We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleased with our choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Aspen to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warrington, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Pleased with our choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We were pleased to book what we thought was a reasonably priced hotel in Aspen and we weren't disappointed with our choice. Mountain Chalet Inn is in a good location, within easy reach of shops and restaurants. Our room was a good size and the included breakfast had a different, made to order, hot item each day, which we thought was a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    68
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
77
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015 via mobile

Very cool place right at the base of Ajax Mountain and 150 feet from the bus stop that takes you to Aspen Highlands or Snowmass. Super friendly family oriented place with hot tub, sauna, pool close to restaurants (walking distance).

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonaich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

There are so many wonderful things to say about this place. First, the location and the price cannot be beat. That is not what makes this place so amazing....

the staff is absolutely wonderful. They are kind and patient and treat their guests warmly and like friends. Each morning, during breakfast which is included, we were greeted by a wonderful server who went above and beyond to serve several guests and keep everyone happy.

The high level of customer service is everywhere in the hotel. We loved the warm cookies at 3pm. Hotel guests gathered in the inviting lobby, with staff, to chat and unwind from the day.

There are so many great things about this place. The rooms and facilities are clean. There is free parking. Right across from the bus station. And... the BEST bath towels!! It is the only place I will stay in Aspen.

Also, this hotel is dog friendly. We took our bulldog and it was $20.00 a night extra. The hotel is right across the park where all the dogs gather making it a perfect location if you are traveling with a well behaved dog.

Room Tip: If traveling with friends splurge on a large room. We were very glad we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

This is not a "fancy" hotel. It is a nice, old school, ski chalet. Look at the photos on the wall and check out the decor. Family run, you won't find a better price that close to the slopes in the heart of town. The parking garage is a huge plus. Go to their website so you can see what the rooms look like and you can get an idea what to expect.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with the large rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014

I fondly remember our stay at the Chalet. We stayed exactly in the same apartment where Mary Ann and her husband raised their family. It was a two bedroom suite with kitchen and everything. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous with Mary Ann and her husband joining the restaurant. The locals use to come and eat. Everything was made from scratch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2014

While in Aspen working for the the Women's World Cup Ski Races I was put up at the Mountain Chalet right at the base of Aspen Mountain (AJAX). This is the "Old Charm" of the Aspen of the past and memories of days gone by. This property has evolved over the years since the 1950's and is still kicking with all the big money gobbling up the properties all around them. Great room pool level... did I say heated...also the Hot Tub and the Steam room are great after a day on the mountain. They have a great breakfast and there is a different meal each morning with lots of the daily staples such as fruit and bagels and creamed cheese and fresh squeezed orange juice machine that the kids love as it takes oranges in and processes them into fresh squeezed juice for your breakfast. Rooms are nice and I had a nice table for business area to work on the free internet and a nice up to date bathroom. Great bed with assortment of pillows. Free cookies at 3pm and hot chocolate and spiced cider anytime in the lobby which is a gathering area to sit on the couches and enjoy the stories of the day while overlooking the pool. Great place to stay in Aspen and have a great experience.

Room Tip: I stayed at pool level and it's a party zone around 4pm to 6pm after the slopes but quiet at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Absolutely perfect place to stay in when skiing Aspen. Buses to Highlands, Buttermilk and Snowmass are just outside and village gondola to Mountain is not more than 3 walking minutes away. Very friendly and warm - totally lacking snobbism!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.