We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming space with nice amenities, not without issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Molly Gibson Lodge to your Saves list
Molly Gibson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming space with nice amenities, not without issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Recently stayed in the Molly Gibson with a contingent of friends for a wedding. We were impressed with the rates (not cheap, but not Aspen prices either) and the pleasantries like free parking, bike rentals and cozy pool area.

Like many have mentioned, the free breakfast (apres-ski, in season) is nice - lots of options and a big money-saver if you're with a group. Just wish it wasn't served in a basement! The property is spread out with some gorgeous views - bummer to have to eat breakfast in a windowless room, and I imagine it's even more depressing during apres ski. This fits into the bigger theme of for everything great, there was something subpar

The same layout / design aspects came into play in selecting rooms. Our 2 double bed room was a nice size and comfortably slept four (despite the beds being VERY firm) - did find it odd that there wasn't a single full sized mirror in the room. Everyone's room seemed to be laid out differently - sometimes a hot tub between beds, sometimes a bed very near the entry way. A few important tips when selecting a room as this could determine whether you have a 3 or 4 star experience (again, for every great room - there are rooms that are subpar):
- Would inquire about the lay out of the room when booking.
- Does your room have AC window units or central air? Go for the latter
- Is your room near the pool? A few of our friends stayed in rooms near the pool and were kept up late and woken up early by guests just outside their door. Imagines this happens often in the summer.

Had mixed experiences with staff: one staffer pleasantly directed us to an incredible hiking trial. Even remembered to follow-up with us when she saw us much later in the day. They weren't very helpful in providing directions back to Denver. Also, our smoke detector went off at 4 AM on our final night and beeped every 5 minutes without fail. We had been up late at the wedding and were in a bad state. It couldn't have been worse timing. Ruined 2 hours of sleep before the 4 hour drive to Denver. First, of a mind that hotels should be responsible for consistently checking on these things (and reacting when they do go off), but it happens. The front desk isn't fully staffed given the small property but there is an on-call number - we didn't call, given that it was 5 AM and only had 2 hours of sleep left.

When we complained about this to the front desk they weren't apologetic (and the person at the front desk weirdly stayed seated at their chair while holding the entire conversation.) Also, they told us the manager would give us a call to discuss... 10 days later, he never did. Understand that we could've taken more initiative here, but not they level of customer experience I expect / am used to as a frequent traveler.

Would definitely stay again, but would do my research beforehand know that there's a range of experiences to be had at this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff_Bay, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear kmelkhat,

Thank you so much for staying with us and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you had a great stay overall and sharing your ideas and feedback with us. You are correct that many of our rooms are unique and and do not reflect the traditional "cookie-cutter" model of chain hotels. Molly Gibson Lodge is an authentic Aspen ski lodge, in an authentic ski town, and our unique design combined with our commitment to respect our heritage while embracing modern amenities and improvements demonstrate our commitment to being Aspen's best value in boutique hotel lodging. We pride ourselves on having a unique character and feel to our hotel, and your advice is excellent to speak with us in detail before arrival to ensure you receive the perfect room for your needs. If we were made aware of any concerns about your accommodations we would have immediately worked with you to find you a alternate choice.

As for your comments about our staff and service I assure you that we take guest service seriously and if you felt that any of our staff were insincere in their desire to help you I wholeheartedly apologize. Given that directions to Denver only require one change in highways perhaps I could see where you might have felt that the interaction was brief, but I'll make sure that my staff takes the time to explain all directions clearly. I am glad that you found a great hike and explored the area as well.

Lastly, I am sorry if the battery in your smoke detector ran low during the night. We try to check and replace batteries regularly but occasionally the batteries fail for a variety of reasons. As you mentioned we do have a 24 hour on call service and assistance would have been immediately dispatched to your room is you had notified us. The in-room alarms are only intended to warn the rooms occupants if they sound, and we are not made aware of every battery failure. We'll continue to improve our attention to this matter and follow up with all guest opportunities to better our hotel and services.

I hope that you will allow us to earn your business again on a future stay and I invite you to contact me personally at any time to discuss your recent or hopefully, your next visit with us.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
jeff.bay@mollygibson.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    146
    37
    17
    6
See reviews for
63
182
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for 2 days of our 4 day trip to Aspen and we were well and truly satisfied with the cleanliness, amenities and hospitality we received from the moment we stepped into the lobby. The pool was clean and great to refresh in the summer heat and the poolside area was a great place to relax and read whilst enjoying the sun or shade. The hotel is situated in a perfect area to all Aspen town has to offer. We were very impressed with the breakfast choices and would highly recommend to anybody as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear MuckyB,

Thank you so much for the kind words and we are so pleased that you had a great time with us! Our convenient location, great amenities and tremendous value make us an Aspen favorite year after year. We hope that you come back to Aspen and visit us again in the future!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Clean, Quiet, Convenient, and very helpful. No "extra" fees for things like parking or use of the hotel bicycles....And a pretty good hot breakfast included as well... I would definitiely recommend to others and return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Steckberg,

Thanks so much for your "nearly perfect" review. We're so pleased you had a great time with us and took advantage of all of our included amenities such as a full hot breakfast, wifi, pool, hot tub, parking, bikes and airport transportation - all at no extra charge! We hope to see you at the Molly Gibson again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

From the street you would never guess what awaits you. Yes, there is a hot tub...and it was the right temperature for soaking and working out the kinks. Yes, there is a pool.....heated of course as even during the first week of June it was cool in the mountain air....lounge chairs galore and BIG.
We were a group of 4 and so we stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath kind of an apartment....Kitchen, living area (yes, with fire place) with all the comfies of home...
Breakfast: no matter what you call your morning meal.....they have it in some form...cheese, meat, fresh fruit ala European, YUP. More the USA version...hot eggs, sausage, bacon, oatmeal...YUP. Need something lighter this time of year...like fresh fruit, cereal and yogurt?..YUP!
Our room was spotless, the housekeeping was excellent and the linens were definitely up to my standards. They "may have bike to rent" but while I saw them, I did not check out the details
NICE place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ifreefall,

I am so pleased and grateful that you had such a nice stay with us and that a seasoned traveller like yourself found our hotel to be as comfortable and nice as many of the other great hotels you must have stayed at. Thanks for your tremendous opinion and comments and we'll look forward to serving you again in the future.

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway, Maine
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I rented room 207 which was a corner king suite with a hot tub and deck. It was exactly what was advertised. I was very satisfied. I stayed at the Molly Gibson for 6 nights. Check in was quick and Bella at the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. She is a ball of energy! My room was clean. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. Free wireless - which was great. Continental breakfast in the am was good - nothing fancy but it met the need. Spend several days just enjoying the pool. I travel alot...... I was very happy with my stay and would stay again. The only downfall is the parking. However, the Molly Gibson owns the hotel across the street and if you are having trouble finding parking and ask, they will allow you to park across the street. Hence, you just have to ask! oh..... and the hotel was very busy my entire stay - I was surprised how quiet it was. Also the cleaning staff were extremely friendly and did a great job.

Room Tip: Loved room 207.... Spacious, quiet. Hot tub was great after a long day of walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mainesilver 1,

Thank you so much for your positive comments and review. Having such a well travelled and senior contributor like yourself let us know we are doing a great job means a lot to us. I'll pass on your compliments to Bella (she is great!) and we hope that you will come back and see us again on a future trip to Aspen!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a courtyard room which was very quiet. The bed was wonderful! Parking is a problem in Aspen but the hotel has its own parking spaces. We walked to downtown Aspen which was about 3 blocks away. The free breakfast has a huge selection and with Aspen prices will save you about $15 per person. The hotel is convenient to the Maroon Bells area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear BitsyLittleRock,

Your nice review and positive comments are greatly appreciated! Thanks so much for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Take care,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Aspen for the first time and stayed at the Molly Gibson. It was a quaint, comfortable and clean hotel right on main street Aspen. We enjoyed our stay and our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The breakfast was very good and a bonus to the restful sleep we got on the comfortable mattress, down comforter and soft pillows. I would recommend the Molly Gibson to anyone visiting Aspen. The price was right (inexpensive for Aspen) and the amenities were great. We will be back to the Molly Gibson, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Gus B,

Your comments and feedback are greatly respected and appreciated, and we are so pleased you had such a great time with us. I'm happy you enjoyed our great location and amenities and especially our great service! Hope to see you back on a return trip soon!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aspen hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Moritz Lodge & Condominiums
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#14 of 36 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
The Limelight Hotel
#2 of 36 in Aspen
4.5 of 5 stars 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mountain Chalet Aspen
0.3 mi away
The St. Regis Aspen Resort
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#19 of 36 in Aspen
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Address: 101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Aspen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gibson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.