We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Nell

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Little Nell to your Saves list
The Little Nell
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
COLORADO RESIDENT RATES!
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Aspen
ATL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my first visit to the Nell - a five star hotel that I had always wanted to visit. I was disappointed in my stay. To be fair, the rooms are spacious and the property is in a great location. The staff is kind and very helpful. However, the hotel is pet friendly. ALL rooms are pet friendly rooms and this is not clearly pointed out on the hotel website, nor prior to making the room deposit.
Many hotels are pet friendly, however most restrict this accommodation to select rooms - not the entire hotel. Many people have pet allergies and in my case, I NEVER reside in vacation properties that allow pets. This is because people do not clean as well as they think and I do not relish the thought of lying in a bed of dog hair. During check in, I discussed this with the clerk and was told that "we clean our rooms very well and if there is any problem, we will change your room". Sure enough, there was dog hair on the chairs and the hallway had the faint odor of 'wet dog". Changing rooms is an unsatisfactory solution if all rooms allow pets AND I already smell odor in the hall.

Again, the pet accommodation should be made more obvious on the website and prior to the purchase of a room. This property is not quite up to five star standards. I would likely stay at the St. Regis on a future visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Little_Nell, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear KHGAtl,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our location and the size of our rooms. I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room, as we strive to have the utmost cleanliness in our rooms and hallways.
I sincerely thank you for your constructive feedback – you make some excellent points regarding our pet policy, which I plan to discuss and consider with my staff.
Sincerely,
General Manager Simon Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    27
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
99
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Our second stay at the Little Nell - both times in the Fall. Colorado resident rate allows us in-staters to experience the Little Nell's award winning service. October in Aspen still provides plenty of good weather and the Nell is a great place to stay! Spacious rooms and nice amenities. Staff that are genuinely helpful and friendly without being overbearing. Used the fitness center this stay and it has everything you need for a good workout.

Room Tip: When you get the Colorado resident rate you get a town side room. Not as pretty or as large as the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights and 4 days at the end of the September to beginning of October. The color of Aspen this fall was amazing. Little Nell is one of the luxurious, high end hotel in Aspen. From front entrance to the room, very clean, decorated with unique furnitures and felt very cozy yet, spacious.

We took a private tour of Aspen scheduled by concierge was great.
Next time, we will try to use their adventure team to schedule some activities. The valet service to dining experience was spot on.
Their restaurant served amazing food and wine. Pool side service was
Convenient, when we wanted to be little lazy and eat light for the dinner.

Complimentary snack and non alcoholic beverages made stay little easier.
City market was only 2 blocks away but when we are ready to go shopping or hiking, it was just easier to grab few snack and water to be on the road.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Little_Nell, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Grandmajung,
I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Aspen. It was the perfect time to be here, as the fall colors were peaking and as golden as they get. I’m also happy to hear you enjoyed your private tour of Aspen and would certainly recommend you join our adventure team on your next stay. Our Jeep tours are a fantastic way to see autumn in Aspen, and fly fishing this time of year can’t be beat.
I hope we can welcome you back to the property again soon,
General Manager Simon Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We travel to Aspen every Fall to enjoy the colors that are always spectacular the end of September and have stayed at The Little Nell for the past three+ years. Once again, we commented all weekend what a great hotel we choose to stay in. There are many choices in Aspen, but none of them compare to the service and attention by the staff you will receive at The Nell. The staff always look you in the eye, greet you by name, ask what they can do for you to make you stay better. The staff at The Nell really want you to enjoy Aspen and all that it has to offer. They are a great resource for restaurant recommendations, hiking trails and day trips. We decided to do a Jeep Tour through the Nell and had a fantastic guide. He was very knowledgeable about the area and we had great conversation. The tour also included a wonderful snack prepared by Element 47. It really was a highlight of our trip. It gave us a different way to explore Aspen Mountain. The location of The Little Nell can not be beat. It is walking distance to anything you need to do in town, if you need a ride due to weather etc the staff at The Nell is there to take you. Once again, The Nell is the best in Aspen and we look forward to returning again next year!

Room Tip: We have always had a Premium Mountainside room which is my preference and spectacular. They are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Little Nell is no longer a hotel, it's a legend. Shambhalla of North American Skiing or perhaps Mount Olympus more appropriate? If mentioned careless conversation will shudder and stop with the atmosphere becoming all dreamy and slightly heavy with symbolism and meaning.

It's been the only luxury hotel in Aspen since forever. Families have been faithfully coming for generations once or twice a year for reunions, it's a place for celebrities and state dignitaries to stay when in town. All this supremacy is due to the only crucial advantage: ski-in/ski-out at the base of Ajax. You can't repeat the past? Children's play, try to repeat this location!

The hotel has been recently refurbished. The rooms are spacious with tons of storage, nice bathrooms and gas fireplace. Food is delicious, room service is super fast.

Great service from the guys working there: switched-on and very friendly.

However, despite the location, this Emperor is poorly dressed: its hideously looking 80s architecture apparently thought to be best complimented by beige, unremarkable decor ("neutral and sleek contemporary" whatever) brings the type of dull and simultaneously harrowing pain from boredom that maybe you'll have from enjoying lunar landscape.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Little_Nell, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear MsPapercut,
I love your description of the “legendary” Little Nell and am tempted to share sentences with our marketing director to steal them… thank you for the kind words and colorful description. I agree, the location simply can’t be beat.
We are, indeed, a child of the 80s, built in 1989 at the base of Aspen Mountain. Our guest room remodel in 2009, Living Room remodel in 2011 and V.I.P. suite remodel this season are our most recent upgrades. The new “Aspen Modern” aesthetic runs throughout the guest rooms, which are imbued with warm palettes of cream, blue and chocolate, and accentuated by textured fabrics and unique modern art. Room tip: If you like more color, please request a blue room – we’re happy to add that to your guest profile for future stays – as some of our rooms are “creamier” in color than others.
Warm regards,
General Manager Simon Chen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I usually spend a few days every fall in the mountains for the fall colors. This year, I spent a couple of days in Aspen. The Little Nell is by far one of the best hotels I have ever experienced. From my arrival and the valet service to check out, everything was spot on. The bed was SO comfortable! I stayed on the town view side. I noticed some others had mentioned noise. I only noticed the buses and that was only with the door to the balcony open. I ordered room service, just a simple fruit plate and OJ. It came with some delicious yogurt and a cute little roll (sugared brioche). The mini bar is complimentary with the exception of alcohol. This was extremely handy-just to grab a granola bar or sack of chips to take with me while I was out taking in the leaves. Having a fireplace in the room was awesome after coming in from the cool night air. The bathroom was large with two vanities (while it was just me travelling, it's still nice to have the room. There is also a large dressing area off the bathroom and a VERY large closet so if you are staying for several days, there is room to put away your clothes. The concierge was very helpful although I wasn't able to take the horseback ride I had hoped, they nevertheless did the legwork and communicated my options to me.
Overall, I could not have asked for a better trip and I will definitely be making a return trip to the Little Nell in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As soon as we walked into the room, we knew that we were going to be very happy. We've been to many hotels around the US and the world and have spent plenty of money at some high end places, but none of them can compare to our experience at The Little Nell. We felt very special by EVERYONE who worked there as if we've been coming for years. Great experience and we'll be back again and again. My wife is a stickler for cleanliness and every part of the hotel, every nook and corner in our room was absolutely spotless! They even clean out the ash from the wood fire in the main lobby every night. I know , pretty petty, but people do notice, I did.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Little_Nell, General Manager at The Little Nell, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear JLipsey,
Thank you so much for your kind words. We love having first-time visitors to the hotel, and I’m so happy to hear our staff made you feel like regulars – which it sounds like you will be from now on! I will pass along your positive comments to our housekeeping team, who are always excited when guests not only notice but also appreciate their fastidious efforts.
Until next time,
Simon Chen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Little Nell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Little Nell

Address: 675 E Durant Ave, Aspen, CO 81611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Aspen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Aspen
#4 Business Hotel in Aspen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Aspen
#4 Family Hotel in Aspen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Aspen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Little Nell 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Little Nell is Aspen's only five-star, five-diamond hotel, offering luxury services and unparalleled access to America's most famous mountain town. Guests of The Little Nell enjoy coveted ski in/ski out privileges to historic Aspen Mountain, a cosmopolitan yet intimate ambiance, haute cuisine, and exclusive adventures and amenities designed to rejuvenate the mind, body and spirit. Relax in the elegance and ease of The Little Nell: Aspen's most legendary hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Little Nell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Hotel Aspen
Little Nell Aspen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Nell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.