We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helga's is a rare and wonderful spot in Aurora” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helga's German Restaurant

Helga's German Restaurant
14197 E Exposition Ave, Aurora, CO 80012
(303) 344-5488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Helga's German Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 592 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: German, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E. Exposition and S. Abilene St.
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Helga's is a rare and wonderful spot in Aurora”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have been going to Helga's for years. I am always pleased with the food. Love the apple brandy the owner makes. Some of the best stuff I have ever had. Not of the food is stellar but is it all very good and solid. When we want German this is where we go. The German market also has some wonderful take home goodies that we love. They keep my favorite mustard right from the home land.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    37
    15
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My friend and I have been going to Helga's for years. Since it was in the old location near 6th and Peoria. We've always enjoyed the fresh hot food. Our favorite is the chicken schnitzel with the pan fried potatoes and red cabbage. Delicious. The homemade cheesecake is quite good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The 1-1/2 hour wait on a Saturday night attests to the quality of this German restaurant. While we would not normally wait this long for ANY restaurant, I'm glad we hung in there. The food was delicious. Well prepared and served nice and warm. They have an extensive menu, and you will have a hard time making a decision on what to have.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“German Food in Aurora, CO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We've been visiting Helga's once or twice or year for several years and always enjoy consistently good food here. We especially like the schnitzel, red cabbage and beer selection. The service can be a bit on the slow side at times, so come prepared to spend a relaxing meal. There's a deli and selection of European gifts in the shop at the front of the restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

It has been many years since I bit into anything approaching authentic German food. The jagarshnitzel was ok but over cooked and a little tough. The spazztle was great though, as was the beer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helga's German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Helga's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helga's German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.