We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable - Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Save Saved
You added The Inn at Aspen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Inn at Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38750 Hwy 82, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
western NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, Comfortable - Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed four nights in late September, 2012 and found this hotel to be everything we needed and more. The room was large, modern and well maintained. The shuttle service (available until 10PM, but sometimes later) made it easy to get around town without the inconveniences of our car. Every staff member was helpful and friendly in a genuine way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    15
    3
    8
See reviews for
20
21
1
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our stay was during the week during off season. We were in town to see the aspens in their fall colors. We hit right it at the peak. Bruce and Darren at the front desk recommended lots of good places to see the aspens. The hotel is located 2 or 3 miles outside of Aspen close to the airport at the base of Buttermilk Mountain. Buttermilk Mountain is where the Winter X Games are held. ESPN books the entire hotel during the event. The ski lift is right out the back door. Lots of free parking. The hotels in town are compact and their parking is limited. Almost all parking in town is pay to park. The hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from town. They will drop you off and pick you up any where in town. We stayed in a recently remodeled king room with a fridge and microwave facing the mountain. Bed was great. Prices were very reasonable. Breakfast was not available at the hotel. The hotel restaurant was only open in the evening Wednesday thru Saturday because it was off season. The menu was limited but the food was good. It has a full bar for those who look for that. The parking lot is not illuminated very well at night. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We came to Aspen for a couple of days to photograph fall color and we picked this hotel because of the great price and its proximity to the Maroon Bells and Castle Creek roads. It is located just outside of Aspen, near the airport, but very close to these 2 roads. We drove to various locations during the day, but parked the car and used their convenient, quick shuttle service in the evening to go out for dinner in Aspen. No worries about parking that way. I knew from the website photos that the hotel had kind of an 80s look to it, and from the low price, I didn't have high expectations. I was pleasantly surprised as our room appeared to be recently renovated with nice carpeting and a very comfortable bed with nice linens. The room was very spacious with a small couch and table and a desk. We liked that there was a coffee maker, refrigerator, and microwave. We appreciated the free movie DVD. There was free internet and it was fast! That's a big plus with us! No password was required for the internet, so it was easier to use with our multiple devices. The bathroom had just a shower, no bathtub. It was rather average, but the rest of the room made up for it. As for the common areas, there was a nice sitting area and bar near the lobby. The bar wasn't open the first night we were there, but it was open the second night. One of the best things about the hotel was the friendly and helpful staff. They really made us feel welcome and were happy to offer restaurant suggestions, and other tips about sights in the area. It was a very pleasant stay in a nice quiet location and we will stay there again. We have also recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver. colorado USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have stayed 5 star and I have stayed budget so I have a good idea of what's what. First off I agree with everything in SanDiegoTahoe's review. But I am going to add to it...we too had a King room facing the pool and were delighted at the size of the room (big enough to have a sitting area) as well as how quiet it was considering it is near the airport and the highway. We did not have one of the newly renovated rooms but our room was not shabby or old/tired but clean and comfortable with a soft bed and nice linens. The bath is a bit small but who cares, it's really just to shower anyway.

The hotel itself is quite cozy and the lobby is updated. There was also fresh coffee and tea available as well as a nice fireplace with sofas etc. They offered complimentary movies as well which was nice after a day of fun. Breakfast is adequate...the make your own waffles was kind of fun. The juice is a bit flat and the coffee just ok but enough to get me rolling. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle for runs to/from Aspen. This is a fantastic service as we never drove our own car in 4 days, nor did we ever wait longer then 5 minutes for the shuttle so very convenient. It is also on the city bus route which we did take later in the evening after the shuttle stopped running at 10pm...easy.

Last up is the staff...we were well taken care of. Especially Mitch, Guest Services Manager, he's the man! Always helpful and always smiling. Even when we had a problem with our bill...no issue, he just took care of it.

We would absolutely stay there again and have recommended it to friends as a more affordable and friendly stay in the Aspen valley.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the pool so you are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for business trip. Received update room...not bad. Nice view of pool and Buttermilk. I've stayed here a few times now and each time staff was friendly, breakfast was fine and will stay again. You can easily walk to Buttermilk as they share the area. Buttermilk skiing is great...again, their staff has always been friendly. If you have an issue, its easy to find a manager who can correct it...they understand service.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Inn at Aspen is near the airport and close to town, but it has the feel of being out in the country. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and jacuzzi and Buttermilk Mountain ski lifts. What a gorgeous spot in the summertime. The location is great!! The swimming pool was warm and was long enough to swim laps. Sitting in the jacuzzi and staring up at the mountain was so relaxing. The complimentary breakfast was adequate to get the day going. So many activities in the area: galleries and shops just 3 minutes away in Aspen, wilderness horse riding with Snowmass Outfitters (just awesome!!!!), white water rafting, hiking at the Maroon Bells...the list just goes on and on. We found that the Inn at Aspen Hotel was a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

You know that feeling. Sometimes a small thing can ruin the whole experience and that is the way I feel about the Inn at Aspen. First of all, it is not really at Aspen and you need to drive or take their shuttle to actually get to Aspen. I can live with a little misleading advertising.

What really galls me and still galls me to this day is that I feel cheated. I called the Inn at Aspen and made a reservation and they quoted me a price and i agreed to it. When I checked in I noticed that they added a "reservation fee" to my bill. i pointed it out and they said that it was a "reservation fee." In my case it was $18.26 and they said that they charge everyone the reservation fee -- something over 6% I have learned. It did not make me feel any better that they cheat everyone and not just me. I was already there and I would have had to try to find a place to stay over the 4th of July weekend and so I paid it under protest and I didn't like it then and I dont like it now.

Shouldnt they be paying me to make a reservation, to get my business? Why would I pay them? I am not aware of any other hotel chain that has a policy to cheat people out of an extra 6+ per cent on every transaction.

If you as future travelers put up with this then every hotel will start to add charges that they did not disclose and that they did not earn and are not entitled to. I was at their mercy at the time but they will never get a dime from me in the future. They won the battle, but I dont like being cheated and I believe that I will win the war.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Address: 38750 Hwy 82, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Aspen Hotel by Wyndham Vacation Rentals, is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), to any of Aspen's 3 other ski areas or the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, McKenney's at the Inn,serving breakfast, lunch, apres' ski and dinner free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. The Inn at Aspen is currently undergoing a major lobby and restaurant renovation that will re-open in November, 2014 just in time for the ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.