We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal In Every Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gant

Save Saved
You added The Gant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   610 West End Street, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Countdown to Winter
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Hagerstown, MD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Phenomenal In Every Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Your hospitality, including everyone from the concierge to the desk personnel to the van drivers to the housekeeping crew made our stay everything we had hoped it would be and more.

The bottle of wine was a wonderful surprise as well!! (I had told them it was our 30th anniversary/Valentine's day).

The condo itself was terrific. The view from the patio sliding door was a real treat. It will be difficult to describe even though we did take lots of photos.

The Gant will get rave reviews from us anytime we are asked about our favorite places to visit.

Again, thanks for everything and best wishes for continued success at one of the best venues we've experienced in our many and varied travels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    64
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
157
97
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Gant during the first week of February. Overall our experience was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath (though I only recall booking a single bedroom condo) and enjoyed a double balcony view of a snow covered tennis court from one and a view of some beautiful snow covered trees and the mountains to the southeast of Aspen proper from the other. In addition, the staff at The Gant was second to none. Consistent with most places we have vacationed, the attitude of the staff to accommodate our needs is generally the most important determinant of how much we enjoy our stay. In this case, The Gant deserves all five stars. For those that would like more details on the property or hints at staying there, read on.

Transportation during your stay:
Unless you are traveling with young children (and maybe even if you are) or have a specific location outside of Aspen proper or the major ski areas that you need to drive to, I recommend not renting a rental car. The Gant has a bus that will pick your party up from the airport and take you back when you fly out. It takes about 15 minutes to arrive once you call. More importantly, there are several more Gant buses driven around by the staff from 7 am to 11 pm that will basically take you anywhere within Aspen proper that you want to go. We utilized the Gant bus at least four times per day for our four day stay. Just call The Gant when you are done with your shopping, lunch, dinner, or whatever and they will pick you up, usually with no more than a three to five minute wait. If you are skiing, there is a fantastic public bus system throughout Aspen and the surrounding areas (Roaring Fork Valley) that will also take you to any of the other area ski resorts (including Snowmass). It looked like to me that this is generally how at least half of everybody in the town gets around.

And finally, you can easily walk anywhere you need to if you want to. It's literally a four block walk to the City Market grocery store and roughly six to ten blocks to everywhere else. Plus, you don't have to worry about parking or paying for parking when you use the buses, which is really nice. There was never more than a 6 minute wait (other than the airport when we arrived) for any Gant bus to pick us up in Aspen. My last recommendation on this is, if you do use The Gant bus, please tip the drivers properly. My wife and I thought it appropriate to tip $5 for every ride, more for the airport, as it comes out to $20-$30 per day for The Gant drivers to drive you around at your demand (which they do happily). The rental car rates are at least double that and after fees and taxes approaches four or five times what you can easily tip to the drivers. Most people we rode with on the bus did so, but a few did not. They deserve it, please tip them.

Hot Tub and Pool
The pool is heated as well. There are two hot tubs near the center of the property. My wife and I took full advantage of the hot tubs after skiing throughout our trip. Note that there is an outdoor fireplace near the hot tubs to warm you up while you dry off and a cabinet holding heated towels for you (so you don't need to use the ones you brought from your room that are now freezing cold). It's a wonderful feature.

The Room
Note that all of the condos at The Gant are individually owned and furnished (so we were told).
Our room, K201, was wonderful. It was well furnished with a large kitchen table, sectional sofa in the living room which could comfortably seat five or six, a sixty inch television, a blue ray disc DVD player, the basic kitchen appliances and utensils (plates, glasses, bowls and silverware) and a wood burning fireplace. Our particular unit had a king bed in one bedroom and a double and single bed in the second bedroom. The shower in the master bathroom had a nice shower upgrade (rain shower), which was very nice; and our unit had a stackable washer and dryer as well. The balcony had enough split cut firewood to probably last throughout the rest of spring. They also had fire-starters in the room, and we enjoyed a wood burning fire in the fireplace on several evenings. Our room did have basic wine glasses and a wine opener (also utilized on our trip) but did not have extensive pots and pans. I believe there were two pans and one baking sheet. I don't know if it is standard for all units, but basically you could probably cook bacon, eggs and biscuits for breakfast with the kitchen utensils they supplied but you wouldn't be able to cook a four course dinner meal. That wasn't a problem for us, but in case you were planning on doing a lot of cooking... (I hope not). The room also had a coffee pot and coffee packets for two full pots of coffee (but we bought Starbucks at City Market on day one). We also had a newspaper delivered to our doorstep every morning.. Overall the room gets five stars, as I can't think of anything we wanted it to have that it didn't. It was excellent.

Concierge
We consulted the concierge on a few "to do around Aspen" ideas and she was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. She will make the arrangements for you for whatever you'd like to do.

Skis
We rented from Four Mountain Sports. The Gant has a 15% discount with another ski rental store. I very highly recommend renting from Four Mountain Sports. They have locations at the base of every ski mountain, they are well priced, and when you are done skiing for the day you just check your skis and poles near the bottom of the lift and leave them for overnight storage and pick them up the next day. For those that have carried skis and poles back to the car/van/bus before and after skiing before... it's worth it to skip that. Overnight storage is free with Four Mountain Sports and they will transfer your skis from one ski mountain to another overnight (I believe also for free) if you request.

Questions/Miscellaneous
If you are looking for a condo property in Aspen, The Gant is where you should stay! If you have questions about the property I recommend just calling them and ask. The staff will be happy to help you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Director of Sales at The Gant, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear WJSutton,
Thank you for the extremely thorough review of The Gant! We really appreciate all of your comments - both raving and constructive. The condominium you stayed in was just remodeled and the owner will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying there. We hope to welcome you back to The Gant soon - your home away from home in Aspen!
Warmest regards, Erin & The Gant Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My stay at the Gant was great. Everything from the check in and the reception team, a great apartment, and easy and accessible transportation around Aspen made for a terrific holiday with great friends. Everything works so well and the team of people were wonderful. Thanks for a great time in Aspen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Gant has various different condos of different price and upgrades. We stayed in one of the second floor 2 bedroom condos by the lobby. The condo was comfortable, clean and close to the main part of town.

The customer service at The Gant is second to none. We had a TV that wasn't working in our bedroom. We called the lobby and a maintenance person was dispatched immediately. When it was discovered the TV couldn't be fixed, they replaced it the next day with a brand new TV.

The Gant has their own shuttle transportation to just about everywhere you need to go in Aspen. Every employee there was pleasant and customer oriented. Loved this place and would definitely recommend it to anyone who is skiing or visiting Aspen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed for a week in a 2BR condo (J103) in ski season. Staff here is helpful, energetic, and cheerful. The shuttle service they run is quick and very convenient, especially if you're carrying skies, groceries, or other shopping. The Gant is only a quick three block walk from the center of Aspen - very nice when the weather is good. Close enough for convenience, yet far enough to avoid the noise of town center.
For skiers, the Gant is a five minute walk to the Aspen Mountain gondola and a block further to the hub of the free bus system that you can ride to Snowmass, Highlands, and Buttermilk. Of course the shuttle will get you to the gondola or the buses in a couple of minutes without the walk.
The condo was in great shape, clean and well maintained. Had ample dressers and drawers for clothing and gear - far more than in any other similar vacation rental I can recall. Kitchen was well-equipped. Furniture was generous and comfortable. Flat screen TVs in living room and both bedrooms.

Room Tip: I find ground floor units more convenient for ski gear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriends and I stayed for 4 days at the Gant and loved every minute! The Gant is perfectly situated within walking distance of EVERYTHING Aspen has to offer and if you can't walk somewhere (like buttermilk, highlands or snow mass) or don't enjoy walking they have a wonderful FREE shuttle service to take you where ever you like. We stayed in a two bedroom two bath unit and were very happy with our accommodations. Our unit had an upgraded kitchen with stainless steel appliances, granite countertops and all the cooking utensils required to whip up a good breakfast or lunch before hitting the slopes. One of the two bedrooms had two queen beds and the master had a king. All the beds were quite comfortable although the linens could have been nicer...the living room had a large leather couch and wood burning fireplace. Our dining room had a table that sat 6. There was more than enough counter space for three high maintenance girls to get ready for a night out on the town. The only downside in our unit was that the lighting was HORRIBLE for applying makeup (very dim lighting in bathrooms) and there were no iPod docks to be found. Other than that our experience at the Gant was top notch. We will be staying again next year for the yearly ski trip to Aspen!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned from 7 day stay at Gant condos.Fantastic service.Great shuttle for getting around town.Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
Condo itself was amazing.luxurious++ 2 bed 2 bathroom good kitchen own washer and dryer.
Also added bonus of admission into Aspen Day Spa(great massage)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin P, Director of Sales at The Gant, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi KimL,
Thank you for your review of The Gant! We're so happy to hear you had a great trip to Aspen - Ski Heaven indeed! We hope to welcome you back sometime soon!
-Erin and The Gant Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gant

Address: 610 West End Street, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aspen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#5 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gant is Aspen's finest condominium resort. A resort within a resort, The Gant offers high quality, friendly hotel services at the highest level of any Aspen condominium property. Situated in a peaceful enclave at the base of Aspen Mountain with convenient access to downtown and the ski lifts. The Gant's privately owned condominiums are regularly refurbished and fully equipped, offering the comforts of home to today's travelers and meeting guests, with the services of a hotel.The Gant's conference center will undergo a $5-million renovation and expansion that includes a new specialty cafe, panoramic rooftop deck, flexible indoor and outdoor floor plans, and contemporary new furnishings, accessories. This project artfully blends function, style and sustainability to create a multi-use mountain venue suitable for varied gatherings ranging from special events, weddings and private celebrations to corporate meetings, business retreats and incentive trips. The 10-month project begins in August 2013. Throughout the winter season construction will be limited so as not to disrupt surrounding condominium guests. The project will be complete in May 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Gant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gant Hotel Aspen
The Gant Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.