We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and really nice room and heated pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Chalet Aspen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Chalet Aspen to your Saves list
Mountain Chalet Aspen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and really nice room and heated pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our stay was August 23 and 24th 2013. We stayed in the Garmisch Superior Hotel Room. Very nice with a balcony. Plenty of room. We could walk to all the shops and restaurants. Friendly staff and comfortable environment. The heated pool was very nice. Great free hot breakfast and cookies in the afternoon. This was are first time staying here. We will stay here from now on and will recommend to all of our friends here in Denver.
Carla and David from Thornton Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
carladj1212,

What a great review! It's good to hear you enjoyed your room, our location, our breakfast and snacks, pool, and staff. What could be better? That's what we're in business to do. Thank you for visiting and reviewing. We look forward to seeing you and your friends soon.

Best,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    75
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
81
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have stayed here many times (8-10 times) and every summer it is better. They are always adding new features. We love the home style rooms and breakfast. The location cannot be beat, right across from the park, so handy to shopping and dining. We love Aspen and we love Mountain Chalet.

Room Tip: We love to look at Wagner Park, but the larger rooms on the west side of the pool are great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Kerrie C,

We love our return guests! And we love turning first-time guests into return guests. It's good to hear that you appreciate our brand of hospitality. Thanks for reviewing!

See you next time,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

a wonderful room that was just right and a huge delicious breakfast each day - helprul friendly staff and close to everything = a wonderful alternative to the very high priced hotels - nothing lacking at all there -

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
robert g,

Great to hear you found nothing lacking! Thanks for visiting and reviewing.

Cheers,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Mountain Chalet is still my pick. It has deep rooted character, comfort, location and great food. Ann Marie and the dining staff start the day off with friendly service and a variety of breakfast choices. Then there are the other guests to meet and befriend while dining. Roland and Nan from Rodchester, NY, were such wonderful new acquaintances, who graciously shared there mountain hiking adventures. The couple from Phenoix were return guests, as I was. Mountain Chalet, see you next summer.

Room Tip: Get A/C. Rooms on the mountain side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
alwaysready2,

Thanks for coming back! We love to see our return guests every year. And we're glad you met some fellow guests and enriched each other's trips. That has been part of Ralph's plan for the hotel from the beginning. We appreciate your review, your recommendation, and your return visit.

See you again soon!

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

With less than 24 hrs. notice I had to find a centrally located, affordable hotel in a town on the other side of the country that I had never been to before. (thank you tripadvisor for your always helpful insights) My daughter became ill during a business trip and was hospitalized. I needed a comfortable room after her discharge for the night before we could fly back home. Kyle Ariel in the Mountain Chalet Aspen reservation dept. was amazing! He got us a Grand King suite w/ sofa bed, kitchenette, fireplace, huge spotlessly clean bathroom, AC (it is august), on the patio overlooking the pool. At a very reasonable price (for Aspen). And even though our stay there was only 12 hrs. I could not help but be enchanted with the property, staff, and amenities. The free parking under the hotel was a welcome bonus. A big shout-out to Aspen Valley Hospital and the Aspen Valley Hospital Foundation for there great care and support.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Meglv0,

We are glad you found us and that we could accommodate you in such a difficult situation! And glad you had a good, if very short stay with us.

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review.

Best,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Prague, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great value for the location in an expensive city. Pool was very warm even during a chilly summer stretch. Breakfast was very impressive. Catalina at breakfast was very warm and welcoming. The fresh made cookies each day were a nice touch. Comfortable feel in very pretentious Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Tree_and_Me,

Thanks for the nice review. We are glad you appreciate our great breakfast and our niche in the Aspen hotel market. It is your return visit and recommendation to other travelers that keeps us in business!

Appreciatively,

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We are summer Aspen visitors. When we go, we always stay at the Mountain Chalet. We park in their parking area and never see the car again. It is so wonderfully located that we walk everywhere or catch the bus across the street. We love the friendly staff and the cookies and drinks in the lobby every day. The menus in the lobby are so helpful in deciding where to eat. They are so accommodating and always go that extra mile to make sure we get our favorite room. Thank You Mountain Chalet, for making us so comfortable and contributing to our wonderful vacations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCAInnkeeper, General Manager at Mountain Chalet Aspen, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear eaglestar1,

Wow, what a great review for us! It's great to hear that you had a good stay and found so many benefits of choosing the Mountain Chalet. We love to make our guests happy and are glad you discovered some of those amenities.

Many thanks for your great review and recommendation!

Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.4 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.1 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#1 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#19 of 36 in Aspen
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Chalet Aspen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Chalet Aspen

Address: 333 E. Durant Avenue, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Aspen
#7 Business Hotel in Aspen
#8 Family Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Chalet Aspen 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly, casual ski lodge centrally located at the base of Aspen Mountain. Directly diagonal to shuttle service and two blocks from the Gondola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Chalet Aspen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Chalet Aspen Hotel Aspen
Mountain Chalet Hotel Aspen
Aspen Mountain Chalet Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Chalet Aspen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.