We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Molly Gibson Lodge to your Saves list
Molly Gibson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Pueblo, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Relaxing and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I visited Aspen for the first time and stayed at the Molly Gibson. It was a quaint, comfortable and clean hotel right on main street Aspen. We enjoyed our stay and our only regret was that we could not stay longer. The breakfast was very good and a bonus to the restful sleep we got on the comfortable mattress, down comforter and soft pillows. I would recommend the Molly Gibson to anyone visiting Aspen. The price was right (inexpensive for Aspen) and the amenities were great. We will be back to the Molly Gibson, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello Gus B,

Your comments and feedback are greatly respected and appreciated, and we are so pleased you had such a great time with us. I'm happy you enjoyed our great location and amenities and especially our great service! Hope to see you back on a return trip soon!

All the best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    135
    31
    16
    5
See reviews for
54
166
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and the staff were friendly .and the location in the dawn town so every thing will be near just by walking and thats what i was looking for, also the price was reasonable.certanly i would come again and will recomend this hotel to my friends thank you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Hamad277,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a positive review! We appreciate your business and we hope that you consider us again on your next trip to Aspe. Have a great day!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Exactly what we were looking for: a quality, cozy, comfortable and friendly place to stay, right in the heart of town, just blocks from some of the best restaurants. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and the pool and hot tub really did the trick after a long day of hiking. (if you haven't been to Hanging Lake, check it out. A pretty brutal hike but worth it.) We had 2 Molly King rooms overlooking the pool and did not have any issues with noise.

The only issue we had was with the fireplace. It's a pretty small room for a real wood fireplace and once the fire died down, the room got pretty smoky. (yes the flue was open) Finally removed the smoldering logs from the room and doused them in a bucket of water.

Other than that, I'd definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 205 and 206 toward the back corner by the pool. If you go to bed early, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Austin Texas Traveller,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. I'm so sorry if the smoke from the fireplace inconvenienced you in any way. Most of our guests find the authentic wood fireplaces a delight and a harken back to the authentic ski lodges of Aspens' past. Occasionally due to wind or other factors they may not vent perfectly, but I will inspect your rom to make sure all is safe and perfect for our next guest. Hopefully it's you before too long!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Really like this property...many good things to say here. Comfortable and upscale rooms, helpful and friendly service, an excellent breakfast...bravo there. Overall, it's a great value.

I would definitely consider the Molly Gibson Lodge if returning to Aspen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Miamilocal1,

I to am impressed by the great review you left us, it ,means a lot coming from a respected reviewer like yourself. Thanks so much! I appreciate the time you took to let us know your thoughts and we'll look forward to your next stay with us!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Our satisfaction came from the high quality experience that did not seem to be wildly overpriced like the rest of Aspen. There was a smokey scent in the room, but that should be expected with actual wood-burning fireplaces in the room! This was a great experience with unique decor, and a place we would definitely stay at again on our next trip to Aspen.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear wileycOyOte,

Thank you for your kind review and your excellent assessment of our tremendous value. Our great location, service and amenities is a rare find anywhere, let alone Aspen. I hope you can come back to visit soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been here twice now, and I'm sure I'll be back. The Molly Gibson is a comfortable, mellow place with nice amenities and very good rates (for Aspen). From the wood burning fireplaces, to the apres-ski (wine and full taco bar, last I was there), to the full complimentary breakfast (eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, bagels, muffins, etc), and the hot tubs, I've really come to enjoy staying here. It isn't on the high end of the Aspen scale of opulence and will never be confused with the Little Nell or the Jerome, but particularly for the money, represents a place that most ordinary people would like and be happy with (as opposed to the live-the-stereotype Hollywood crowd you see in the winter. They will be at the Nell, not here). While being across the park from downtown-downtown, it is still easy walking distance to everything - just tack on 5 minutes more. And while it shares in the same parking woes as many other hotels in the area, at least it does have some dedicated spots and I've not had a problem myself. If you are checking in at 10pm on a high-day in high-season, you might have an issue, so be warned. The staff are friendly and warm too. That isn't always the case in a town where people seemingly live to look down on other people.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear 4Arcana,

Thanks for the great review and we are so pleased you had a great stay with us. You are spot-on that we offer the best value in town, and our service and convenient location can't be beat. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son and I spent a great week at the Molly Gibson Lodge in mid-March. We were very happy - loved the jacuzzis and happy hour, beds were comfy, place is well situated right next to bus pick-up. A great value for the price. We were on the ground floor, facing the mountain, and my only complaint is that it was sometimes noisy at night when people returned from being out (we slept with the window open because it was a very warm week). It's not a luxury hotel (where I would stay had my husband come along), but overall we were very happy -- this place is a total bargain for Aspen.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably best, since you won't hear anyone above you stomping around. But, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear djangomom,

Than you so much for taking the time to leave us your positive feedback and we are so pleased you had such a great time! We are sorry if your sleep was compromised by heavy boots but often our guests are just exhausted from the great skiing in Aspen and just can't help but to stumble back to their room!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Address: 101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Aspen
#12 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gibson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.