We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good German Food, alittle pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Helga's German Restaurant

Helga's German Restaurant
14197 E Exposition Ave, Aurora, CO 80012
(303) 344-5488
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Helga's German Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 599 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: German, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: E. Exposition and S. Abilene St.
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good German Food, alittle pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Nice selection of traditional German food. Generous portions.My companion & I are both of German decent and know good German food. This was good, but a little light on the flavor. House dressing wasn't anything great, as was the black forest cake. The special wasn't offered, we had to ask after seeing it in the menu. Half sized portions are offered for some dishes. Prices seemed a bit high, but the food was good. We would likely return, its had to find good German food, close is good enough sometimes.Its worth a visit, but curb your expectations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    41
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A bit of Germany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have no decent German food in AZ, so this was what we needed. On several visits we had schnitzel, spaztle (several variations), several kinds of sausages (great mustard), and sauerbraten. The cherry strudel was filled with cherries enough for sharing. Saw no issues with cleanliness or décor. A well stocked deli attached. Was a bit disappointed in that they did not have all the german beers on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Expensive and only OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We made a return trip to Helga's hoping for some yummy German food. Unfortunatley, it was mediocre at best and cost us about $100 (for a family of four). The schnitzle was good but not great. May have been better if they didn't smother everything including the spazlte with a very salty brown gravy. Everything thing seemed a bit like 'german fast food'. The red cabbage was ok, a little grainy. The pretzle however was terrific. Service was just ok, no one seems to speak german there anymore...maybe part of the problem here. Unfortunatly will not be back. Would rather spend our $100 at Cafe Berlin downtown. Much more authentic and worth the money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expensive, needs a good cleaning!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The food was ok, I have had better schnitzel. The service was fine, the place needs a good cleaning and could use a coat of paint. Very expensive! Will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“German cuisine mainstay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Consistently doing the same thing for many years now. As close to "original" German food as you will find in the Denver area. Clean and rarely crowded with a loyal customer base. Service may seem to some as a bit slow; but, we prefer to think of it as unhurried.
Seating is cafe or biergarten style. Older kids seem to love this place as much as seniors. Menu offers a fairly large selection at reasonable prices. Portions are always large and staff is competent and attentive. Very good selection of beers.
Having sampled most of standard items, we usually opt for specials and are never disappointed. Do you suppose it keeps the kitchen inspired? This time it was the Veal Geschnetzeltes - a marvelous taste experience.
Plan on stopping by the deli/German goods store. The selection is great and, considering the import cost, reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helga's German Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Helga's German Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helga's German Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.