We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Aspen to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

We ended up staying at the Mountain Chalet having been bumped from our original hotel which was overbooked. We were however pleasantly surprised by this hotel and loved its location close to down town Aspen. The room was very clean with lovely fluffy towels. The staff were very helpful and the continental breakfast was lovely. Being able to park our car in the underground garage was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    68
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
77
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cannelburg IN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Unlike most people we did not travel to Aspen for a skiing trip however we did for the annual Motherlode Tournament. This hotel was a great value as most will know everything in Aspen can be on the expensive side. We stayed in a large room with all 3 of us having our own beds with room to spare. This hotel is located in the heart of downtown making everything within walking distance. This hotel holds true to family values and great service. On the day we left we were leaving an hour before breakfast was to be served however we went to check out and see if they happen to have anything. We were told to eat whatever they had out all ready and even asked if we wanted them to make something for us "to go." Im looking forward in returning to MCA next year!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

Hi I want to write a revieuw about this Mountain Chalet. Stayed with them a few times and think it has more then else places in town. This Chalet has a haert because the people that run it do it with LOVE and not only for money! (hard to find those days).
So this "antique style" of running a place needs to be said especcialy, for those that want to be really wanted for what they are, and not for what they HAVE.
Evryone is welcome and accept as a priceless person! They took many in their heart and in their home, one of them was I. Had also very Fun times with other guest (special (Marguerita ).And their kids:Craig that loved me because He could win always with the computergames from me ....Nancy that took me to the driverslicence test whoehaaaaaaa what a runspeed we made, and all the other trips sunbade in a special mountainplace, stayed in the blubber with her nice boots by a tour on Windstar ...Marians trip by shopping in Denver, that I gave her suddenly a surprise bra in the shop and took a picture :)) She went skiing with me but the only part I liked was the skiteacher, didnt come the next time, so because my feet where killing me tears flowed richly, Marian told me to smoke a cigaret, Ik couldnt even because my feet hurted so badly...You must know while she calls me the fasted cigaretroller from Holland...I still have contact with the family even though Americans are such a terreble writers...;(( But Think also often back on the beautrifull times in Aspen, with tehe possibylities and People!!! Golden Aspen Leaf for Me: Yes! Except for the part that they are a non smoking place now they get a thump down for that from me ....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My niece and I stayed at the Aspen Mountain Chalet August 9-13, 2010.
We would stay there again!! It is in a Great location! You can walk everywhere in town from here. Our room (#320) was very quiet, we never heard guests. (You can hear service trucks early morning, but it IS in town. It did not bother us.) Great view of the mountain! The bathroom is small and a bit dated, but very clean. The king bed was very comfortable. The room was a good size with a couch, 2-chair table, small frig, pull-out queen bed, flat panel w/cable, big closet and a big balcony with 2 chairs! The room was very clean and housekeeping did a great job daily! Every afternoon we had the cookies and lemonade or hot chocolate provided in the lobby. The lobby area was very cozy, warm and welcoming. The front desk staff was very helpful with suggestions for places to see and places to eat. The pool was a little tired looking with the peeling bottom, but it felt good and was clean. The huge hot tub was great after a long day of hiking! The free daily breakfast was big and enough variety for several days. All of the staff we met were so friendly. Loved the free, underground parking! Overall, it was a great place to stay when you want an economical, clean hotel among all of the very expensive hotels in Aspen.

Some of our favorite restaurants in Aspen:
Grateful Deli on Main St. – awesome sandwiches and salads
Little Annie’s – Great burgers
Bad Billie’s – best fried pickles ever! Great burgers and other items
Jimmy’s – for a great kobe steaks, truffle fries – fancy dinner
Bruno’s – awesome pizza and pasta dishes
Paradise Bakery – get the Mandarin Orange Muffin – divine!

Favorite things to do:
Gondola ride and hiking at the top, stunning views!
Trail ride in the mountains from T Lazy 7 stables (Annie was a great horse!)
Hiking around Maroon Bells
White Water Rafting through Blazing Adventures
ACES (Aspen Center for Environmental Studies)
Remede Spa at the St. Regis – pricey but worth it! Use the 14-head shower!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

The location was really good. The price for a large room ($195 a night) was a little high for the quality of the room in my opinion. The rooms were really clean and breakfast was nice. The picture I had seen was prior to the St. Regis being built which obstructed the view of the mountains. People were nice at check in and check out. I was wondering how on earth one would use the Murphy bed in our room with a couch pushed up against it. I think it would be great in the winter with kids, having everyone in one room. Continental breakfast was perfect, especially sitting outside near the pool. Great to have parking in the basement of the hotel as parking is difficult in the town. We kept our windows open and found it loud around the hotel. All and all, good stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed here for four nights and yes, I agree the rooms are a bit tired, but ours was comfortable and clean and we slept well. Free use of the computers and printer was very useful. The location just across the road from Aspen's amazing free buses suited us very well, and just a hop and a skip from all the restaurants and busy life of the town.
It didn't seem particularly cheap to us, but thats probably partly due to exchange rates, and we didn't expect Aspen to be cheap. Loved the Maroon Bells and the hikes we did out there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and rates. We weren't disappointed with anything. I particularly like to book stays at family run operations, as long as the reviews are good. The room was clean, comfortable, and tastefully done. It is convenient to anyplace in Aspen. Because of limited parking in Aspen (and somewhat at Mountain Chalet) we didn't move our car for the 2 1/2 days we were there, and never really needed it anyway. If you want glitz, and fancy lobbies, stay some where else. But if you want comfort and good value in Aspen, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#10 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.