We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3200 S. Parker Rd., Aurora, CO 80014   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #18 of 50 hotels in Aurora
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Good location - only a few blocks from neighborhood restaurants and next to the highway. But. - Service was not this place's strength. Housekeeping was sub-par. Elevators not working. Staff at the desk preoccupied and just civil - certainly not friendly.

I'll stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Not very clean....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    104
    89
    76
    46
See reviews for
85
54
33
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eads, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

this is much better than the red lion at stapleton, but still a lot of things wrong w/ this place.
1st the good- beds are comfy, rooms have had a lot of cosmetic updates, the elevators are fast, and the rooms are clean.

now the bad- the supposed "high speed" internet is so slow that it's unusable. I nicely brought it to the staff's attention, but I thnk that it got even slower after that. Internet in the main area requires you to swipe a credit card and is only free for 15 min. I can't speak for the speed, since I refused to do that. Some of the desk staff is extremely rude and act like they can't stand to deal w/ people. Let me give you a clue, be nice to people, it will make your day better too. While we were there, an elevator door needed painting. Instead of doing it right w/ scraping & sanding, they just slapped more paint on top of the old peeling paint. If this is how they fix the visible things, how do they fix the things we can't see? The place is very busy, esp. considering the bad reviews it gets. This area, though near cherry creek is a bit sketchy.

All in all, I would say that this isn't the worst place you could stay, but it's not great either

tips: with in walking distance to king soopers. make sure you drive over the Dam Road, it's a beautiful but short drive that takes you right into the heart of cherry creak.

Room Tip: use priceline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, FL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We were on a tight budget and this hotel was a good value and convenient for us since it had free airport shuttle and it is an 8 minute walk to the rail station. The auto rentals are usually not that bad in Denver but they had hiked up to over $100 per day base price so we decided to take advantage of the public transportation available. You have to cross a busy road but there is a traffic and walk light. The round trip rail tickets from Nine Mile station were $8 pp and it took about a half hour to get to downtown (16th st) on the H line.
We skipped the $10 breakfast buffet at the hotel and opted to stop by Sooper's grocery store next door and grab something on the way to the rail station to bring with us on the train.
The hotel itself was decent enough and the room was nice size and clean.
The only thing that would have made this hotel better is a mini fridge so we didn't have to keep going to the store.
The one night we got home after dark, we called the hotel when we were almost to Nine Mile station and they sent their shuttle driver to pick us up.
The half hour trip from the airport and the half hour trip downtown may have been a little long but was worth the savings of money and stress.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel in the past because it is in the area of friends and relatives. But this time we were awakened in the middle of the night, around 5 a.m., with a buzzer and a very loud voice over loud-speaker that we were to leave our rooms immediately, leave valuables behind, and not to use the elevator. My daughter and I descended with difficulty the narrow back stairs where we bumped into many guests fumbling around with shoes, nightclothes etc. and all of us frightened and confused. We were on the 12th floor, so we had a ways to go. Upon reaching the street level members of the staff came out saying that it had been a false alarm. Having nearly had a heart attack from the shock and no apologies from the staff of any kind, we will of course not be back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is old, dark and depressing. Time for renovation. Walls are thin. There is nothing within walking distance of the hotel. Simply put...don't stay here if you have other options.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The room was nice, no complaints. The complaint came after I came home and realized that they charged my card over 200$ when I paid for my stay through Orbitz. It was ridiculous. I bounced checks and everything. They charged me $90 daily. They were just holding teh funds and I was told the holds would be released in a few days. Unfortunatly, when my checks are bouncing and I can't keep up with the random automatic holds they were putting on a few days was way too long. I called and finally was able to speak to someone who acted like they were the ones inconvienced. unreal!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

Stayed for a week - not so good experience. Rooms are very outdated - probably not renovated since opening, and everything looks so... 60ties... Beds are way too soft for me, but that is of course personal preference. Room service does not answers the phone. Bathroom is clean but you can see that nothing was serviced here for a years... I even got locked in bathroom for a hour or so since door lock broke. Security guy who came to see what is the problem tried to open the door kicking the door with his foot... of course, no one changed the door lock that stayed broken for good. Other than that - very far away from Denver, and to find a taxi... good luck.

Only good thing is that it is very close to High Mile train station (takes 30 - 40mins to downtown).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast

Address: 3200 S. Parker Rd., Aurora, CO 80014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aurora
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 50 hotels in Aurora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the southeast Denver metro region and adjacent to beautiful Cherry Creek State Park, the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast offers an array of business and leisure amenities that make it the perfect home base for visiting the Denver area.Our 478 spacious guest rooms including 29 suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel such as Red Lion's plush Sealy pillowtop beds, amenities featuring Eco Fresh Environmentally Responsible Products (ERP), free wi-fi, room service, hairdryers and same day laundry and valet service. Many rooms at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast also feature scenic views of Denver and the Rocky Mountains.When it's time to relax, guests at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, enjoy a newly updated fitness center and seasonal outdoor heated pool and whirlpool. If you are visiting on business, the hotel offers a full service business center right off the Lower Lobby. Free wi-fi access is also available throughout the hotel. Other conveniences at the Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast include free shuttle service to Denver International Airport, on-site car rental and gift shop.We're now serving Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet which includes various juices, breakfast breads, pancakes, bagels, assorted cereals, yogurt, a signature egg dish, bacon, sausage and breakfast potatoes. Remember kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Loews Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Aurora
Red Lion Hotel Aurora
Aurora Red Lion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Denver Southeast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.