We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near the Denver airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree Denver Aurora

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree Denver Aurora to your Saves list
DoubleTree Denver Aurora
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13696 E Iliff Place, Aurora, CO 80014-1319   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast and Internet
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
Lubbock, TX
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best hotel near the Denver airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

This is a great place to stay.
Fabulous bed linens, comfy pillows, cushy mattress pad.
All of the cable channels you could possibly want.
For me, they have to have CNN, MSNBC, PBS.
Free bottles of water and chocolate chip cookies on check in.
Fabulous huge bathroom with an array on toiletries.

Big, huge, plush towels.

Room service, too!

Loved it!

  • Liked — The amenities
  • Disliked — Decor in lobby a little too modern
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    152
    77
    49
    38
See reviews for
118
86
42
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We booked two rooms at the Doubletree this summer to attend a sporting event. Our rate was great, the room was nice, the pool and hot tub were very nice. Location was very convenient to get around that part of the city. The only negative was that we ended up with part of our group in a handicap-accessible room. It was quite convenient to the pool, but the bathroom light stayed on all the time and the bathroom wasn't quite as nice as the other rooms. Other than that, a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

My co-worker and I had to stay here because of a meeting. I had to call the hotel directly to book the room because of a discount. When we checked in we discovered they originally had us in a room with 2 double beds, but took the liberty of changing to 1 king because they were full and need the 2 bed rooms for bigger parties. I had to complain for several minutes to get them to change us to an appropriate room.

The room was spacious, but the carpet was very stained. The bathroom was tiny, and had no exhaust fan (not good when you are trying to get dressed in the steam from your shower!). The beds were super comfortable and had plenty of pillows.

We ate breakfast at the restaurant 2 mornings. The service was beyond SLOW! They had a very limited buffet which seemed overpriced for the selection of food.

The location wasn't bad as long as you have a car.

  • Liked — The beds!
  • Disliked — The service!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

We stayed here for two nights in April. Staff was most helpful. Room was large and comfortable. Breakfast buffet was good but would be tiresome after 3-4 days.

Downsides: bathrooms are tiny, probably no more than 50 square feet. Housekeeping a little sloppy (no Kleenex, no shampoo, etc.) Wake-up call did not come (that's one of my most important needs). Everything else was fine, and of course, always the chocolate chip cookies!

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights with my son. I will start with the positives: the rate I got was good, front desk was fairly helpful and friendly, room was clean, the manager was very friendly.

Now for the negatives: Location was horrible, not much of anything around here, neighborhood is sketchy. Their shuttle drivers at times were extremely rude and unreliable. Breakfast buffet was same thing every day and way overpriced. Bar tender was more interested in chatting with the locals than serving the customers she didn't know. Whole property felt old and outdated.

I would look elsewhere unless you get a great deal here.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

Stayed at this hotel on March 7th for 3 nights. Check-in was fast and easy; staff people at the front desk were friendly. The newly renovated rooms were clean with handsome furnishings. (although the walls were thin and the doors seemed almost hollow). Could check emails and print boarding passes in the business center in the lobby. If you choose this hotel, however, rent a car as there isn't much to do in Aurora (Car rentals are at the airport or you could wait until you got to the hotel and Enterprise car rental, which is an exit from the hotel, will pick you up). The location of the hotel allows easy access to the road that will take you into Denver, which was about 30 minutes away. The Doubletree itself wasn't within walking distance to much of interest. You could walk to a Subway sandwich shop, a small family-type restaurant and a nail salon which was next to the hotel. Across the busy road was a good Chinese food restaurant. Down the road was an Applebees and Ruby Tuesdays. The hotel says that it will transport within a 5-mile radius of the hotel. Keep in mind that this is upon availability. The hotel shuttle's priority is to the airport, so depending on the number of runs, you could conceivably wait most of the day for a shuttle to take you within the 5 miles. (When I finally scored a shuttle on my free day, it was nearly 5pm). The shuttle driver, Arnold, was was then able to drop me off at the mall which was about 1 mile away. The mall was large and housed a Target, Sears, Macy's, Dillards, etc. I would definitely stay here again but would rent a car to get around.

  • Liked — renovated rooms
  • Disliked — housekeeping didn't replace towels in bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

During 2000 - 2004 I stayed at this property -- however, not by choice but based on corporate travel policies. The hotel WAS worn and dated and really no big thrill.

However, I had attended a meeting held here recently and they've spruced things up and did a revamp which caught my eye so thought I'd stay again.

VERY pleased!. I stayed March 2nd for just one night. The staff for checkin and breakfast were very pleasant. The 5th floor room was spacious with modern furniture, great bedding and bath equipment.

To be honest -- I was blown away how much the place has improved since the early 2000's. Given my impressions I would still not say it's in the 4* or higher range by any stroke, but it's a very good 3* hotel with nice features and great prices.

When in Denver I usually stay at the JW marriott cherry creek which has a great location but stiff prices for just about everything. This doubletree was a non-descript location as it's not really walkable to much of anything outside a gas station. It is nicely located adjacent to the 225/Iliff freeway exit so great for that aspect.

However if you are in town for a couple nights, staying in the Aurora or Tech Center area and focused on business and want an affordable location with great interiours . .. I'd recommend this without a doubt.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree Denver Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Denver Aurora

Address: 13696 E Iliff Place, Aurora, CO 80014-1319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Denver Aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Suburban Hotel in glass-&-brick building with 6-story Atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree Denver Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Denver Aurora Hotel Aurora
Doubletree Hotel Denver Southeast
Doubletree Hotel Aurora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree Denver Aurora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.