We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignored us !” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Onion

The Red Onion
420 E Cooper Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
+1 970-925-9955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 155 Restaurants in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Original building and bar from 1892 in the heart of Aspen on the mall.
Teesside
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ignored us !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a drink and to possibly eat ( depending on the menu) was sat by a very polite girl who was controlling the entrance area , she poured us water and gave us menus . Said our server would bd there soon. Then we watched as others came in and got served ( and food!) for 20 min while being ignored. The waiters even looked at us several times !
Can't comment on how good or bad the drinks or food are as we never were given the opportunity to try ! Wouldn't bother even going in, very rude !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    90
    33
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Food .....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Food was a 4, Service was a 2, Decor was a 5, Music was a 2. Staff was very friendly but at least our waitress needed some guidance about taking care of her tables. Very odd that she was eating at the bar and ignored us after bringing our food. Her other patrons had the same experience. Three men left at their tables clicking their credit cards on end waiting for their tickets is not a good sign. Wish we had sat outside as the music was loud and obnoxious inside. The inside is also small and the combination of its small size, loud bad music and poor music did not result in an experience that we'll repeat. Surely this was just an off night as this place has been here a long time and appears to have a lot of potential. The food was good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Red Onion Rocks in Aspen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I had the best, ever, sandwich. Sliced steak, peppers, onions, and mushrooms. Topped with melted white cheese. (Sorry I don't remember the name of the cheese) Sweet potato fries were awesome.
This is one of the oldest establishments in the shopping area of Aspen. I would drive a long way to have this one again!
While there, be sure to read about the history of old building on the back of the menu. We ate outside so we could "people" watch, but then had to go inside just to look at the restored antique bar.
Everything was reasonably priced for pub fare. I will return!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening drinks with friends.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Good food, friendly staff, and evenings on the summer patio feel
slow and easy. A good spot to meet friends and watch the townsfolk and tourists walk by. Great old bar inside too

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food and a good vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Red Onion's front patio entices you to sit down, relax and enjoy some good food while in Aspen. We ate both outside as well as inside. The food is excellent pub food, and the service is prompt and friendly. (We enjoyed the Indie Rock music playing in the background as well!) It made me smile to be greeted and served by such young greeters and wait staff, each of whom was friendly and accommodating. You won't be disappointed with your time spent at The Red Onion. What an excellent place to relax and "people watch" as well! Loved it here!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Onion also viewed

 

Been to The Red Onion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Onion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.