We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hopefully will get better under new management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   330 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Hopefully will get better under new management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Jerome for about 7 years now, visiting once or twice a year during the ski season. We always stay in a Junior Suite and love the spacious rooms and high ceilings. You get much more room for your $ than at any of the other high end Aspen hotels. The down side of this hotel in the past has been that it feels a little tired and service was not as good as it should be. A case in point was that one of the two hot tubs was out of use for two consecutive years!
So we were interested to go back to see what if any changes had been made so far.
Upon arrival we were warmly greeted, although there didn't seem to be an awareness that we had stayed so often before. Not a big deal but in previous years there was always a bottle of wine in our room with a welcome back note - not this time. Overall at the moment, other than the new ski concierge and the more attentive and helpful staff, not much has changed. We still like the rooms but the dining options are poor. Breakfast was disappointing and after one particularly bad breakfast we chose to eat out.
Still we will be back as we like the overall ambiance and the rooms and hopefully with new management everything will get better!
Oh, and the additional resort fee charge I hate it when hotels do that!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Dear Loyal Jerome Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor-I do appreciate your feedback and hearing your comments.

For the most part it does sound as though you had a good stay and enjoyed being back at Hotel Jerome, but there were a few areas of opportunity that we missed.

I apologize that you were not welcomed back as you are accustomed too. We value all our guests whether their first time or 20th time and always appreciate an opportunity to thank our guests for their loyalty and business. As we do with yours.
I am not sure how you booked your stay, but sometimes with bookings through third parties, such as Travelocity or Expedia, certain guest information such as an address or phone number that we can match to a previous reservation is not given to our in-house reservations department.

We have many exciting changes planned for this year at Hotel Jerome and encourage you to look for our updates on our website.

Please do not hesitate to contact either myself or my assistant if we can answer any questions or if you have any concerns. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you again!
With Kind Regards,

Anthony DiLucia
General Manager, Hotel Jerome An Auberge Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    50
    19
    8
    10
See reviews for
61
180
22
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Never been to aspen before but went on a road trip from Vegas to Colorado and one of the stops was Aspen.

What I can tell you is that hotel Jerome was the very first hotel ever built in Aspen. There is alot of historic significance and additionally, if you are a haunted hotel buff.. some people say that this hotel is haunted.

the location is in the smack middle of town and you can walk to everywhere.

the hotel and hot tub are the best. we got there on a cool summer/spring night and it was great to sit in the outdoor hot tub and have drinks in the cold while soaking in the hot tub.

the rooms are very classically decorated, not modern at all.. but that adds to the charm of this older hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed from 28th Dec to 2nd of Jan in a room in the old part of the building. It is old fashioned but that only adds to the charm of the place.
The one thing I would criticise in the room is it is impossible to use the bathroom to apply make up. I had to bring the small mirror out to the desk.
The beds were very comfortable and the linen nice.
Please note this is not a modern hotel so perhaps some of the negative comments come from people expecting more up to date rooms. The wallpaper is very unappealing but the overall feel is fantastic.
Yes some of the staff make mistakes but we found every body very eager to please and very genuine.
We enjoyed the common areas and the J bar.
The shuttle service also worked very well for us.
The position is great - a short walk from everywhere.
They provided nice touches like wine on arrival and champagne for NYE.
We thought the main let down was the breakfast - in our opinion less than average.
The other complaint we had was the bill - we had over $300 of other peoples charges on it. This of course was rectified but it should not happen.
We loved the Jerome and loved Aspen and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Greath rooms, clean , big everything you want.
Good breakfast ( omelets of THE chef )

Super staff and service

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Jerome last year for New Years (2010-2011), and were overall pretty disappointed. The hotel itself was fine, though kind of walks the fine line between "rustic" and "dated". Service was very inconsistent, and concierge somehow messed up a bunch of reservations for us. The location is fine as far as being in town and near restaurants, but is a decent walk to the gondola. We weren't impressed with the food at the main restaurant, though did really like both the food and atmosphere at J-bar.

Bottom line: this is a decent option as a place to stay right in Aspen, but manage your expectations first. It's no 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for Hotel Jerome.

I am not sure if you are aware, Hotel Jerome recently under went a change in Management from RockResorts to an Auberge Resort. While I am unable to comment on the previous management of the Company I have tried to reach out to you via TripAdvisor for you to contact my Assistant.

I hope to hear from you and hopefully welcome you back in the future to Hotel Jerome

With Kind Regards,

Anthony DiLucia
General Manager, Hotel Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

We were in town for Aspen Gay Ski Week and booked last fall through jetsetter with a few friends. From now on I will book directly with the hotel, the jetsetter offer was a rip off and the room rate much lower than what we paid to jetsetter.

We had heard that the hotel had changed management (from Rock Rose to Auberge Resort) and that their former general manager was back so we were excited to come back.

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was perfect. Here is a list of some of the highlights

- friendly but professional staff
- room and hotel very clean
- food and drinks well priced
- $18 continental breakfast buffet with 2 eggs any style, coffee, juice
- centrally located
- courtesy car to take us to certain locations, always showed up and even texted me once while on location
- our room was a junior suite, very large, comfortable bed, very soft linen, molton brown products
- free wired and wireless wifi
- outdoor hot tub and heated pool
- ski concierge

We look forward to coming back soon.

Room Tip: We had room 444, a very large and quiet junior suite that could also connect with a private foyer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you ever wake up from a wonderful "White Christmas" Dream, I am sure you were indeed at the service of the staff of Hotel Jerome. From the moment they greet you from your airport service, to check in and the initial walk through amazing structure of the historic hotel, we were in awe. The amenities, location, room service were expressive. Given an opportunity, I'd be back in a heat should I crave for another Winter Funderland!

Room Tip: Check in early so you can an opportunity to view rooms that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony D, General Manager at Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Valued Hotel Jerome Guest,

I was delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in December and that we made it a memorable experience for you. It was my pleasure to share your review and comments with all our staff.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I do hope we have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Jerome in the near future. Should you crave another "Winter Funderland", please do not hesitate to call us! It would be my pleasure to have you as our guest once again.

Kind Regards,
Anthony DiLucia
General Manager at Hotel Jerome,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort

Address: 330 E Main St, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Aspen
#2 Business Hotel in Aspen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#4 Green Hotel in Aspen
#5 Family Hotel in Aspen
#5 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly refurbished Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort recently received the "Hot New Hotel" from Travel & Leisure for its renovation. The Hotel Jerome's 93 guest rooms and suites have been beautifully redesigned incorporating the charm of the destination with modern amenities for a luxury traveler. Aspen's best new restaurant "Prospect" offers regional cuisine, the iconic J-Bar is a local watering hole serving lunch and dinner daily with classic American cuisine. The new Living Room lobby has been energized with a bar and stylish seating areas to relax and socialize. A new Auberge Spa offers treatments for guests that will soothe and pamper after a day on the slopes or a mountain adventure. Services include twice-daily maid service, nightly turn-down. Convenient local airport and downtown transportation is provided via chauffer-driven luxury SUV. Nestled in the heart of Aspen, this landmark hotel is just a ten-minute drive from the Aspen Airport, a 75-minute drive from Eagle County Airport and less than four hours from Denver International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Aspen
Jerome Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jerome, An Auberge Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.