We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only the view was nice.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 S. Parker Rd., Aurora, CO 80014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Only the view was nice.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Between the construction and a convention going on, there was hardly any parking. No handicapped parking. All 5 handicapped spaces were always taken. Front desk people were rude. The convention people, who most were not even staying at the hotel, were very rude. They would run into you, knock you down. Their kids took over the pool, even though they were not staying there. Room was nothing special. Tub was full of hair from previous person. The remote for the sleep number bed, was held together with duct tape. The restaurant was just as bad. I had iced tea to drink. Asked for more tea, and that is what I got. Tea, no ice. So asked for ice. She carried in her hands, a chunk of ice, and put it in my glass. I could not wait to get out of that hotel. The only reason I gave the sleep quality 3 points, is that after being knocked down by a convention person, I took some paid meds and slept well. Oh and I should mention check out time is noon. But at 8AM housekeeping knocked, and before I could respond, they let theirselves in to clean the room.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay with us. I do apologize for any unprofessionalism that may have been shown to you by our staff and by other guests at the hotel. This is definitely not the type of stay we want you to have and I would like to assure you that this will be addressed accordingly.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you on your next visit.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    133
    109
    92
    54
See reviews for
108
68
41
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

When we arrived there was no place to park due to construction. When we booked no one said a word about construction or lack of parking, took us over 30 min to park. When we finally checked in air-conditioning in our room was broken and the room was not very clean. We went to the desk to tell them and were treated like they didn't know what our problem was. Finally another lady gave us a room change. That room was nicer but the "adjustable bed" did not work at all and there was no toilet paper. That night we went to eat in the restaurant. One person came by and plopped water down then walked away. We sat there over 20 min. and asked repeatedly if someone could take our order. We were completely ignored when we spoke they kept on walking and did not even acknowledge us. I went to the front desk and told them what happened. They just stared at me and said "wow". Unbelievable! We had to leave the hotel and find a restaurant, then another 45 minutes to find a parking space when we returned. The next morning we again went to the restaurant to have breakfast. We did not have silverware and nothing to drink. Finally after a very long time waiting for our waitress and I asked 4 people for silverware and water the hostess who sat us got them for us. Our waitress came by right after that and did not even say a word to us just flopped down the bill and walked away. When we checked out I told the Manager Cathy what a horrible experience we had and how unhappy we were. She stood there with a blank expression while I told her about our time there, then told me that they were busy but that it shouldn't have effected us. That was it all she said. Made no effort to apologize, compensate us, nothing. Obviously they don't care about their customers and they make that clear over and over. I hope they go out of business. I know I will tell everyone I know to stay as far away as possible!

Room Tip: If you want to pick a good room do it in another hotel NOT this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for providing this valuable feedback so that we can address these areas with our staff. There is no reason, nor is it acceptable, to have a poorly run restaurant. We apologize tremendously for the experiences you encountered during your stay and we hope you will provide us with the opportunity to rectify these issues so that we can have you back and provide you with the superior service deserved!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've stayed here several times attending a bi-annual conference. Every time the rooms are clean, the staff helpful and the atmosphere welcoming. This time I have to knock off a star for the renovations in progress. I can't wait to see the place all done.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the red lion hotel in July. I noticed that the hotel was formerly a radison, and before that a holiday inn. I have stayed at this hotel in 3 life times and each time it has gotten worse. Now as an expert traveler I rarely give poor reviews but this time it was one of the worst places I've stayed. I am somewhat loyal as it was an IHG brand a long time ago but also there are softball tourneys and events I attemd every year. This is the first time I stayed at this property since it became a red lion hotel.

To sum up my experience the stay wasn't great my room had bugs that were not cleaned up and the bed had bed bugs which meant the bed was going to be unsleepable.

I told the staff of the problem and they wouldn't move me to a new room. It was too late to ask for my money back as I had been checked in for a few hours so I ended up leaving the hotel

Overall not an ideal stay and staff wasn't much help. I would advise to double check everything prior to staying at the red lion hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RL_Customer_Care, Corporate Customer Care Department at Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness in your guest room and that our staff was not able to better accommodate you. Please be assured that these issues will be addressed accordingly with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby Ks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I would hope other Red Lion hotels are not as bad as the Aurora Red Lion was. I have never stayed where the staff was so put out for simple request. The restaurant was a good example. I asked for change and received a dollar short of the exact change . She was really offended that I was only tipping a dollar. The meal was part of our package and last time I checked tips are based on level of service. Room was not cleaned properly, key holder folder was on desk from last guest and bathroom floor had hair from last guest.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathB798, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
The experience you had with our team is extremely disappointing. We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced with your service in our restaurant and room quality will be looked into and addressed accordingly. We do hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I really wanted to like Red Lion and give it a decent review but I just can't. I do not care about the construction in the hotel because I barely noticed. What I just absolutely could not get part were the bugs in my room, more specifically, in my bed.

I arrived wayyy late (like after midnight; why do Denver airport shuttles only run on the hour? They could at least inform customers during booking), and even after arriving so late there was a long (slow) line to check in...with more than one employee working!

Finally checked into the room after walking down the smelly hallway and went into my room. Nothing spectacular but I wasn't expecting that anyway. I shower (I have this thing about showering after a flight, especially before bed) and halfway through the night I itched like crazy. I let it go.

Next day, same thing. I specifically ask housekeeping to change my sheets, she said she would. Long story short, my sheets were never changed and I found a couple little bugs in my bed. They weren't bed bugs, but whatever they were, no one seemed to be too concerned about it.

Location isn't that great for reasons others have mentioned and yes there is construction. You cross the point of no return with me though when bugs are in the room and there is a lack of concern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathB798, Manager at Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
The experience you had with our hotel is extremely disappointing. We review every guest comment and address each of them with our staff and team leads. Our goal is to provide a comfortable stay to every guest and clearly we failed to do that during your stay. Please be assured that the issues you experienced is out of the norm and will be looked into and addressed accordingly. Please contact me directly at heath.balluch@redliondenverse.com as I would like to look into your concerns with more detail. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for the Solheim Cup in Parker, CO. Hotel is undergoing renovation (but we witnessed little if any activity while we were there), and that means the lobby is messed up and the dining room/bar isn't too cozy, but all the basics were fine. Staff was extremely helpful and met our needs when we had to call on them. Location is an issue due to the world's worst highway interchange that causes you to merge across several lanes of traffic coming from Parker. Construction on the interstate also made things difficult, but in Denver the most popular sign is, "Fines Double in Construction Zone." One of the attractions to staying here was that they had airport transportation and an Enterprise rental location in the hotel. This made getting a rental car easier and cheaper than at the airport. Only drawback was a limited selection of vehicles. All in all, this a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast

Address: 3200 S. Parker Rd., Aurora, CO 80014
Location: United States > Colorado > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast 3*
Number of rooms: 478
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the southeast Denver metro region and adjacent to beautiful Cherry Creek State Park, the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast offers an array of business and leisure amenities that make it the perfect home base for visiting the Denver area.Our 478 spacious guest rooms including 29 suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush Sealy pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Many rooms at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast also feature scenic views of Denver and the Rocky Mountains.When it's time to relax, guests at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, enjoy a newly updated fitness center and seasonal outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. If you are visiting on business, the hotel offers a full service business center right off the Lower Lobby. Free wi-fi access is also available throughout the hotel. Other conveniences at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast include free shuttle service to Denver International Airport, on-site car rental and gift shop.We're now serving Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet which includes various juices, breakfast breads, pancakes, bagels, assorted cereals, yogurt, a signature egg dish, bacon, sausage and breakfast potatoes. Remember kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Aurora
Red Lion Hotel Aurora
Aurora Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.