We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Save Saved
You added Molly Gibson Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Molly Gibson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 36 hotels in Aspen
nj
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My son and I spent a great week at the Molly Gibson Lodge in mid-March. We were very happy - loved the jacuzzis and happy hour, beds were comfy, place is well situated right next to bus pick-up. A great value for the price. We were on the ground floor, facing the mountain, and my only complaint is that it was sometimes noisy at night when people returned from being out (we slept with the window open because it was a very warm week). It's not a luxury hotel (where I would stay had my husband come along), but overall we were very happy -- this place is a total bargain for Aspen.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably best, since you won't hear anyone above you stomping around. But, you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear djangomom,

Than you so much for taking the time to leave us your positive feedback and we are so pleased you had such a great time! We are sorry if your sleep was compromised by heavy boots but often our guests are just exhausted from the great skiing in Aspen and just can't help but to stumble back to their room!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    123
    24
    14
    5
See reviews for
48
151
18
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I spent a very pleasant 5 days in Aspen at the Molly Gibson lodge in mid-March. Included in the room price are (1) airport transport, (2) WiFi, (3) a bountiful breakfast, (4) an equally extravagant Happy Hour every day, (5) a very pleasant, quiet lounge with fireplace, couches, TV (if you want) and menus for all the Aspen restaurants, (6) a heated swimming pool and jacuzzis, and (7) helpful and friendly staff. Those benefits outweighed the slightly tired rooms. We would certainly come back again.

Room Tip: Consider staying away from the rooms fronting on the pool and jacuzzis - they're open until 22:0...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hello JohnofOz,

Cheers and thank you so much for taking the opportunity to sing our praises! We are so pleased you had such a nice time and enjoyed all of our amenities and services. I hope you had time to go out and have as great as time skiiing as you did staying with us :-0

All kidding aside - thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Molly soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall, this is a solid Aspen choice and is a relatively good value in a very spendy town. We initially had booked a Molly King with a fireplace, and were given a pretty good room on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room had so much traffic noise from Hwy 82 (Main Street), however, that we couldn't sleep and asked to move after the first night. They allowed us to upgrade (for a fee) to a deluxe room that actually was directly facing Hwy 82, but had much better insulation and so noise was not a problem. This was a very good room with both a double-sided fireplace and large hot tub.

Location is very good. Just a couple blocks away from downtown, and the shuttle buses to the mountains stop right outside.

You don't often come across actual wood-burning fireplaces in hotel rooms these days and so that was a real treat. Housekeeping restocks the wood and provides matches and fire-starter. We used the fire every night and loved it (though came home with fireplace smoke in our clothes).

The hotel design is kind of early-1960s lodge. There are original brown tiles in the bathrooms that have a great mid-century feel. If you don't like that style, I can see how you'd perhaps find it dingy or dark, but we liked the mod and groovy feel. We found both rooms we were in to be very clean. The plumbing and fixtures could stand to be updated, however.

The breakfast spread mostly has typical items you'd see elsewhere, but the quality and freshness are good. There's a cool little pancake machine that makes fresh pancakes (why does every Hampton Inn not have one of these things?). The apres ski spread also is generous.

Room Tip: I couldn't get a straight answer from the front desk about which rooms have better noise insulat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear denver_mg,

I so appreciate the time you took to write such a thorough and positive review! I'm so glad you found our hotel and Aspen to your liking and had such a wonderful time. It's nice to see you appreciated the authenticity of our hotel but also recognized the great location, terrific amenities, great service and tasty pancakes!

Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were not really expecting much at this hotel when we first booked it. As it turned out, the bed (bedding and pillows) were very nice. There was a fireplace in our room and, although we did not use it as the weather was very nice during our stay, we would have if it was colder. The room was very clean. The bathroom was a little dated and needed some tender loving care but, all in all, we had a very nice stay here. Oh, the free breakfast and the "apres ski" social offered many options to eat and the really helped bring the total value of the room to a great level. This was a wonderful surprise! The pool was heated and there are a couple of hot tubs on the grounds. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get the king room with fireplace. There are some rooms that are downstairs and along the hallway to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Bonnie G,

Thank you so much for the kind review and I'm so glad that you found our hotel to be comfortable and unexpectedly nicer than you anticipated (although it was no surprise to us :-)

Hope that you can make it back this summer to enjoy Aspen again - we appreciate your business!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The pictures on the website do not portray a true sense of what you actually get. The exterior is a bit out dated and the pool area not as luxurious as the photos. We got a Molly King room. Our vision was a "resort" style or "high" end room. We were very let down. It's a dingy room with dingy carpet & a mediocre fireplace. We could hear traffic all night long. If I was staying here purely to ski, the Molly Gibson Lodge is a very short walk to the slopes. That is truly the only upside.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Roroo 2010,

First of all, my apologies if any portion of your stay was not up to your satisfaction. I take guest experience and feedback very seriously, I respond to every single comment and concern and would have most certainly worked with you to provide you a positive experience had I been allowed the chance. I hope that you will offer me an opportunity to do whatever I can to turn your impression of us around. This is demonstrated by the overwhelming majority of our TripAdvisor reviews all being extremely positive

We offer many types of rooms in different configurations located in various parts of the hotel, and would have gladly shown you several alternatives. We pride ourselves on being a true, authentic Aspen ski lodge and all of our rooms feature decor and ambiance that are respectful to that history. However - every single room has been completely renovated with new carpet, wall coverings, paint, furniture, pillow top mattresses, 300 thread count sheets, down duvets, HD Flat Screen TV,s IPod docking stations and much more. We offer complimentary full hot breakfast, apres' ski reception, free local and LD calls, free parking, free wi-fi, free transportation, pool, hot tub - all at a price that is generally half of the "high end" hotels you refer too.

I am available at anytime to discuss your situation and can be reached at jeff.bay@mollygibson.com or by phone at 970-925-3434

Best regards -

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our second stay at the Molly Gibson Lodge and it didn't disappoint! The hotel is ideally located, has all you need all for an affordable price by Aspen standards. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms could be refurbished but are very comfortable. We would definitely come again,

Room Tip: Pick a room with a fireplace on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Sarah P,

Thank you so much for coming back and letting all of our fellow TripAdvisor users know what a great time you had in Aspen and at our hotel. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next stay!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Once again we were fully satisfied with the Molly Gibson Lodge. Jeff and his team made our stay this year as enjoyable as the last years. Like Aspen for skiing the Molly Gibson offers the best package for lodging in its class. Period.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Mailgram,

Thank you so much for the positive review and we are so pleased that you found our location, services, amenities and value to your liking. Being compared to fresh powder is the highest compliment one can receive! We wholeheartedly agree.

OK now, I'm off to ski!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Address: 101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#13 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Amex, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gibson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.