We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Aspen to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

My husband and I and our two boys stayed here for a few nights in July because of positive Tripadvisor reviews. Our room was clean and bright and large enough with a nice balcony. Bed was average. We especially appreciated the convenient location and amenities like free underground parking and full breakfast. I was in the room when housekeepers came and was impressed with how thoroughly they cleaned.

Our boys used the murphy bed and there is a heavy sofa placed in front which is a pain to move out of the way, especially with limited space. Other than that, we had no issues.

We would return. Their rates are super reasonable for ski season, too.

Room Tip: Loved the fourth floor next to elevator. Noise wasn't a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    66
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
51
76
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

There's nothing pretentious about this place, and it was considerably farther away from the Aspen Music Festival than we realized. But the rooms were clean, the beds good, the breakfasts adequate, and the staff friendly and helpful. And even though the location wasn't ideal for our main purposes, we enjoyed exploring the immediate neighborhoods and enjoyed the isolation from the more commercial parts of town.

Room Tip: I would ask not to be lodged in a room overlooking the hotel entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Mi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

You wouid not want to stay here if you wanted posh, luxury accommodations. You would not stay here if you needed a trendy bar, sleek restaurant and bar. This is a comfortable, traditional, family-run ski lodge - totally unpretentious. I had a junior suite - it had a sofa, microwave, mini fridge, was spacious and had a small balcony. The furniture is a bit dated but everything is clean. Parking is free. Breakfast is provided - a buffet plus one hot dish which varied each day (granola/banana pancakes, eggs benedict) brought out fresh from the kitchen. I found the staff friendly - the ladies in the breakfast room were absolutely charming. The location was perfect - we attended the food and wine classic so we could walk everywhere - it's in the heart of Aspen. The cost is well below what you would pay elsewhere. In previous years I've stayed in sleek hotels at twice the price with smaller rooms. I'm so glad I stayed at the Moutain Chalet - I will certainly return. I even hesitated to write a review as I want to make sure I get a room next year.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved staying at the Mountain Chalet. This hotel is well run. We enjoyed the amenities which included a large hot tub, a pool heated to a perfect temperature, free coffee, tea, cookies, lemonade, newspapers and brochures. It is very convenient and within walking distance to many places. Free parking which is at a premium in Aspen. And lastly the room comes with a fabulous hot breakfast. The staff is knowledgeable and helpful. The room is large with everything you need.

This is a charming comfortable older hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights and loved it! I was delightfully surprised when I arrived. My room was spotless, breakfast was great, and the staff was dynamite! The breakfast staff was so kind and everyone went out of their way to make sure that they took care of you. My room was a nice size and was always cleaned beautifully. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was clean and updated. I am already planning my next trip! Awesome location! I'm a fan and can't wait to bring friends!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This joint is old school. Some of the rooms do not have air conditioning which i found odd but the front desk assured me that "Aspen Airconditioning" would be all that i needed. He was right. However we got the last room available so it was two single beds and the windows opened up to a busy street that had busses and all sorts of garbage trucks rumbling past all night long. not great. However the pool and the free breakfast quickly made the noise issue not a deal breaker. Full on breakfast. we had pancakes with blueberries and bacon and eggs. fresh fruit and juices were splendid. the pool stays open late and is heated. It was perfect for the cool weather at night. The history is really cool about this place too. owned and operated by the same family for ever.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

When my husband and I decided to go to Aspen to attend the Music Festival as well doing some fly fishing, hiking and relaxing, I was happy when I found the Mountain Chalet---mainly because of its central location (across from the shuttle bus station and Wagner Park) and its NOT exorbitant prices. There was also secure parking and an included breakfast. Well, we got much more!

At breakfast the first morning we sat down at one of the communal tables and were soon joined by a couple who had been coming to the Mountain Chalet for 35 years. Yes, 35 years! They and their children had spent almost every Christmas at the Mountain Chalet, and this had become their home away from home. During the course of our stay, we found many other guests with similar stories. Once you find the Mountain Chalet Aspen, it becomes part of your blood. Maybe that's because it's still owned and operated by the same family since it was built in 1954. Maybe because the family members are always around, mingling with the guests, learning their names, joining them for breakfast or the 4th of July BBQ. Maybe it's because of the homemade cookies (really good homemade cookies) that show up every afternoon like clockwork. Or the fresh coffee and lemonade that's always available. Or maybe it's the fabulous FREE breakfasts served each morning---none of this serve yourself cold eggs and pancakes here. We had eggs Benedict one day, banana pancakes the next, etc. All were delicious.

There are rooms to suit just about everyone's needs and budgets at the Mountain Chalet Aspen, from smaller rooms with no AC to deluxe air-conditioned rooms with balconies and minibars and refrigerators to small apartments. It you are looking for a deluxe, sterile 5 star resort, this is not your place. But if you want a place where you will be returning for 35 years, then sign up now. We already have made our reservations for next summer.

Room Tip: WE loved our balcony overlooking Wagner Park since we liked to watch to kids and the dogs and the im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Aspen
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#8 Business Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.