We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Onion

The Red Onion
420 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
+1 970-925-9955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 153 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hamburgers, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Original building and bar from 1892 in the heart of Aspen on the mall.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Value and Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I ate here twice. Once outside for lunch and then inside for supper.

My wife had a salad. For lunch I had the chicken wings with the ginger-lime BBQ sauce and a glass of beer. I loved the wings.

For supper we shared the Panko Crusted Pork Schnitzel with a side of hash and a glass of red wine. The portion was plentiful and tasty.

The place has a decent ambiance on the inside and out. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    86
    29
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kathmandu, Nepal
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only good for a drink and people watching food is bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had tried this place before and were not impressed with burgers but were in a pinch and decided to give it another try. The cheesesteak was easily the worst I have ever had. For the price..yes even in Aspen...I was hoping for something that tasted of Ribeye. It tasted worse that processed steak product in the freezer section of the grocery store...much worse. The potato hash was more boring than frozen hash browns. Location is good for people watching but we will not go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Bloody Mary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were walking through Aspen, browsing the city. We stopped at this cute outdoor (and indoor) cafe. We ordered Bloody Mary's and had some great spicy French fries and sliders to go with the cocktails. Great people watching! Loved it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stopped by late at night for a few drinks and some appetizers and really liked this place. We came back a few days later for dinner and we enjoyed the food and location.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Moderately priced menu for Aspen. Located on the pedestrian mall in the center of town, with daily specials and apply hour adult beverages.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Onion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.