We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a wedding reception” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Old Farms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Old Farms Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Old Farms Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ideal for a wedding reception”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Visited here for a wedding and found the Avon Old Farms Hotel to be fantastic. Lovely location, pleasantly surrounded by trees and other greenery, also very convenient as just off the highway. A local farm shop is within walking distance and there's an extremely good bagel shop down the road too. Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable to sleep in. Staff were excellent, couldn't be more helpful, the bar/pub was brilliant and the area for the wedding reception couldn't have been better. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. Good help yourself full breakfast in the morning too.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    68
    38
    16
    15
See reviews for
53
52
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Malden, NL
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
233 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
349 helpful votes 349 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here only 1 night on a business trip in April 2012. I choose this hotel because of easy access to the Uconn Health Center area. The hotel is beautifully located in the Connecticut countryside. It is much larger than I expected from the website. The hotel has a cozy atmosphere which I liked. Staff was helpful and friendly.

I had a huge room with a comfortable bed. Internet was very slow during the afternoon but later on speed improved. I missed a coffee maker in my room. There is free coffee in the reception desk area but that’s quite a long walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
We appreciate your time in sharing your experience and were glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have in-room coffee makers available though fine we can offer a superior product through our full systems and french press in the restaurant. We will review your comments and see if we can better accomodate our guests in the future. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent one night here preparing for a move out of state.

On arrival, Andrew at the front desk was polite, but not very friendly. We didn't find the warm hospitality we would have expected from a country-styled inn.

Since previous reviews had touted the hotel as "charming", I was prepared for something very quaint. While the pretty 4-poster beds were indeed very reminiscent of a cozy New England Inn, the room in general was just really quite dated.

The heating/cooling system was the older type with the old fashioned knobs on a unit under the window. It was maddening trying to regulate the temperature throughout the night with no real settings to go by other than the ol' "left for hot; right for cold."

The room lacked even the most basic coffee pot, which I had thought was pretty much a staple in hotel rooms these days. Coffee and tea were available in the lobby, but I guess I've been spoiled to not want to have to shower and dress just to get coffee in the morning. Room service would deliver a 1/2 pot (enough for 2-1/2 cups) for $5, plus 18% gratuity, plus a $4 service charge. Uh.... yeah.

The room was mostly clean, with dust having built up in the corners, and a thick collection of dust on the ceiling fan in the bathroom.

In the bathroom, the towels were very rough and scratchy, as if the hotel needed to stock up on fabric softener. There was no wastebasket in the bathroom itself, although the very pretty cloth laundry basket for towels was a nice touch under the sink. The older style telephone in the bathroom was placed in such an odd location, it elicited a chuckle. I am including a photo of that corner of the room, which became a bit crowded with cords dangling into the sink. (Note the nearby old light switch and heat lamp setting, which haven't been replaced for generations.)

On the plus side, the bedding was fluffy and luxuriant, with feather pillows and comforters. There was a brown stain on my comforter, which was far enough away from my face that I was able to overlook it.

Overall, I can't say that I would stay here again - but it wasn't my worst experience either. I can deal with "old" as long as it is done intentionally, is clean, and comes with warm hospitality. I can't say that was entirely the case here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed account of your stay. Upon reading this our team has set to work to begin improvements on areas mentioned. We strive to offer a superior product and will work until all of our guests feel this way. I invite you to contact myself or the management team to discuss this stay further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I stayed here for a business visit to hartford! so beautiful and nice than all the chain hotels.I chose it as i wanted something different than the regular chain hotel.The people are great and very helpful.the drive from airport to the hotel is one u will fall in love with.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
We are delighted that you could stay with us and experience our hospitality. We look forward to your next stay in the Farmington River Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Great old fashioned New England get away. Kind an curteous staff, excellent accomodations...like old fashioned, slow paced hotels of the past. Love it. Stay there every time we are in the Avon Valley.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments on the stay. We are glad that you enjoy our true New England style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Christmas holiday while visiting with my family in Simsbuy. The hotel looks slightly dubious from the outside, but the rooms are VERY clean and comfortable. The beds are lovely with feather mattresses - very snuggly on a cold winter's night. Bath rooms are clean and bright with nice toiletries. coffeemaker in the room, but all-day coffee in the lobby is better!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHOC-GM, General Manager at Avon Old Farms Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you join us on your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

This was our second stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel. Lovely canopy draped bed. Bed and pillows were extremely comfortable and the sheets were high quality(very soft). Would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Old Farms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Old Farms Hotel

Address: 279 Avon Mountain Road, Avon, CT 06001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avon Old Farms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avon Old Farms Hotel - a luxury hotel in the suburbs of Greater Hartford, CT in the picturesque Farmington River Valley. In fact, Yankee Magazine has rated us a "Best of the Best" lodging property. The Avon Old Farms Hotel has also received a Mobil Three-Star Award and AAA Three Diamond Award.Our hotel began as a 24-unit motel in 1955 and through two expansions has grown into a 160-room luxury hotel in Avon, Connecticut resting on 20 acres of manicured landscape with all of the services and amenities desired by the modern corporate and leisure guest. As a guest of the Avon Old Farms Hotel, you can expect a distinctive ambiance representing luxury and charm including fine furnishings, down featherbeds, four-poster beds, antiques, and original watercolor paintings of the historic area in which we reside. Our classic approach to service means that guests will be pampered and appreciate our innovative attention to detail and willingness to accommodate. Additionally, our unique facilities - including the handsome, state-of-the-art conference facilities, stunning banquet space, and lush outdoor garden areas - make us a leading choice for meetings, corporate events, weddings, and social affairs in the Greater Hartford area.Guests of the Avon Old Farms Hotel enjoy the award-winning and stunning Seasons Restaurant and Tap Room serving inspired innovative American cuisine.We look forward to welcoming you to our luxurious country hotel in Avon, Connecticut just 10 minutes from downtown Hartford! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Avon Old Farms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Ct Hotel Avon Old Farms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Old Farms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.