely king room with a four-poster bed. My room was big, ultra-clean, very quiet and very pretty with that New England charm one hopes for in a town like Avon.

The restaurant in the hotel served an excellent dinner and breakfast.
The wait staff were efficient, warm and very accommodating. The restaurant has large windows overlooking a pretty little stream. We saw white-tail deer just outside the windows while eating dinner there.

I was actually sad to check out of this hotel and look forward to staying there on my next trip to the region.

  • Liked — Ultra-comfortable four-poster bed
  • Disliked — Having to argue to get the king room I reserved.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2006

I would highly recommend you book and executive room. These rooms are very comfortable with down comforters and pillow top mattresses. Although the beds are very comfortable the rooms are starting to show there wear (cracked marble sinks, poor shower heads, yellowing tub, old switches, wall markings, etc... The common areas of the hotel is very nice and well kept along with a great curb appeal. I think this hotel is very well run and the staff is very personable. You will like to stay here.

  • Liked — Comfy beds and great public space
  • Disliked — Guest rooms are showing thier age
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for an executive room
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

This hotel is nothing special to write home about, well, in my opinion at least.

The hotel is actually 2 separate buildings. We had a room in the upper hotel, which is accessed through its own lobby and not the main lobby. Building is out of the way and quiet. There were 5 people in the party and got a room with 2 double beds.

The room was incredibly small. It was run down with stains on the carpet and NO ROOM to walk around the room. It was similar to the size that you would see in NYC. Beds were not comfortable and the bathroom was in desperate need of updating.

We did not eat in the restaurant or get room service so I can not comment on that. I would try the Simsbury Inn instead, even though owned by the same company, it is a little more updated with bigger rooms.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — the tiny room
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Old Farms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.