We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have been twice would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Aspen Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   311 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Aspen B&B and Inns
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Have been twice would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from our second year at the Lodge staying for 12 nights. The lodge is clean, warm and staff very friendly. We have stayed in more expensive accommodation around the US and didn't get any more than we got here. If ever returning to Aspen again this is where we would stay.
The hotel is animal friendly but there was no signs of any being in the room before us. Dogs are not allowed in the eating area while you are having breakfast/après ski.
The hotel is in a short walking distance to the bus stops for all 4 mountains, shops and restraunts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    34
    14
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
29
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked through Expedia and thought we were getting a good deal in peak season- however we got less than expected for what we paid for. While the staff is friendly, the hotel is old and their electric, water and housekeeping service need a major renovation. Our hot water was just that -either scalding or Luke warm- they said they would fix it - but it was still broken "after" . Mostly, the walls are paper thin.. No joke we could hear EVERYTHING - woke us up at all hours of the night. The hotel refused to move us - saying we paid for this room and that's what they had to offer us- otherwise we could leave without a refund of our week. I found this rude and inconsiderate especially because we were on the first floor next to the breakfast area! Also- questionably clean. The housekeeping staff made our bed and changed our towels each day.... But I'm pretty sure that was the extent of it, I only noticed because we had plates and glasses that they didn't take. I'm not a hotel snob- maybe this place is okay if you are in college or have young kids, otherwise I wouldn't recommend staying here

Room Tip: Don't g on first floor!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

This is a clean and comfortable hotel with free breakfast a few blocks from downtown Aspen. What makes this hotel great is the fact that it is pet friendly! It is so nice to find a place to stay with our dog. We came to Aspen to hike and explore and wanted our dog to come along. We left him in his crate in the room at night while we went to dinner. It was a very convenient location, an easy walk to restaurants downtown. Only a few rooms are pet friendly so if that doesnt appeal to you, it wont negatively affect your stay. The room was clean and we had a nice view from our balcony. The breakfast was good. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We stayed only one night here. From the outside, the hotel is somewhat unassuming but once inside, we found it very nice. The registration lady was very pleasant and VERY helpful--suggested places to see and where to eat. We requested a standard room but she upgraded us (don't know why) to a suite with a balcony. The room had every ammenity you could need. It was very clean and maintained well. We were one of the last to have breakfast in the morning but there was still plenty to eat and the selection was fine. The backdrop to the breakfast area was a HUGE multistory cobblestone fireplace. Very impressive and added lots of atmostphere. Our only caution would be that this hotel did not seem to be handicap accessible. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night with our dog, everyone was as friendly as can be. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was very comfortable. A great location in Aspen close to all the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I liked this place. Front desk staff was one of the better hotel staff I've ever dealt with. Mature, knowledgeable, caring. Rooms were fine/good. Beds were good. Parking is tight but there is parking on street. I believe this place is good value for Aspen. I would stay here again. Note that this is a true hotel set-up. Cozy interior but rooms were large. Breakfast was fine too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Reservations were easy to make..perfect location..near everything..loved the staff...if you're looking for an affordable hotel in Aspen..thiis is the place to be. We made reservations at the last minute and were pleased with our decision.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Mountain Lodge

Address: 311 West Main Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aspen Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aspen Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen Mountain Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.