We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top marks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gant

Save Saved
You added The Gant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Gant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 West End Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 hotels in Aspen
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top marks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recently returned from a two week ski trip, staying at The Gant.

I have to agree with the previous posts that the standard of accommodation, the daily servicing of the rooms, the amazing shuttle service and friendliness of the staff would be hard to beat anywhere. Thank-you to all staff!

I liked the location just outside the town centre because it was very quiet.... no road noise but still just a few minutes walk to the supermarket. We did have very noisy neighbours below us in the second week - but things did improve after we spoke to management who said they would talk to the people in the condo concerned. It's nice to know that when there was a problem it was dealt with.

At peak ski times The Gant shuttle bus to the Gondola or the Transportation Centre did get busy but the number of shuttles available meant that we never waited more than 10 minutes at any time of day and it was usually a lot less....maybe 4 or 5 minutes. If you want picking up from around Aspen (outside of ski pick-times) you need to call ahead so a US cell phone is handy.

Aspen is very easy to walk around. There is only a small fully pedestrian area but the traffic on the main street is away from the area of shops and restaurants making it very pleasant to wander around looking in the windows of the designer shops and exploring the up market art galleries. Beware there are very few "normal" shops other than the usual ski wear/sports shops.

There are lots of options for eating out and staff at The Gant will give recommendations. It is not all fine dining, at high end prices but there are some great places if that is what you do want. Our favourite place for breakfast/brunch on the days we didn't ski was Aspen Over Easy.

I think it might be helpful to explain that we skied on all four mountains in the area. The nearest, Aspen Mountain (formerly Ajax) has no green runs and not a large area of blues. We only spent one day there. The next, Aspen Highlands is also known for having some difficult terrain...only one day there too. Buttermilk is the lowest and the place to go for families/cruising and if visibility is bad. Even reasonable Intermediate skiers can probably ski the black runs on Buttermilk....no double black diamonds here. Finally, Snowmass...the furthest away, is by far the biggest in terms of area and has something for everyone. To get to Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass you have to transfer from The Gant shuttle to the bigger free mass transit buses. This is the only negative to staying in Aspen. It can take at least 45 minutes from getting The Gant shuttle to arriving in Snowmass (the Mall stop) and then there is 100yd walk. For me, doing this day after day feels like a big chunk of time out of the day but the skiing is worth it. Do not go to Aspen and miss out on skiing Snowmass! The base of Snowmass is still being developed and there is a lot of accommodation there but no real heart...just a handful of sports shops and tiny number of restaurants.

With all of this in mind, we would definitely return to The Gant, especially if there are non skiers in the party. (Membership to the Aspen gym/spa is a big bonus but only one member of our group had time to take advantage of it!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    304
    63
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
152
95
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Our first time to stay at The Gant. We were very impressed with the accommodation and the service. Our condo was like a home away from home, except someone else did the cleaning.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Excellent rooms, Service was amazing. Most impressed with Gant bus service . It runs at regular intervals and "on demand". We totally enjoyed the "car free" vacation.The Gant saw to it that we would never miss not having one. Staff are so friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Director of Sales at The Gant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Irene000,
On behalf of the staff of The Gant, thank you for taking some time to post your review! The Gant Vans are definitely one of the most favorite amenities at The Gant - you can leave your car at home and still take advantage of everything Aspen has to offer. We hope to see you back again sometime soon!
Warm regards, Erin & The Gant Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Have stayed many times at the Gant. Shuttle service makes travel from and to the hotel very easy. Rooms are well appointed at their respective level. Pool. Hot Tub. Ample parking. Close to Aspen Mountain and Downtown, with connections to other bus services at Ruby Park. You will find this to be a value in the Aspen market, and well connected to the town through the shuttle. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the moment you make your reservation to checking in to the great condo with Aspen views! This is a great helpful place with hot tub and the use of Aspen Spa which is great. Very clean with good service!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

The Gant is a great place to stay. The condos are spacious, bathrooms are complete and the beds fit for purpose.
In addition: the staff is fantastic. Reception personnel (Alyssa, Erika, Amanda) are extremely effective, efficient and friendly and so are Mary and Marty as concierges.
We used to stay in hotels but our experience in The Gant has changes our preference. We will return!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Director of Sales at The Gant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Bert S,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about The Gant. We are very happy to read about your terrific stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. The staff at The Gant is our greatest asset - we thank you for calling attention to our team!
Warm regards, Erin & The Gant Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This was the 6th time we have stayed at The Gant and it excels. Our mixed group 8 of all ages from baby, family and friends stayed for 11 days of skiing in a 4 bed condo that can be extended to 5 bed with the addition of the studio downstairs. Rare to find such a mix of accommodation in Aspen without taking a house! The accommodation (Delux) was excellent although the kitchen lacked some items we could have used such as baking pans, kitchen tongs and a cake pan for the Birthday cake we made during our stay! The other main criticism we had was the lack of flexibility in the bedding...all king or queen beds...when we really needed to have some twins in the bedrooms. The staff are fantastic and The Gant vans that scurry back and forth collecting guests after skiing and taking them to destinations around Aspen make the location of The Gant no problem at all. Extra items needed to entertain guests at our birthday party (glasses etc) were provided at no extra cost although roll always, baby cribs and high chairs have a daily charge. We are regulars and love The Gant!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gant

Address: 610 West End Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#3 Family Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gant is Aspen's finest condominium resort. A resort within a resort, The Gant offers high quality, friendly hotel services at the highest level of any Aspen condominium property. Situated in a peaceful enclave at the base of Aspen Mountain with convenient access to downtown and the ski lifts. The Gant's privately owned condominiums are regularly refurbished and fully equipped, offering the comforts of home to today's travelers and meeting guests, with the services of a hotel.The Gant's conference center will undergo a $5-million renovation and expansion that includes a new specialty cafe, panoramic rooftop deck, flexible indoor and outdoor floor plans, and contemporary new furnishings, accessories. This project artfully blends function, style and sustainability to create a multi-use mountain venue suitable for varied gatherings ranging from special events, weddings and private celebrations to corporate meetings, business retreats and incentive trips. The 10-month project begins in August 2013. Throughout the winter season construction will be limited so as not to disrupt surrounding condominium guests. The project will be complete in May 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your The Gant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gant Hotel Aspen
The Gant Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.