We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Save Saved
You added Molly Gibson Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Molly Gibson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 36 hotels in Aspen
Pueblo, Colorado
1 review
“Not So Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I'm not sure what rooms the other guests stayed in because ours was nothing like what they described. Here's our room.....very outdated, lighting was terrible, bathroom electrical outlet was pulled out of wall & probably should not have even been used, refrigerator did not work, the heater on the other hand worked very well, it was snowing outside 18 degrees and had to open the window because even with the thermostat turned completely down/off the room stayed at 75. So at 4:30a.m. the people in the room above us wake up, we know this because the floor or ceiling I should say creeked so bad it was awful sounded like it could fall in at any moment. Breakfast was ok, same as what the Holiday Inn offers no big deal. Upon checking out I handed him the room keys and was asked if I needed a rcpt. I said yes please, he handed it to me and said here you go. THAT WAS IT! Never asked how my stay was or said thank you. Oh and by the way there are alot of stairs to hoof your luggage up and down and there is no parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear dmarie9,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write these comments and give us feedback on your stay. I apologize if any portion of your stay was not to your satisfaction. As you can see from the vast majority of our reviews that your experience was markedly different from most of our guests. I'm sorry that we were not able to respond to your concerns while you were here with us, I assure you that we would have made every effort to rectify any shortcomings. We pride ourselves on our great service and would appreciate the opportunity to make this right. Please contact me directly at 970-925-3441 or jeff.bay@mollygibson.com.

Respectfully,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    120
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
48
148
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greeley, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My sweetheart and I had been looking forward to a weekend in Apsen for quite a while. We made the 5 hour drive and were excited to settle down, until we realized that neither one of us had made reservations for a hotel! While driving down the street, we saw the vacancy sign and decided to give it a try. From the moment we stepped into the lobby, we knew that it'd be a great stay. The reception area was warm and inviting, complete with a complimentary coffee station for visitors. The walk to our room was filled with the deep, sweet smell of pine, and the wooden furniture surrounding the jacuzzi looked so inviting. Our room was beautiful and to our delight, we even had jacuzzi bathrobes waiting in the closet. The jacuzzi was just the relaxation we needed and a soft bed complete with comfy pillows gave such a wonderful night's rest. When we were out for dinner, we happened to walk right underneath two black bears in separate trees! The complimentary breakfast was absolutely wonderful; not the cold, quick type that we've become accustomed to at other hotels. The hot breakfast included eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, an entire display case of bagels, muffins, other pastries, and so many other treats that were absolutely delightful. Needless to say, this vacation is definitely going to be repeated several times in the future!

Room Tip: Pets are allowed at the lodge, so be sure to ask for a room that isn't near a barking dog. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristenEMeyer, Director of Sales at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
I am so glad that you made the last minute decision to stay at the Molly Gibson Lodge. It sounds like you had a great time during your stay, and I am glad that you were able to catch a glimpse of our local bears; it is always an interesting story to tell. Thanks for writing such a great review detailing your time with us, we really appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

from the moment we entered Molly's reception area there was a warm, friendly & cosy atmosphere about the establishment. the room was immaculate. the bed comfy. the complimentary (part of our deal we believe) wine, olives, grapes and cheese in the room were great. the hot tubs were hot. the pool just right. the breakfast buffet had an adequate selection. easy parking for all. a great location. only a 5 minute walk to the main bars & restaurants. highly recommendable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristenEMeyer, Director of Sales at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for writing this wonderful review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Hopefully we can welcome you back sometime in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our first trip to Aspen....beautiful. The Molly Gibson Lodge has a friendly, knowledable staff...nice beds...rooms with fireplaces (nice touch)... only gripe was bath(s) dated and showers, well - icky...

liked the heated pool and nightly visits by young black bears :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CristenEMeyer, Director of Sales at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks so much for your time to positively review our hotel and staff. I did want to respond to one of your comments about the bathrooms rooms being dated. I wanted to let you know that the hotel underwent a complete renovation within the last 2 years that included beds, mattresses, furniture, floors and carpet, HD Flat Screen TV's, IPod docking stations, 300 thread count Egyptian sheets and down duvets. We purposely kept some of the traditional Lodge feel that is a part of the Molly Gibson experience, but despite that, I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from our stay at the lodge. The staff were very friendly, our room was clean, and the breakfast had a large assortment of great items. Just a quick note if you have a fireplace room-- start an upward draft with a lit newspaper when the weather is cold first. Before starting the fire starters. Saves the initial smoke from entering the room..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Thomas B,

I appreciate you taking the time to let us know you had a great stay and share your advice with us and our other TripAdvisor readers. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and our amenities, and we look forward to your next trip to Aspen and the Molly Gibson Lodge.

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just stayed at the Molly Gibson and it was fabulous from our welcome from Lisa at the front desk and Trent who assisted us in the evening. The rooms are spotless and the complimentary breakfast was everything you could ask for and more. We brought our 2 dogs and found the location perfect for their needs as well. The motel is located directly across the street from a park with several more within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Denise H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your positive experience with us, I'm so pleased you had a great stay with us and we hope you choose us again on your next visit to Aspen. Until then, safe journeys.

Best,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Overall I was very happy with our stay at the Molly Gibson lodge. My boyfriend and I live in downtown Denver and just wanted a few days away to celebrate our anniversary. It was very relaxing and the perfect place to get away from our busy lives. One of my favorites parts was that our room was right by one of the hot tubs. Everyone was super friendly and very accommodating. The location was great. Once we parked the car we never used it again until we left. I could definitely see us returning to celebrate future anniversaries. Thank you staff of Molly Gibson lodge!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAspen, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Jkhaddix13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us. I'm glad we could be a part of your anniversary celebration and we wish you many more years of happiness together. Please come and visit us again next year or soonermif you can!

Take care,

Jeff Bay - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen
Molly Gibson Hotel
Address: 101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
#11 Family Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gibson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.