We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic in Aspen” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Aspen Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   311 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Indianapolis IN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic in Aspen”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

We are a family of four and stayed one night in July due to the good reviews on tripadvisor. Some of the reviews were accurate--some not so good. This hotel claims it is boutique like-somewhat true---white duvet comforters, bathrobes. Some say it is a "good value" for Aspen--at $276 a night, I would have expected a little more. Let me elaborate--the room we stayed in smelled musty, and the carpet was very worn, and dated. To make matters worse, when we got ready for bed, I pulled the covers back to find the previous guests hairs all over the bed. Obviously this is a housekeeping issue. I went to tell the night mananger, and he had to "find me some new sheets". I then was given the sheets-happy to change them myself. This is unacceptable and it was never addressed again with any apology. Furthermore, our "balcony view" room had indoor/outdoor disgusting carpet and had a rickety board dividing our balcony and our neighbors--the view was a parking lot. The door leading to the balcony was bearly functioning--since it came off its track. There are some obvious maintenance issues at this hotel that need to be addressed. On a more positive note, the breakfast was nice and they served starbucks coffee. There was also a free computer to use in the lobby. Additionally, our children enjoyed the swimming pool and the complimentary movies. I am not so sure we will be staying here again.

  • Liked — starbucks coffee
  • Disliked — needs updating--cleaning
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
29
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

This hotel represents excellent value for money. Very good rooms, the best are on the top floor facing Aspen and if you are fussy it's best to specify this.
There's a very good apres-ski every day at 4.30, a hot tub (access via the car park but this adds to the fun) and close to bus stops to all the skiing areas. It's also an easy 10 - 15 min stroll into Aspen which is a great town and, providing you are sensible, not too expensive.
Good but basic breakfasts also.

Aspen is also a great base for skiing the 4 mountains close by.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — Our room was very close to Reception( but this did not create any problems)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Location: 1)can catch ski shuttle bus - one block away 2)can walk to town
Food: good breakfast & nice apres ski w/fresh fruit at front desk
Room: very spacious/ beds were okay, could be better /shower had intermittent hot & cold water/heat came on/off all night but you get used to it
Atmosphere: garden level did mean there was more noise, but again, not too bad/video library/free wi-fi in room/ free internet station/nice hot tub /nice staff
Overall- two thumbs up

  • Liked — value for the dollar
  • Disliked — water temp fluctuation
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2007

For the price of this hotel you can't beat it in Aspen. It is located within 4 blocks of the downtown area. All restaurants, bars, shopping are within walking distance. If you are a skier the free shuttle to Aspen Mountain, Highlands, Snowmass are within 1 block. We have a dog - if you have a pet this is a great find. You can leave your pet in the room while you ski. The hotel has a very cozy feel with all the rooms opening into the center atrium with a fireplace and lounge area. With our next trip to Aspen I will always look to the Aspen Lodge for availability!!!!

  • Liked — Location, cozy feeling
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

I spent one night in August 2007 at this small hotel, which has a '60s feel to it and probably was built then so is a bit dated. I had a garden (basement) room with a noisy air conditioner. Now that I see that pets can stay there I suspect that is why I was feeling allergic through the night... The room wasn't uncomfortable but it hasn't been updated in awhile if ever. The complimentary breakfast was basic bagels, cereal, etc. You're not paying Little Nell or Jerome prices so if you're on a "budget" (if that's possible in Aspen) then this is an OK place to stay but expect more of a Motel 6 experience. For a better Aspen experience, spend a lot more elsewhere.

  • Liked — Decent price for Aspen
  • Disliked — Dated facility
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed at the Aspen Mountain Lodge because it was an affordable hotel that allows pets. My daughter's German Pointer was traveling with us. There were at least 12 dogs and two cats there the day we were there. There was one little poodle yapping and the desk clerk got him out of the room (he was left unattended, which is okay as long as they have a number to reach you at) and tied him up to the front desk where he could see people and he was much better.

We had a garden room (meaning basement type room) and it was very nice, clean and well appointed. Air conditioner wasn't great, but we were only there for one night.

You can't hardly beat the price for the location. We walked to town for dinner and shopping and did find a couple of places where we could have the dog with us on the outdoor patio. Meals in Aspen are very high, $14 for a personal pizza and $4 hotdogs were the low priced meals we had.

If in Aspen, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again, even if I didn't have a dog with me.

  • Liked — Location and coziness
  • Disliked — Parking lot
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2007

Aspen is an expensive town and this hotel for the location, treatment and price it’s the best choice. All rooms are clean and are centered around a huge fireplace and breakfast area in a very atypical way. In some how the rooms need a restyling but they are more than acceptable. Breakfast is complimentary and rich. If you can, try to book it.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Mountain Lodge

Address: 311 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspen Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Mountain Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.