We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Aspen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at Aspen to your Saves list
The Inn at Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   38750 Hwy 82, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off Inn at Aspen
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient and Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed for business trip. Received update room...not bad. Nice view of pool and Buttermilk. I've stayed here a few times now and each time staff was friendly, breakfast was fine and will stay again. You can easily walk to Buttermilk as they share the area. Buttermilk skiing is great...again, their staff has always been friendly. If you have an issue, its easy to find a manager who can correct it...they understand service.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    15
    5
    8
See reviews for
22
21
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Inn at Aspen is near the airport and close to town, but it has the feel of being out in the country. Our room overlooked the swimming pool and jacuzzi and Buttermilk Mountain ski lifts. What a gorgeous spot in the summertime. The location is great!! The swimming pool was warm and was long enough to swim laps. Sitting in the jacuzzi and staring up at the mountain was so relaxing. The complimentary breakfast was adequate to get the day going. So many activities in the area: galleries and shops just 3 minutes away in Aspen, wilderness horse riding with Snowmass Outfitters (just awesome!!!!), white water rafting, hiking at the Maroon Bells...the list just goes on and on. We found that the Inn at Aspen Hotel was a great place to stay and we would highly recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

You know that feeling. Sometimes a small thing can ruin the whole experience and that is the way I feel about the Inn at Aspen. First of all, it is not really at Aspen and you need to drive or take their shuttle to actually get to Aspen. I can live with a little misleading advertising.

What really galls me and still galls me to this day is that I feel cheated. I called the Inn at Aspen and made a reservation and they quoted me a price and i agreed to it. When I checked in I noticed that they added a "reservation fee" to my bill. i pointed it out and they said that it was a "reservation fee." In my case it was $18.26 and they said that they charge everyone the reservation fee -- something over 6% I have learned. It did not make me feel any better that they cheat everyone and not just me. I was already there and I would have had to try to find a place to stay over the 4th of July weekend and so I paid it under protest and I didn't like it then and I dont like it now.

Shouldnt they be paying me to make a reservation, to get my business? Why would I pay them? I am not aware of any other hotel chain that has a policy to cheat people out of an extra 6+ per cent on every transaction.

If you as future travelers put up with this then every hotel will start to add charges that they did not disclose and that they did not earn and are not entitled to. I was at their mercy at the time but they will never get a dime from me in the future. They won the battle, but I dont like being cheated and I believe that I will win the war.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroqua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I come to the same conference in Aspen every year. I switched to this hotel after my usual hotel raised their rates, and I'm so glad that I did. Previously, I had not even considered this hotel because of the transportation issue to town. But, their shuttle is available at any time, not just for the usual rides to the airport, but every morning to get me to my conference, and to go to the grocery store, or restaurants, etc. Even if there are conflicts, the staff makes it their business to work it out so that everyone gets where they need to be, when they need to be there.


The staff was great at solving other problems, too. My first room had poor wifi reception, so they found me a new room and had someone help me move. (I don't think it's a common problem, as I didn't have to walk far down the hall to have the reception come back).

The rooms are plenty big. The first one had a fabulous TV, a very small frig,a microwave, a leather recliner, a shower,a nice full-length mirror, but no bath.,and a door opening out onto the grass near the pool. It was on the 1st floor.

The second room, on the second floor had a large frig, a small TV,a shower with tub, a balcony where one could see the large pool and hot tub (I WISH I hadn't forgotten my suit, yet again). It had no microwave and no full-length mirror.

All the rooms had comfy couches, coffee tables, lots of lighting, coffee supplies, plenty of dresser space, lots of wooden hangers in the closets.

So, if a tub or microwave, or some other item is crucial to you, ask for a room with what you want, as they are all different, as they are owned by individuals and then rented out as part of a hotel when the owners aren't using them.

I have enjoyed all the rooms and only on this one occasion had a wifi problem in one room.

The beds, by the way, are incredibly comfortable.

The phones give you the option of scheduling your own wakeup call, which you only find out that you can do if you check your messages and hear the recording that tells you. But, it doesn't work. So, make sure you ask the front desk for your wakeup call.

As far as I could tell, the only thing that housekeeping did was to supply fresh towels and make the bed (no fresh linens). but that was fine with me, as that's all I really needed and I prefer the lower rates that come along with this saving. Later, I saw that their housekeeping policy is explained as the above plus vacuuming, and fresh linens every three days.

So, bottom line-Great Staff!!! Great service in conveniently getting around Aspen!! Very comfortable with only the occasional minor glitch, rapidly fixed by the great staff.

I didn't get a chance to have their complimentary breakfast as I had to leave before it started at 7 am, but once I grabbed a bagel, and it was too hard and I tossed it. At the St. Regis, where my conference was, they had pastry to die for, and incredible fresh fruit of all kinds. But, they also charge $500/night for their cheap rooms, so I am reasonably satisfied with the breakfast. You can buy your own fresh fruit and put in your frig.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, choose a 1st floor room. Room xx48 (forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franciscomorales
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

I had to be in Aspen for work and knowing that this is one of the most expensive cities in Colorado I thought I would not find something within my budget. This place is GREAT!!!! the rooms are spacious, the place is clean, near the airport and close to downtown Aspen. There is a free shuttle, the staff is friendly and they have a full bar and restaurant. If you are smart and dont want to spend the $1,000/night room at the St. Regis Aspen this is the place you need to be. I was so pleased with this place that I will be brining my family again and we can tell all our friends that like the rich and famous we too summer in Aspen.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, I would try to get a room with a view of the mountain but even the ones facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The room we stayed in was recently remodeled nicely. The only complaint was that it was so recent, the room still smelled of fresh paint. This was a great location for heading to the nearby Maroon Bells and not too far from downtown. Our room had a nice patio that led out to the pool and in the winter, this would be an ideal location for ski in/ski out. The beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed Here many times over the years and for me it is a mixed bag. Nice pool and hot tub. Staff friendly but they have a complicated accounting system that caused me a lot of problems after our last stay and several charges to my card long after we checked out. Pay cash for extras and keep receipts! OK.. now for the rooms. Each and every one seems to be different and my last room needed a serious update (as did the rooms of my friends staying here also). It might have looked cool in 1984. Small, big box TV but a good selection of channels. Refrigerator on room very noisy and had to be turned off at night. On whole, room was very depressing and wanted to spend as little time in there as possible. Good location if skiing, you can ski right to the back door . Its a very pretty view out back.Pizza's at the resteraunt were great and we always buy to take away.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room facing the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Aspen

Address: 38750 Hwy 82, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Aspen Hotel is the only ski-in, ski-out hotel at the base of the Buttermilk Ski Resort (home of the Winter X Games). The free guest shuttle will take you to/from Aspen (2 miles away), to any of Aspen's 3 other ski areas or the Aspen airport. There's an onsite restaurant, McKenney's at the Inn,serving breakfast, lunch, apres' ski and dinner; free wireless Internet, heated outdoor pool, hot tub, sauna, health club, and courtesy airport shuttle. The major lobby and restaurant renovation at The Inn at Aspen is complete, just in time for the 2014/15 ski season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Aspen And Conference

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.