We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carry out of town guests there.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ajuua

Ajuua
14150 E Iliff Ave, Aurora, CO 80014
720-747-0764
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #99 of 592 Restaurants in Aurora
Restaurant details
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Carry out of town guests there.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Having lived in Texas many years & eaten at many, many Mexican Restaurants from Rock Port to Texarkana, I have found this is the place, in my opinion, for great Mexican food in & around Denver that comes up to par with dining experiences in lower U.S. Maybe a little slow at times, but worth the wait & food is well prepared. They also have a restaurant off Smoky Hill & toll road, but the one on Iliff is the place to go. Wife loves the coupons.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Yummy, and consistant, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have been to this restaurant many times and have never had a bad meal or experience. This is not your typical Mexican food menu, and there are some very interesting dinners. For our most recent trip, I had the CHIMICHANGA MARINA and my husband had VEGGIE FAJITAS. Both were excellent, and we cleaned our plates. The prices are very reasonable. I enjoy looking at the interesting decorations, too.

The most incredible thing happened 2 days later. My husband realized he had left his credit card there; I called and sure enough, they had it. When he went to get it, there were probably a dozen other cards stored safely. Bravo to the honest folks there, especially Carlos, our waiter!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Above Average Mexican Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

My wife loves this place, especially when she has a coupon. It is consistantly good, not too expensive and Roberto is one of the friendliest waiters we have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Regular Mexican food. Slow service for a Saturday night. Good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Six of us met for dinner and we had a wonderful time. That was due to our company, not the atmosphere or service at the restaurant. The food took a very long time to arrive once ordered. Everything was correct and decent. My fajitas were not something I would order again, but were pretty good. No one complained, or raved, about their dishes. Other than the food time, the service was good. Nothing really stood out, either good or bad. People have raved about other locations of the same restaurant. Maybe the chain has lost it's early appeal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Actually quite surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was a little wary of trying a place without any reviews, but I really wanted some Mexican food and this was close to the hotel I was at. The parking lot was pretty full, a good sign. The decor and style was cool, and it made quite a nice ambiance. The menu was pretty diverse, and not the usual 'Americanized-Mexican' food choice (where a #2 combo is the same at every Mexican place). They had a pretty decent selection of vegetarian choices as well as some off-beat combos and a spot for a build your own overstuffed burrito. When I judge a Mexican place, I usually base my opinion on the quality of the chips, the salsa, the fajita fillings, and the guacamole. The chips here were decent, nothing way above average but the salsa was decent. The vegetarian fajitas were great. The veggies included zucchini, mushrooms, peppers, carrots, and even baby corn. It was very well seasoned and not too spicy. The guacamole was above average, just the right amount of chunkiness. What really blew me away was the lime-cilantro rice. That was easily one of the best rice dishes I have had in some time. If I wasn't stuffed, I would have gotten another side order of the rice. The wait staff was friendly and prompt on refills, and the prices pretty reasonable. All in all, a pretty good dining experience and worth another trip to try one of the burritos next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ajuua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ajuua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.