We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Molly Gibson Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Molly Gibson Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Molly Gibson Lodge to your Saves list
Molly Gibson Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Molly Gibson Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very nice and helpful staff, in center of town, near park, on free bus line. We loved the pool, the 2 hot tubs, the free dinner on Wednesday night, the free Aspen talk accompanied by hors d'oevre, the included breakfast complete with made to order waffles, comfortable bedding, airport transportation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear 828JudyS,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. We truly pride ourselves on our tremendous value, great location and friendly service, and it appears to enjoyed every minute of it! I'm glad you had a great time and we'll see you back on your next visit to Aspen!

Cheers,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    142
    35
    17
    5
See reviews for
61
177
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Molly Gibson Lodge was one of the only hotels available a few weeks ago when I decided to visit Aspen for a quick getaway weekend. I can't believe they charged $300 a night for this dump! Upon arrival, we went to our room which was in a separate building all the way in the back, which had a bad odor, like chemicals or wet dog. So we switched rooms and found the same odor so we were told it must be their cleaning chemicals. Second, the bathroom was tiny. I could have booked another hotel in same price range that would have been much better and I wish i did that. The bathroom was so tiny that you could barely stand up and close the door at the same time. When we caught our cab back to the airport, the driver asked how we liked Aspen. We said we liked the town but that the hotel seemed like a ripoff and he responded by saying that's a common theme when people stay there!! So it sounds like I'm not the only one disappointed with the quality.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear TravelingOrdonez,

I appreciate the time you took to write about your experience. I am very disappointed that you did not have the same positive experience that the overwhelming majority of our other reviewers have had. I would have been pleased to assist you with your stay while you were here and would be appreciative of the opportunity to discuss your stay personally so that I can do everything to make it right. I am available at the contact information below and will look forward to your contact. I assure you that I take all feedback seriously and will do everything in my power to insure your satisfaction.

Best regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Loved our week in Aspen at the Molly Gibson with our two kids! Super clean, easy, nice staff and right next to Paepcke Park in the center of town. Buses are free and nearby, restaurants close, and you feel like a local. We asked for a room with a view of Aspen Mountain. Shall come back next summer. Not all new and modern, but a nice 1970s feeling, clean but dated. We like it as a Colorado feeling, not snobby and plush. Very Aspen! Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for view of Ajax also called Aspen Mounain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Erdman 505,

We are so pleased that you and your family had such a wonderful stay with us. We too value our unpretentious feel and casual atmosphere. Please come back and see us agin on your next trip to Aspen!

Thanks,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Molly Gibson. Extremely comfortable mattress and bedding. Very clean rooms and a lovely view of the gorgeous pool and mountains from our 2nd floor room. Delicious coffee and iced lemon water all day long. Couldn't ask for more. Breakfast in the morning was extremely fresh with enough variety for the whole family - loved the fresh fruit. Easy walk to anywhere from Aspen Music Tent to downtown. You get a parking pass for a large area around the Molly Gibson and we never had trouble finding a spot. Must sees in the area are the hiking trails at the gorgeous Maroon Bells which we hit once or twice a day to see the wildlife, Aspen Music Festival and the ice caves. Restaurants we enjoyed were Peachs Corner Cafe, Creperie du Village, Hickory House and Pardise Bakery.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear ABlestMom,

Thank you so much for your kind words and review, we're so glad you had a great time and enjoyed all of the wonderful amenities and service. Looks like you experienced a lot while you were here, hope you saved a few things to do on your next visit!

Thanks again,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I was in Aspen for a wedding, and of the wedding hotel options, the Molly Gibson was the most affordable. It was a very nice hotel. Room was very nicely appointed, comfy bed, nice tv, good lighting, a/c with remote control. I was in a courtyard room, which is smaller, but it was fine for just me. The room opens to the outside, though, not to an indoor hallway. Hot tub steps from the door. In the summer it's nice and quiet. Not sure what it's like in the winter. Pool area is nice with plenty of seating. Breakfast includes cereal, eggs, bacon, donuts, fruit and yogurt. They also make belgian waffles, but you have to know to ask for one (no sign). Waffle was delicious, though, and took no time to make. Airport shuttle was very convenient. Walking around Aspen is nice and easy, so no need for a car in town. I definitely would highly recommend the Molly Gibson.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear dbokie,

Thank you so much for your kind and positive review, we are really glad you had a wonderful stay with us. Please call on us agin next time your travels bring you to Aspen!

take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had a great time at the Molly Gibson! Rooms clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Only reason I am not giving 5 stars is that the water was very musty smelling, tasted good out of faucet, but smelled something awful coming out of showers and toilet when flushed. This was only in one of our two rooms. Not sure why this was, but nonetheless, did not hamper our trip one bit! Also centrally located so that you can park and walk everywhere.

Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear rickandvirg,

I really appreciate the time you took leaving us a great review,. So glad you had an amazing stay and we'll certainly look into the water situation. Hope you can come back and visit us again soon!

Regards,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My room was 163 so quiet and comfortable inside my room as well as outside. The hot tub was great after a day full of hiking & rafting. The staff was friendly and courteous, especially Elaina, she was a great "hostess" and very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MollyGibsonLodge, General Manager at Molly Gibson Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Lquinto1,

Thanks so much for the positive review and we are pleased you had an excellent stay with us. I'll make sure to pass on your comments to Allana and the rest of our staff. Please come back and visit again soon!

Take care,

Jeff Bay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Molly Gibson Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Molly Gibson Lodge

Address: 101 W. Main St., Aspen, CO 81611
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Aspen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Molly Gibson Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Molly Gibson Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Molly Gibson Hotel Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Molly Gibson Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.